We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to go back to”
Review of Tenuta di Ricavo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tenuta di Ricavo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ricavo
Certificate of Excellence
Weybridge
Level Contributor
102 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A place to go back to”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed in the Tenuta di Ricavo for 4 nights late September. We did find it idyllic and very atmospheric. It was an excellent base for touring around the local area. The service is friendly and efficient, the owner amazingly enthusiastic and very helpful in advising on ideas for local tourism. Breakfast is an excellent buffet, we had dinner on 3 occasions in the hotel, there is daily menu as well as an a la carte to choose from. For us, the food was not the highlight of the hotel, it is good but variable. Despite this, the hotel is charming and well worth going back to.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace in the summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ettemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    50
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
130
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We loved our stay at Tenuta di Ricavo. The property is charming and serene, and the staff was extremely helpful, both on property and helping us with recommendations for cooking classes, wine / olive oil tastings, and other excursions off property.
We took the trip as a "babymoon" and it was the perfect ambiance for our get-away.
Would highly, highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyC471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We are doing Tuscany by car and want a rural setting, this is the place. Great service, beautiful property, above average food. You don't get the sweeping panoramas that some others might have, as it is tucked away a bit, but that just heightens the privacy.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caseyces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2011

My wife and I spent 5 nights at the Tenuta di Ricavo this summer, a very charming hotel due to the exceptional venue, an old small isolated village of 10 or so houses turned into an hotel. The hotel staff is great and increadibly helpful - distinctively better than other places we have been to in the region. Our room was large, charming with a great fire place and a private terrace with a stunning view on the tuscan country side, airco and large bathroom - all very clean. The hotel has two swimming pools, a small and a bigger one, both very well situated and clean. The hotel restaurant is very good, not cheap but in line with Tuscany prices and with a daily changed all-in menu (37€). All dishes we took were great.
What could be better? The breakfast buffet was rather simple (only white bread, no home made jelly, only boiled eggs...) and no drink service at the pool. For 200€ / night you could expect these things to be available.
This being said we would happily go back as these small disappointments were largely compensated by the charm of the place and the nice crew.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

This beautiful little cross between a village, a farm and a hotel is secluded over a kilometre down an unpaved track. The rooms are in an assortment of estate buildings with the focus being the flowery courtyard where the bar, restaurant and reception lie. There are two secluded swimming pools with ample loungers. It's all very pretty and, if you book and pay by the begining of June, pretty good value.
Downside is that, of the seven hotels we stayed in this summer, this was the only one which charged for wi-fi - and steeply too. The Swiss owner says several places around do so and anyhow they are miles from anywhere. This latter thought seems to inform the pricing policy generally: 30 Euros for a bottle of Prosecco is trying it on big time (the Giardinetto in Pettenasco with one of the best wine lists anywhere, charges 16 Euros) And un-booked breakfast too is extortionate in my view. But you are miles from anywhere so can't pop out for coffee and croissant.
The restaurant is OK - closed Sundays - but not exceptional. The staff are delightful and the number of towels used prodigious. There are rather dark and charming public reception rooms but I never saw anyone use them.
We would go back if we can get the early-bird deal.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saranLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osijek
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We have discovered Tenuta di Ricavo last year, and we were just thrilled! It has everything one needs for the ulitmate rest after period of hard work: beautifull surraundings of Chianti hills, so charming sweets, the place in general seems so casual but every detail is in place and how it supose to be, the food in it's restaurant The Pecorino Nero is exellant, the two pools are just what one needs in the late afternoon after hours of wondering through beauties of Toscany... In short: we'll be certainly back again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubyOsijek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2011

having traveled in tuscany annually for the last 30 years, we have seen many changes. This beautiful hotel has maintained the very best of all of Tuscany's charms and has not bowed to the trends that have come with an ever increasing tourist trade.

The hotel is situated in a large expanse of land, perhaps a 1000 acres of rolling hills and woods which allowed us on several occasions to view wild hare, deer, hedgehogs and fox.

We were thrilled with the cuisine which included traditional Tuscan dishes with a mix of more elegant selections and masterful deserts.

What thrilled us beyond all measure was the decor. We were amazed at the number of beautiful period antiques in the public rooms and the charm of old Tuscany in the bedrooms (we peaked in a few..) The art, the pools the garden all reminded us of the way things used to be and should be still.

We highly recommend this hotel to people looking for the quality and the original charm that has made this part of Italy so very popular with so many. We cannot wait to return

Room Tip: each is unique, ask for specifics
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brookewilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ricavo
3.6 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
#4 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
#5 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenuta di Ricavo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta di Ricavo

Property: Tenuta di Ricavo
Address: Localita Ricavo 4, 53011 Ricavo, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti > Ricavo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ricavo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenuta di Ricavo 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, ACCOR, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tenuta di Ricavo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta Di Ricavo Hotel Ricavo
Tenuta Di Hotel Ricavo
Ricavo Tenuta Di Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing