We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend with family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Altenhofen Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Seneca
Certificate of Excellence
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
“Long weekend with family”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Nice place to stay for a long weekend with family. We could be close to the events, without creating unnecessary stress of having everyone in the house. The staff was friendly and paid attention to the little details. The breakfast had a wide range of items. The only downside was poor mattress quality, which impacted the sleep quality.

Room Tip: The pool helped pass the time and burn off some energy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Metacompiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Refresh33, General Manager at Altenhofen Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Happy to hear you had a great weekend with your family and that
you liked our amenities , indoor heated pool and kickstart breakfast.
Sorry to hear about the poor sleep experience. We do have mattresses
that are flipped frequently and are only 3 years old. We did find one that
had a defect and the manufacturer replaced it , if you let us know which
room you were in, we will be happy to have that room double checked, also.

We also offer a selection of specialty pillows to all of our guests. Just
call the front desk and you can choose between , feather, foam and
alternative down. So if you prefer a pillow that is firm, we have it. If you like
something softer we can offer that , too. We have a selection of free books to read as well
as tea for those who have a hard time falling asleep while on the road.

Around 3:00 PM we bake fresh cookies on site, so don't miss that.

Our goal is always to go above and beyond to make our guests experience
the best we can offer. Just let us know while you are here and we will be happy
to offer a solution to any issues you may experience.

Hope to see you again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    22
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
31
9
1
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

This review has to be taken in a relative sense. Seneca, KS is a small town and this hotel is nice for a small town but misses the mark for those who travel extensively.

Here are the pluses:
1) very good service. Check-in was flawless. Linda Honeyman took very good care of us.
2) it is well kept and clean.
3) they have a nice pool and sauna
4) basic continental breakfast
5) free and efficient internet

Here are the minuses:
1) poor sleep quality
2) noisy heating unit
3) thin walls
4) poor soap and shampoo

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank BusLeis45458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda H, General Manager at Altenhofen Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your review. We are always looking for new ways to improve our guests stay. We are happy you liked our pool , complimentary breakfast , free internet and our staff.

We are disappointed to hear of your difficulty in getting a restful sleep. We have taken extra care to meet our guests expectations. Even though our room heating and air units are only 3 and 1/2 years old, we have cleaned and serviced the internal parts throughly each year and the filters are cleaned daily. If a unit is noisy, all you need to do is contact the front desk, we keep a new unit on site that can be installed within a day, or we will be happy to move you to another room immediately , if we are not full . Next time, just contact the front desk and we will be happy to take care of your request.

Since we were not aware of the circumstances of your stay we can not determine what caused you to believe the hotel has thin walls. The hotel was built in 2010 with superior sound deadening materials and construction methods. The interior walls are 5/8th inch dry wall mounted on dampening gaskets which are sound isolation rails. They decouple or separate the drywall from the wall studs. Further, the wall studs are staggered to further decouple the dry wall on one side of the wall from the dry wall on the other side of the wall. Sound absorbing batt insulation was also woven between the staggered wall studs. The second floor has approximately 2 " of gyp-crete which serves as a floor stabilizer and fire retarding surface. Even with those construction methods the hotel management understands the noise can, in certain circumstances, be an issue. Any guest bothered by noise only needs to contact the front desk and every effort will be made to eliminate the cause of the problem, or we will be happy to move you to another room when possible. We regret that noise disturbed your sleep.

With regard to our soap and shampoo, the hotel consistently monitors comments concerning the choice of toiletries. Our line is not the cheapest nor is it the most expensive, it has been satisfactory to the vast majority of our guests. We will take a look at other options on the nexxt order. We regret we did not meet your expectations and we will be attentive to providing the best amenities we can to our guests.

Please let us know of anything we can do to make any future stays better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed here while visiting family, great little spot with many extra touches!! Very clean, staff was very friendly and welcoming. I travel across the country frequently and highly recommend this hotel if you are in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DHC15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda H, General Manager at Altenhofen Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Good to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Settle Inn in Seneca, we are always looking
for extra amenities to make your stay a great experience. Thank you for your review ,
we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

I stay @ this settle inn a few days out of every month for work. I have never been let down staying here. It has always been clean and ready. The pool is nice as well. The staff, needless to say are the nicest people in Seneca!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tu66s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Settle Inn S, Manager at Altenhofen Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for your review ...good things are always a plus for the staff to read!
Everyone at the Settle Inn takes pride in their work from housekeeping to the front
desk. Hope to see you again in your travels across Highway 36, the former Pony
Express Trail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently while in Seneca for a wedding. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the beds were relatively comfortable. Breakfast was free and very good. I have no complaints and would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the elevator. You do hear noise in the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHarrisonKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Refresh33, General Manager at Altenhofen Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Good to hear you had an enjoyable stay , we always strive to make
each stay the best. Next time you book , just remind us you are a
light sleeper and we will be happy to assign a room away from the
elevator. The rooms overlooking the golf course are the most quiet and
if available we will save one for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Located adjacent to Highway 36 this hotel is conveniently located near the beautiful small town of Seneca, Kansas. Parking was plentiful and convenient. Our room was on the second floor of this newer two story hotel facing Highway 36. Noise from frequently passing large trucks was at times bothersome but manageable. The rooms on the backside face the nearby golf course which should be quieter. Looks like a great location for golfers. Our room had a refrigerator and very small microwave oven. The room was small and very clean. For some reason the hallways were very,very dark with minimal lighting. The hotel also has an indoor swimming pool and small exercise room. The breakfast was good and plentiful with limited selections eg., one day fruit the next day no fruit, cereals both hot and cold, frozen burritos, small pre-made omeletes, milk/juice/coffee, waffles and cereal. The staff was friendly and informative. This hotel is located very conveniently if your intent is to visit the many attractions in the general Nemeha area. We would definately stay at this hotel if we were to return to the area.

Room Tip: Reserve a room facing the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeniorExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Settle Inn S, Manager at Altenhofen Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for your review. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest's
experience and take your suggestions seriously. Next time we will make sure we
have a golf course view for your stay! Again, thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, KS
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed with a group of over 50. They were ready for us and had us in our room swiftly. This is a nothing fancy hotel, but it is new and clean. Very comfortable and quiet. The breakfast is just 'ok'. Frozen omelets and frozen breakfast burritos you heat in a microwave. I was skeptical, but the omelet was very tasty, can't say the same for the burrito. All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCMJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Settle Inn S, Manager at Altenhofen Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
It is always good to hear that our staff was ready for your motorcoach group!
We hope to see you again soon and look forward to offering something new on the
breakfast menu for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Altenhofen Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altenhofen Inn & Suites

Property: Altenhofen Inn & Suites
Address: 1615 North St, Seneca, KS 66538-2412
Region: United States > Kansas > Seneca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Seneca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Altenhofen Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Altenhofen Inn & Suites is the newest lodging facility in the area. Conveniently located right off of U.S. 36, our Seneca, KS hotel is just minutes away from the Spring Creek Golf Course and beautiful historic downtown. Whether you're a traveler passing through town or a visitor coming into the area to hunt, attend a wedding or group function, go shopping in historic downtown Seneca, or hit the links at the 18-hole Spring Creek Golf Course located right next door, the Altenhofen Inn & Suites is sure to have all of the comforts you come to expect while traveling. Our great rates, exceptional customer service, and quality amenities are what we take pride in. We look forward to having you as our guest very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Altenhofen Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing