We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for 1 night, but not any longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Altenhofen Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Seneca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel on what must have been a very busy weekend. The room was acceptable and fairly clean when we checked in. It was quiet despite the crowd. There was little service past the check-in. No fresh towels for the second day, no vacuum, etc. We asked for a roll-away bed because we were traveling with two teens. The bed was provided, but we were surprised to see an up charge on the bill for the service. No warning, and they billed us for 3 night's use rather than the two we stayed. The bill was corrected. We selected this location on a recommendation. Won't be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank JusPassinThru007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluestem244, Owner at Altenhofen Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

We regret your experience. We have had many business travelers who have stayed with us for weeks at a time. If you should allow us the opportunity to serve you again please let the front desk staff know of your previous problems and we will do our best to see that your stay is to your satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for Altenhofen Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

We traveled from KY to KS for a wedding and this hotel was one of the locations recommended for out of town guests. We had a long drive (11 hours) and we were very happy to arrive in Seneca. We found the front desk to be very welcoming and helpful, the room spacious and clean, and the breakfast quite good. I loved the bedding and linens and they even had individual makeup remover pads. We got up very early to leave the morning after the wedding (0500) and it wasn't until an hour and a half later that we discovered my husband had LEFT MY PURSE IN THE PARKING LOT while he was packing the car. Thankfully, some honest soul turned it into the front desk (untouched) and the front desk had left a message on our home phone. We still had friends there at the hotel that could get it and have it shipped to me. The ride home was a little tense to say the least, but I didn't strangle him alongside the highway and we made it home without further incident.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abnpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluestem244, Owner at Altenhofen Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

We appreciate the compliment and will do our best for 100% satisfaction. Thank you for the opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I stay at this hotel about once a month or so, and typically don't leave a review. So, when something exceptional happened, it was time to leave a review.

Linda and Danise know me by name on every visit. The hotel is always very clean and comfortable. I never have any problems with billing, or sleep quality.

I do want to thank Linda for going above and beyond with my last visit. Thank you again, having a suite with a hot tub was unexpected and appreciated.

This hotel continues to prove why it is the best value in Northeast Kansas!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank HI-Gold-Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Settle Inn S, General Manager at Altenhofen Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for coming back to stay with us and your kind review.
We appreciate your compliments and I will share them with
Danise. You know you can always count on us for a clean and
comfortable room and amenities to make your experience
the best in N E Kansas. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just in town to call on clients, and happy to see
Seneca has a Settle Inn. I travel every week and
this is a great find. The staff is very helpful and friendly.
I slept great. The rooms are large and quiet.
I will definitely be back !

Room Tip: The rooms on the back of the hotel overlook a golf course. Lovely view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Refresh33, General Manager at Altenhofen Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Good to see you again, glad you had a good trip from Ft Collins.
Hope to see you on your next trip through Kansas . Keep bringing
your ideas to us from your travels , we are always open to trying
something new to make each stay the best. Everyone loves the
fresh cookies at check in!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Nice place to stay for a long weekend with family. We could be close to the events, without creating unnecessary stress of having everyone in the house. The staff was friendly and paid attention to the little details. The breakfast had a wide range of items. The only downside was poor mattress quality, which impacted the sleep quality.

Room Tip: The pool helped pass the time and burn off some energy
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Metacompiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Refresh33, General Manager at Altenhofen Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Happy to hear you had a great weekend with your family and that
you liked our amenities , indoor heated pool and kickstart breakfast.
Sorry to hear about the poor sleep experience. We do have mattresses
that are flipped frequently and are only 3 years old. We did find one that
had a defect and the manufacturer replaced it , if you let us know which
room you were in, we will be happy to have that room double checked, also.

We also offer a selection of specialty pillows to all of our guests. Just
call the front desk and you can choose between , feather, foam and
alternative down. So if you prefer a pillow that is firm, we have it. If you like
something softer we can offer that , too. We have a selection of free books to read as well
as tea for those who have a hard time falling asleep while on the road.

Around 3:00 PM we bake fresh cookies on site, so don't miss that.

Our goal is always to go above and beyond to make our guests experience
the best we can offer. Just let us know while you are here and we will be happy
to offer a solution to any issues you may experience.

Hope to see you again, soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

This review has to be taken in a relative sense. Seneca, KS is a small town and this hotel is nice for a small town but misses the mark for those who travel extensively.

Here are the pluses:
1) very good service. Check-in was flawless. Linda Honeyman took very good care of us.
2) it is well kept and clean.
3) they have a nice pool and sauna
4) basic continental breakfast
5) free and efficient internet

Here are the minuses:
1) poor sleep quality
2) noisy heating unit
3) thin walls
4) poor soap and shampoo

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank BusLeis45458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda H, General Manager at Altenhofen Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you for your review. We are always looking for new ways to improve our guests stay. We are happy you liked our pool , complimentary breakfast , free internet and our staff.

We are disappointed to hear of your difficulty in getting a restful sleep. We have taken extra care to meet our guests expectations. Even though our room heating and air units are only 3 and 1/2 years old, we have cleaned and serviced the internal parts throughly each year and the filters are cleaned daily. If a unit is noisy, all you need to do is contact the front desk, we keep a new unit on site that can be installed within a day, or we will be happy to move you to another room immediately , if we are not full . Next time, just contact the front desk and we will be happy to take care of your request.

Since we were not aware of the circumstances of your stay we can not determine what caused you to believe the hotel has thin walls. The hotel was built in 2010 with superior sound deadening materials and construction methods. The interior walls are 5/8th inch dry wall mounted on dampening gaskets which are sound isolation rails. They decouple or separate the drywall from the wall studs. Further, the wall studs are staggered to further decouple the dry wall on one side of the wall from the dry wall on the other side of the wall. Sound absorbing batt insulation was also woven between the staggered wall studs. The second floor has approximately 2 " of gyp-crete which serves as a floor stabilizer and fire retarding surface. Even with those construction methods the hotel management understands the noise can, in certain circumstances, be an issue. Any guest bothered by noise only needs to contact the front desk and every effort will be made to eliminate the cause of the problem, or we will be happy to move you to another room when possible. We regret that noise disturbed your sleep.

With regard to our soap and shampoo, the hotel consistently monitors comments concerning the choice of toiletries. Our line is not the cheapest nor is it the most expensive, it has been satisfactory to the vast majority of our guests. We will take a look at other options on the nexxt order. We regret we did not meet your expectations and we will be attentive to providing the best amenities we can to our guests.

Please let us know of anything we can do to make any future stays better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed here while visiting family, great little spot with many extra touches!! Very clean, staff was very friendly and welcoming. I travel across the country frequently and highly recommend this hotel if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHC15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda H, General Manager at Altenhofen Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Good to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Settle Inn in Seneca, we are always looking
for extra amenities to make your stay a great experience. Thank you for your review ,
we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Altenhofen Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altenhofen Inn & Suites

Address: 1615 North St, Seneca, KS 66538-2412
Region: United States > Kansas > Seneca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Seneca
Price Range: £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Altenhofen Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Altenhofen Inn & Suites is the newest lodging facility in the area. Conveniently located right off of U.S. 36, our Seneca, KS hotel is just minutes away from the Spring Creek Golf Course and beautiful historic downtown. Whether you're a traveler passing through town or a visitor coming into the area to hunt, attend a wedding or group function, go shopping in historic downtown Seneca, or hit the links at the 18-hole Spring Creek Golf Course located right next door, the Altenhofen Inn & Suites is sure to have all of the comforts you come to expect while traveling. Our great rates, exceptional customer service, and quality amenities are what we take pride in. We look forward to having you as our guest very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Altenhofen Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing