We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did I miss something here?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fronteras

Fronteras
Ranked #29 of 118 Restaurants in Shawnee
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Did I miss something here?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

The reviews on TA and other websites were excellent so I really wanted to check it out. It looks like an average Mexican restaurant. I can't say the food was outstanding but it arrived wickedly fast. Prices are quite reasonable....but I got what I paid for. There really are much better Mexican restaurants around here.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Batman_rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    7
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City MO
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Great Mexican food, huge margaritas, decent prices.  Can get crowded and noisy at times.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elinorigby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KC
Level Contributor
381 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Always good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

Fronteras has quickly become a favorite Mexican restaurant. I seem to rate my fave Mexican places by whether or not I like their chips and Fronteras has great chips! The only drawback is that it seems to always be crowded, whether a Wednesday night a 5pm or a Saturday night at 7pm. The wait is worth it though! And be sure to try one if their fruit-flavored margaritas served in a fishbowl. Awesome!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gabi_kansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnee, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“THE BEST IN TOWN!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

The food is the best and lots of it and the margaritas are to die for! We go about 3 times a month. :)

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TinaMayG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
88 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Our go to place for Mexican”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

This location is set along a strip mall and there are a few other mexican restaurants near by but this is ALWAYS where we go. Super fast service, great specials and the food is top notch. You won't find any "ground beef" in the burritos.

Awesome margarita's too!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank aewilson11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Fronteras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing