We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't book if you need adjoining rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Kansas City/Shawnee Mission

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Shawnee Mission
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Shawnee
United States
1 review
“Don't book if you need adjoining rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

You have a good computer system but do not use it for the couples traveling with children who need adjoining rooms, thus a late arrival does not receive adjoining rooms even tho requested and guaranteed with a credit card

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy B, Manager at Hampton Inn Kansas City/Shawnee Mission, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
I want to first thank you for letting us know about your stay and the issue you had with not receiving connecting rooms. We do strive hard to meet all of our guests requests. We dont guarantee connecting rooms as some guests may stay over an extra night in what few connecting rooms we have and are unable to move them to another room. In this situation we work hard to get those rooms as close together as possible. I do apologize this disrupted your stay and we greatly appreciaet your feedback.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    95
    41
    23
    6
See reviews for
102
39
14
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed two nights this past weekend. Rooms are pretty average but comfortable, have stayed here in the past and always a ton of baseball teams and their usual noise but did not hear any of that once in the room. Pretty nice spread for a provided breakfast, was impressed with it. Only complaint i would have is the police officer in the lobby, makes it feel like a bad place to be. I understand they have had an issue with drinking in the lobby and they are discouraging it, but just seemed weird to have a police officer hanging out watching our 15 person family gathering play cards in the evening. 3 good restaurants, a fast food place and a convenient store all in walking distance is an added bonus.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoWildside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, Kansas
Level Contributor
509 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I have stayed at many Hampton Inns, and this one is in need of an update to its rooms. There were moldy areas in the tub. Sink area very dated. The trash containers in the breakfast room were so overflowing that I could hardly throw away my trash. Best thing this hotel has going for it is having two great restaurants off the same parking area. Barleys and Jose Pepper are both great casual restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyinDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy B, Manager at Hampton Inn Kansas City/Shawnee Mission, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
I just wanted to take the time to thank you for letting us know about your stay. We are excited to so be going though a room renovation. Our ownership and Hilton are working together to roll out the latest and greatest in this renovation. We are looking to start very soon. We appreciate any feedback that our guests give us in order to make your future stays and other guest’s stays as pleasant as possible. If I can be of any further service, please dont hesitate to let me know. Thank you again, we appreciate your business, and have a great day.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vassar, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Was in town for a softball tournament and the hotel staff was very accommodating. Only problem was that I wish there had been a washer and drier on site to wash uniforms between days. Otherwise everything was great!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollister, Missouri
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Overall this place is pretty average for a Hampton Inn. It does seem to be on the older side- a little musty, but clean. One of our groups rooms had an AC problem - but they did switch his room promptly. They do have the best shower water pressure in a hotel EVER! Area is safe.

Room Tip: The elevator is a bit hidden down the hallway. Be prepared to "drive" your luggage before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, MO, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Nice place to stay for business. I don't know about pleasure. Rooms were clean and updated. Several breakfast choices-all were nice. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Very convenient for my meeting.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normal, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Welcomed with a 20 min wait to get checked in. Walked into the room to be hit with mildew odor. Feces on the back of the toilet lid along with broken toilet seat. Beds were extremely uncomfortable. Carpet was sticky & dirty. Noise noise noise from the hallway. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy B, Manager at Hampton Inn Kansas City/Shawnee Mission, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We are disappointed to hear of your experience at our hotel and appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. The problems you mentioned were brought to the attention of our housekeeping department and have been addressed. While the lack of service you experienced is unusual and not the standard of our hotel, there is no excuse for it. We are sorry for the inconvenience and annoyance this incident caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shawnee
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City Shawnee
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Shawnee - Kansas City West
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Merriam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Kansas City/Lenexa City Center
4.8 mi away
Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission
4.6 mi away
Quality Inn Merriam
Quality Inn Merriam
#3 of 5 in Merriam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Kansas City/Shawnee Mission? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Kansas City/Shawnee Mission

Property: Hampton Inn Kansas City/Shawnee Mission
Address: 16555 Midland Drive, Shawnee, KS 66217
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Shawnee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Shawnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Kansas City/Shawnee Mission 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Kansas City/Shawnee Mission reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Shawnee Mission Hotel Shawnee
Hampton Inn Shawnee
Shawnee Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing