We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always Good Food and Good Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paulo and Bill

Paulo and Bill
Ranked #1 of 118 Restaurants in Shawnee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Classic Italian Restaurant located near I-435 and Midland Dr. In Shawnee, KS. Open for lunch and dinner, Sunday Brunch, Happy Hour Monday - Friday, Kids Menu. Seasonal patio dining. Paulo and Bill's has private dining for up to 30 guests or can cater your event to you.Paulo and Bill hosts wine dinners throughout the year featuring various wines paired with each course. As a Kansas City Original restaurant, dining here earns you rewards.
Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
266 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Always Good Food and Good Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Food here is always good-- the fish, meats, salads, and brunch items. We went yesterday for the brunch. They were consistently busy and had constant movement through the buffet line. They did a great job keeping all the food full and hot and had plenty of plates out for you. Everything tasted great. They have a good selection of breakfast and lunch items--scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, lasagne, chicken picate, waffles, pizza, prime rib, other main dishes, salads of various types, cut up fresh fruit, and lots of desserts. Good customer service. Our waitress kept our drinks full and empty plates cleared. My only suggestion for them would be to serve a different bread, instead of the boring one they serve now with the oil and vinegar with their dinner menu.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank CharlieKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    46
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
249 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Just ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Although the service was fantastic and some of the food was excellent, other items were so-so and the bread is outright awful. Crab cakes and the fish special were excellent but the entree salads were just average. Not my favorite place.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank littlepepita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
190 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Always very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We have gone to Paulo and Bill since the beginning. Sunday brunch is always a treat with the typical breakfast fare but with inclusions of their Italian offering (lasagna, chicken piccata, pasta and cheese and two choices of their wood fired pizza). Hand carved ham and beef, smoked salmon, seasonal vegetables, fresh fruit and a variety of freshly prepared salads round out the savory side of the buffet. Dessert galore plus a chocolate fountain complete the brunch. Our most recent visit was a rainy evening and the dinner was started with garlic toast served with pesto and roasted garlic. We had the chicken piccata which was served with mash potatoes and chicken Parmesan which is place on spaghetti and red sauce. I had the Viva salad and was fresh as always. Service us always friendly and accommodating.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank idealcut O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
1,029 reviews
609 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Very consistent - nice quality and huge portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Had the spicy pizza for dinner and others had pasta, scallop appetizers and salmon salads - very good across the board. Service was excellent and prices very very reasonable.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JimOB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAWNEE
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not good!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Bread brought to the table was called "house bread" flat, strips of cold bread with oil/balsamic vinegar that had a putrid flavor. My dirty martini was made with my choice, Grey Goose, up, and it was ruined with bleu cheese stuffed olives that were dissolving in the drink. Entrees were three varities of chicken amongst myself and two guests, flavorless, dry and overpriced!!

Never going back again, not on a bet!!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank NORBERT A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Paulo and Bill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing