We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Go-To for Great Beer and Good Food”
Review of Barley's Brewhaus

Barley's Brewhaus
Reserve with OpenTable
Barley's Brewhaus is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 122 Restaurants in Shawnee
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our Go-To for Great Beer and Good Food”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Barley's is my husband's and my regular place when you want a good beer selection and good fancy pub food. Just be aware that this restaurant is a bit overpriced for what it is. The service is always good and the food is fine but if all food items could be 2-3 dollars cheaper, the owners would be on the right track. That doesn't keep us from going however, it just keeps us from going more often.

My favorite overpriced item is the Blue Cheese Steak sandwich -- but with goat cheese instead. The sweet potato fries are wonderful -- but they are an up charge of course. They have a really good beer selection and the prices are fairer in that category. Not good prices by any means, but normal for Johnson County.

The service is always nice and the atmosphere is odd, but cozy. The paintings of beer labels on the walls look like the restaurant commissioned a high school art class to decorate, but other than that it is nice -- as long as there isn't a party in the loft. If there is a party in the loft that is all you can hear.

Happy Hours of $3.50 pints is the best time to go but be very weary of the glass type the beer comes in. Only beers that come in true pint glasses are included. Also, if you have a rewards club card, you can get half off apps. That is a good deal for sure. Try the pretzels-- even more delicious at 50% off :)!

Enjoy it but just realize you'll likely be dropping $50 + for two people.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JCC868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    53
    14
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good spot for beer and food”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We have been to Barley's quite often. The food is quite good and only moderately expensive. The beer is great with a huge selection of beers on tap. They added an outdoor patio about two years ago-no view as it is in the parking lot.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“More Than Just Beer!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I used to go to Barley's for their fantastic beer selection. Upon becoming gluten-free, I doubted I could enjoy myself there anymore. NOT TRUE. They have a decent wine selection and fantastic micro plates - many of which are gluten-free. The trout/pear/arugula salad is to die for as are the roasted beets and pork fried almonds. So glad Barley's is in the neighborhood!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa792013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leavenworth, Kansas
Level Contributor
325 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“A great neighborhood bar and grill with excellent music!”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Ate at Barley's Brewhaus off of Midland Drive in Shawnee last night for the first time, and we had a lot of fun for our large group of parents and kids (post-volleyball tournament). The staff was very accommodating and we had excellent service throughout our meal. A great bennie for a Saturday night was the live music. The band played hits from the 1960's through today. Appetizers came out very quickly, which was great for our hungry crowd. I really enjoyed my Spicy Chicken salad (Thai-like with a peanut sauce) and a cup of their sharp cheddar soup made with Sam Adams beer. Everyone else in our group enjoyed their meals as well. If we are in the Shawnee area, especially on a Saturday night, we will be back to Barley's Brewhaus!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich_Holden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We had dinner here on Saturday night during our stay and the food was great!! Prices are very reasonable and the service was good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank nebraskafoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barley's Brewhaus also viewed

 

Been to Barley's Brewhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing