We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lunch with friends”
Review of Minsky's Pizza

Minsky's Pizza
Ranked #5 of 122 Restaurants in Shawnee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout
Description: Hungry? Order online now! "Gourmet, and going to stay that way." Since 1976 we've used distinctive ingredients in our savory pizzas, sandwiches, pastas and salads. Sure to please any palate at our original 51st and Main restaurant and 13 locations throughout the metro.Since we began making gourmet pizza in Kansas City in 1976, we have used the finest ingredients. Our savory pizzas begin with fresh, hand-rolled dough layered with generous portions of lean, succulent meats, tender vegetables, aromatic herbs and are topped with rich dairy mozzarella baked to bubbling perfection. Today, our distinctive ingredients and commitment to quality ensure that each Minsky's pizza is a mouthwatering masterpiece. In addition to gourmet pizzas, we offer a tasty selection of sandwiches, salads and pastas sure to please any palate. Enjoy.
Shawnee, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“lunch with friends”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Visited one of my favorite local restaurants yesterday for lunch. I had a calzone and house salad with homemade peppercorn ranch dressing(I suggest trying this dressing).
The huge calzone was stuffed full of all the combo ingredients. The salad was huge and I used a frontflip prize to get it for 1/2 price. If you don't use the frontflip app to scan a barcode for a chance to win prizes and discounts, you really should. Check with your favorite establishments to see if they participate in frontflip.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sonyarosebower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    42
    6
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Pizza!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I recently ordered for delivery and the driver was friendly and the delivery was quick. Best of all the salad was a large portion with some fun, unusual extras, and the pizza, the Papa Minsky's was delicious. I chose the Honey Wheat crust which was very tasty, it even still felt much like a regular crust might. The sauce and toppings were very generous and of very good quality. I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballwin, Missouri
Level Contributor
704 reviews
534 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“extremely slow delivery is becoming habitual--probably won't order again due to extreme and unexplained delays”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This review focuses on their delivery as opposed to the actual dine-in experience. We order pizza for delivery from this place on a regular basis. Yesterday, for the second time in as many months, there was an extreme delay in the delivery. Yesterday, it took over 2 hours for our pizza to arrive. When we called at the hour and 1/2 mark, we were put on hold for nearly 10 minutes before they curtly told us it was "on the way" without any explanation or even apology for the delay. The driver when he arrived did not explain or apologize. My wife and I are forgiving people--we don't like to find fault and we know sometimes things take longer than they "should." However, we are not so forgiving this time because almost the exact same thing only worse happened about 2 months ago when the delivery time approached 3 hours. On that occasion, they did apologize and voided our check. Enough is enough. They must have so much business they don't need our's any more. We do not plan on setting ourselves up again for such extreme and unexplained delays.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAWNEE
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Minsky's on New Year's Eve, again!”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Second time meeting friends for New Year's Eve early dinner. We are past the late night partying of years gone past so an early dinner works well. This is the second year to meet at Minsky's for enjoyable pizza, salads, and of course, beverages. The food was it's usual excellent fare, and the wait staff lived up to their usual effecient ways. We had a waitress that cared about us and though it got real busy, she returned to our table numerous times to cater to our needs. Plan to keep going back throughout the year as usual and make this our usual New Year's Eve haunt!! Thanks Minsky's for a great evening!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NORBERT A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnee, KS
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not your typical pizza joint”
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Good pizza, but the rest of the menu is good too. Expect to pay for the good taste, though. Nice bar selection. There is a reason this place is busy and difficult to find a parking space. 5 star pizza is probably my favorite.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ISUVickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Minsky's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Minsky's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing