We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 South Haven
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Haven
Tomahawk, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised...”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We have been avoiding Motel 6 for many years. But upon entering Kansas on our way back from Arizona, we had to stop traveling due to a sleet storm. This was the only motel at this exit so it was time to give Motel 6 a try. As expected, there were not a lot of frills, but we asked for extra hand towels, wash cloths and paper cups and they were freely given by the desk clerk. The room was bigger than expected and had an alcove with a refrigerator (no microwave). The only microwave was down in the lobby. The room and bathroom were very clean. The beds were comfy. The heater in the room made a lot of noise as they do in many other motels. Otherwise it was very quiet there. The shower curtain was heavy enough not to fly around and kept the water in the tub where it belonged. There was plenty of hot water to shower. Was a little concerned about the bathroom ceiling as it looked like a couple of tiles needed to be replaced so they wouldn't fall. Otherwise, everything seemed to be in good repair. There was a nice flat screen tv with satellite service and plenty of channels. We had to stay two days and were quite comfortable at the most reasonable price on our trip. There was not a restaurant nearby, but the gas station next door served sub sandwiches and a variety of snack foods and drinks.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomahSouth40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    13
    3
    2
    7
See reviews for
10
6
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Haven, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Although it is in the middle of nowhere and nothing around, it is very peaceful and quiet. The hospitality was great,very nice and helpful. The people who cleans the rooms were very nice and respectful. Wish that the resteraunt was open because the food at the store was a bit high, but I enjoyed my stay.
: Cecil Whitmon

3-5-2014.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cecilwhitmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

OK, first off, there is no bulletproof glass at check in and the place was well lit. My room was very clean. I had a flat screen TV, full satellite TV channel line up. My bedding was nice and clean. For a motel 6 this wasn't bad. So I don't know where all the bad reviews came from.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mlh53057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Dead bug on floor & full trash cans. Reservation for 1 king got 2 doubles. Did their on-line survey. Received back an automated reply that would not let you reply back. But "management" wanted us to contact them. Did not have a name, phone number or an e-mail we could reply to. Will never stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 South Haven, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Lynette,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. The cleanliness conditions you encountered are not consistent with our standards for quality at Motel 6, and we sincerely apologize for your unpleasant stay. Please kindly contact our Guest Relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you and our other guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Haven hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Room was not filthy but its was not clean either. Towels and sheets clean but stained dingy and thread bare. Drop down tiled ceiling in bathroom was falling down and had toilet tissue wadded up and stuck in the ceiling gaps. Two entry doors into first floor room. Inner door lock did not work and clerk was aware of it. Forced to use outer door and refused to change my room. Parking lot is gravel and dirt. No ironing board or iron in room. Booked a king with a microwave and mini fridge. Fridge did not work and only one microwave in lobby. Zero hot water for bathing barely lukewarm. Charged more than reservation rate. Zero security in place other than bullet proof glass at registration. Very unsafe dark secluded area. Gas station across parking lot was unwelcoming and I was followed back to room. Unable to get any response from front desk. Unsafe.

Room Tip: Do not even bother stopping at this exit. The motel is not worth it and the gas station is just as b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The room was very clean, large and comfortable. Also there is free parking and wifi plus coffee in the morning. The front desk lady was very nice and I have absolutely nothing to complain about. However be careful of the gas station across the road - I was short changed by $10 and the man just argued with me until I walked away (I noticed straight away).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaJM1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic, Iowa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

I have never left a hotel in 40 years because it was so bad. Greeted in the lobby by flickering lights that just want to be taken out of their missery Gigantic Bugs, no battery in the smoke detector not to mention the bed looked like a bad CSI scene. Stay Away

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoboFlobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
16.8 mi away
Best Western Blackwell Inn
15.4 mi away
Oak Tree Inn - Wellington
Oak Tree Inn - Wellington
#1 of 1 in Wellington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
17.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Patterson Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 5 in Blackwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
21.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in Winfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
15.4 mi away
Steak House Motel
Steak House Motel
#2 of 3 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 South Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 South Haven

Property: Motel 6 South Haven
Address: 880 E 160th St S, I-35, Exit 4, South Haven, KS 67140-9083
Region: United States > Kansas > South Haven
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 South Haven 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 South Haven is located near shopping and dining. All rooms are modern and include 32" LCD TV with AV connection for gaming, free Wi-Fi, bathroom with granite countertops with raised wash basin and wood-effect flooring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 South Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing