We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lee Point Village Resort - a gem in Darwin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Club Tropical Resort Darwin
Ranked #1 of 1 Lee Point B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alice Springs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lee Point Village Resort - a gem in Darwin”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

An excellent place to stay in Darwin. Very friendly and hospitable staff. A great location opposite the Casuarina Coastal Reserve. Rooms are new, spotless, very well appointed and comfortable. BBQ facilities are a bonus.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mansfield12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    25
    13
    3
    5
See reviews for
20
23
5
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bega
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Its big, in the dry its dusty and crowded. Its in the average to better ball park for price. We have stayed here twice now and would come back. You just need to know what you're in for I guess!

What we like is that its on the point so you get a sea breeze from two sides. The two pools are great, although the shaded one is a bit of a hike. Its reasonably close to town too. Walk to the beach.

What we don't like is the general state of run-downness, and general unkempt appearance. They don't clean your toilet when you're on a ensuite site, or provide toilet paper refills, and it seems longtermers have all invested in a lawn mower because no one bothers to mow the lawn (what are we paying for again?)!

Having said that I did feel safer here than in a lot of other parks we have been to. The kids had a great time in the quieter season, with lots of long term stayers looking out for them!

Like I said, we'll be back, but its certainly not flash!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BecBega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

After getting through the rather nice reception ( & rather "un-nice" receptionist) , what a shock to see such a run down, dusty, unkempt caravan park!
On questioning the " receptionist" about our friends sites, who had already arrived in the park, we were told " I don't know, we can't keep track.!!??
Considering we paid $50.00 a night, which was the most expensive we had to pay in 5 weeks of traveling, we were expecting at least clean, neat and tidy!
We are not quite sure what the $100.00 deposit was for, as there is definitely nothing you can break, destroy or steal!!??
The amenities blocks are appalling. I don't think there was one tap or shower in the place that wasn't leaking. Some didn't even HAVE taps. The cleaning of the amenities involved a man driving up at 8.30ish every morning, hosing them out and then 10 minutes later was gone. Nice to go in and sit on a soaking wet toilet after that!! The so- called cleaner complained about all the leaves that had blown in there everyday that he had to clean out. Yeah, we didn't like them either!
The "laundries"?? Just a washing machine stuck in front of the shower/toilets. Good luck trying to find a machine that works!!!!
Rubbish bins were emptied twice a week and the so called bbqs were stuffed with rubbish.
We did see a groundsman a couple of times, and he did pick up one branch one day, and drove over the rest!!
To top it off we were told this caravan park is renowned for sand flies. Too late!! We were absolutely covered in bites, from head to toe.
What a shambles this place is!!!
Our recommendation- don't stay here!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed on a powered caravan site in July on our trip around oz. Booked in for a week and found the staff very friendly on arrival . Our site was large and shady but had virtually no grass. The site was also covered in leaves and I had to buy a rake in town to clean it up. I ended up raking up a pile that would fill a 6x4 trailer and it sat there for the entire week. There doesn't seem to be any ground staff employed here. The toilet and shower blocks were very basic and run down and there are no soap dispensers for you to wash your hands.(YUK) The park itself is in a good location ,being only 5 minutes from a large shopping centre and only 15 minutes into the city but if your a little fussy, my advice would be to pay a little extra and stay in one of the better parks .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dontworrybehappy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We decided to stay at Lee Point Village Resort as it was close to town but that is where the positives ceased. The sites have no Grass or coverings of any sort. The Showers either leak have no pressure or no taps !!.When booking in you are told to just drive down and find a site and are never sure where the sites start or end. The laundry is a total mystery to find as we had to go to 4 locations before we found a Machine that worked. The pool area is small and in need of a good clean and the so called "Campers Kitchens" have a tired looking sink and that is it. We paid $50 a night with a $100 deposit for what, "we don't know". This is the most we paid on our whole trip for a Powered Site. All you get for your stay at this Park is Arms and Legs covered in Sand Flea bites.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CLAZZ59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The term "resort" has been used very loosely. There is obviously no industry standard in Australia for a place to claim itself as a resort. It was the furthest thing away from a resort that you could find. It is about time they updated their Internet site to what it really looks like in 2013, Internet photos were from 20 years ago +.
It was the most expensive park we have stayed at $50/night + a $100 deposit. No idea what the deposit was for. Amenities were appalling, we found better in the camp grounds of Kakadu at a tenth of the price. For $50/night a minimum is to have some hand soap available and a bench in the showers for your clothes. laundry - good luck! after visiting 5 amenities blocks we found a working washing machine. Bins are only emptied on Monday/Thursday so the rest of the week the place is a mess (doesn't take much to put in a few wheelie bins from bunnings and guests will use them if available). If the place had good amenities and a bit of green grass cost wouldn't have been an issue but it was merely a paddock in an up coming part of Darwin, owners are making a mint out of unaware tourists. It has potential to be a true " resort" with its location if it had some TLC.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meredith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I stayed 3 nights for business in the motel units, the unit was spacious and clean, we ate at the restaurant once for tea and once for breakfast, to be honest you would only have tea there so you could have a drink with your meal (BYO only) the food was pretty average, we chose to drive into Darwin for a better selection and better quality. there is a good size pool area but otherwise that is all. it was a good base for business but I believe family's would be disappointed. the one small positive is there are some good running/walking tracks around. overall unremarkable.

Room Tip: I think they are all pretty much the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lee Point
9.4 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
885 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mercure Darwin Airport Resort
6.2 mi away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#10 of 37 in Darwin
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
8.6 mi away
Skycity Darwin
Skycity Darwin
#17 of 37 in Darwin
757 reviews
9.1 mi away
Oaks Elan Darwin
Oaks Elan Darwin
#5 of 37 in Darwin
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Tropical Resort Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Tropical Resort Darwin

Property: Club Tropical Resort Darwin
Address: 622 Lee Point Rd, Lee Point, Northern Territory 0810, Australia (Formerly Lee Point Village Resort)
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Lee Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lee Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Tropical Resort Darwin 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Northern suburbs of Darwin, 200 metres from the stunning Lee Point Beach and only 5 mins drive from Darwin Airport, Club Tropical Resort Darwin will soon re-brand as Sage Resort Darwin and opens the door to a relaxing destination that is perfect for work or play. This new hotel is transforming into an international resort which will include 2 restaurants, amazing pools and an 18 hole Championship golf course. It currently has stylish accommodation and apartments fully serviced with foxtel, free wifi, pool and Air Con. Enjoy our facilities in a sprawling resort just a quick drive from the Airport and Marrara Stadium. A short stroll will take you to pristine, uncrowded beaches that stretch for miles, and the enchanting sights and sounds of local fisherman at Buffalo Creek are within easy reach. For stunning scenery, Kakadu and Litchfield parks are must see destinations when visiting the Northern Territory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Tropical Resort Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing