We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort on the high plains”
Review of Single Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Single Tree Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ulysses
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The traveler who needs a night's rest in far western Kansas has just a few towns to choose from. Ulysses is a good choice and the Single Tree Inn provides the amenities we expect in average lodging: good beds, polite staff, nice breakfast room with the usual not-so-great fare: "eggs," muffins, cereal, yogurt and that western favorite, biscuits and gravy. They take pets but charge for them, which is usually offset by members discounts--AAA, AARP, etc. Ulysses itself is worth more than a drive through. It is a thriving community based on agriculture, oil and natural gas. There is a first-class museum and at least one good Mexican restaurant. NOTE: When traveling unfamiliar roads in Kansas be sure to check on the availability of lodging before you plan to stop for the night. Not every town has a decent motel. Or an indecent one. Or a restaurant. Or a quick shop. Or a stop light.

Room Tip: If you have a dog, they will give you a room at the end of the hall near an outside door on the firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 3DQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

Called 3 weeks in advance, requested king bed on second floor. After driving for 12 hours get to Single Tree, Ulysses. Only had 2 queen beds and on first floor. Upon receiving bill on day of checkout was higher than what was quoted on phone and website. Complained to manager and he adjusted price, but didn't appreciate being awakened at 3 in the morning by neighbors above. Will stay in Liberal or Garden City if the other place is booked.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Room was clean. Stool leaks onto floor. They charge 10.00 for service pet. Tax is 12+%. BUT the breakfast....the worst continental breakfast on this continent. Greasy gravy, hard cold biscuits. Weird looking, pale scrambled eggs. Black bananas on Monday.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This is it's own branch of hotels and the only one, but the owner did know how to keep a clean place. It has the looks of a very nice place. When I walked in the door the was a big fat Homosexual equal sticker on the window. Though disturbed I continued in. A young man, I believe, Mr. Ghandi's (the owner) son was sitting there and was friendly. Though he did tell me breakfast would go until 9:45 as the house was full. I got up at 9:15 and everything was gone. The hotel had problems with internet along with not knowing how to turn the fire-alarm off. It went off at 6:30, 6:40, 6:50, 7:30 and most everyone was gone by then. There was not much of an apology for that either.

Room Tip: Book before sold out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WolfgangsMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We've stayed here a few times. And will continue to stay here when we're in Ulysses. The rooms are always clean, I mean spotless clean, the rooms are a great price, and the staff has always went above & beyond to make us feel welcome. They offer a Ulysses, KS version of Southern hospitality. The beds are very comfortable, the pillows are comfortable, the grounds are well-maintained & well lit, the breakfast offers a good variety & good food. Every room we've stayed in has a fridge, microwave, coffee pot, iron/ironing board and a great LCD TV. Another small perk is a business area in the lobby where you can print from their computers, just another convenience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love2Travel2245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stopped in Ulysses to visit the historic Adobe Museum. We were pleasently surprised at the quality of our room at the Single Tree Inn. The rooms were very large, the king size bed was firm, there were two sinks and the room was spotless. The breakfast that was offered included eggs, ceral and donuts/muffins as well as coffee. This hotel is a great value.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Napleschris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

I booked a business trip to Western Kansas and sort of stumbled across this hotel. I wasn't sure what it would be like when I booked it, but after checking in, extended my stay to three nights. Rooms are super clean, beds are very comfortable (I had a king), and the facility is very clean and well-cared for, Lots of towels and toiletries. Staff was helpful and courteous. Breakfast was pretty basic, but I can certainly live with that with so many positives in the room. Great LCD TV with lots of channels. Room had fast wireless Internet, iron, ironing board, microwave, refrigerator, and coffee/tea maker. Facility always has fresh coffee on the main floor. As the governator would say, "I'll be back."

Room Tip: I kicked up to a King suite, but would imagine the other rooms are just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noozboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Single Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Single Tree Inn

Address: 2033 West Oklahoma / Hwy 160, Ulysses, KS 67880
Region: United States > Kansas > Ulysses
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ulysses
Price Range: £61 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southwestern style, 43 spacious rooms on two floors. Clean, comfy, and friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Single Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Single Tree Hotel Ulysses

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing