We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best motels we've stayed in!!”
Review of Simmer Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Simmer Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wamego
Littleton, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best motels we've stayed in!!”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We were recently traveling through Kansas and were looking for a place to stay close to Alma, KS, and the Simmer Motel had very good reviews and great prices. Simmer Motel lived up to and beyond our expectations! The owners were very nice and talked to us about some of the local history and places to see. The room was immaculate and very nicely outfitted. It is probably the cleanest place we have ever stayed. We travel through Kansas periodically, and we will definitely make this a stop whenever we can, and we highly recommend this place to anyone. It's worth the few extra miles off of I70!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 765ericb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimmerManager, Owner at Simmer Motel, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Thank-you so much for taking the time to write a review on tripadviser. I am so glad that your stay was a good one. It made me so happy to read all of the wonderful things you said about us.
We try so hard to achieve the high standards that people expect and rightly so. I will let my staff know that all my ranting about having to be the cleanest motel around was appreciated. Sincerley Simmer Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    15
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
14
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Was not impressed with hotel across street so we ventured here...Must say we had a GREAT stay!!We didn't arrive until almost midnite yet they didn't hesitate to show us a few room choices...WE WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND TO ANYONE ANYTIME.Lovely creative clean rooms...Staff and owner was VERY NICE..She even gave us directions and info for our future destinations on our Anniversary Roadtrip.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimmerManager, Owner at Simmer Motel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank-you so much for your kind words, I enjoyed visiting with you and appreciate that you would take the time to give us a good review. For the small business it is the word of mouth as the old saying goes, that will make or break a business. I am so glad you had a good experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersburg, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We initially chose this motel due to its close proximity to the Oz Museum and the fact that they have a 3 Queen bed suite to accommodate our family.

Very clean room and friendly staff. Everything we needed was in the room including dinnerware in the kitchenette. We will likely be in the area in the future and will stay here when that time comes.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank firefly36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Absolutely fantastic!-D incredibly nice staff and service! We stayed 3 nights in two different rooms. Both were spotless, clean/soft sheets. Everything felt sanitized and clean-down to the buttons on the remote to the phone. The rooms were decorated in such a creative way and the owner and staff were perhaps the most pleasant people we've encountered on our way to CO. We enjoyed it so much that we will make it a trip just to stay there! Thank you so much-we couldn't be more satisfied!
Sincerely, many thanks!-D
Mark & Stephanie

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markstephanie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smalltown Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We've stayed at this motel each of the last several years in December. We enjoy trying out the different theme rooms and each one is definitely different! Bring your own shampoo (or maybe ours was just missing it) and your own hair dryer as they aren't provided in the room. For $56 (and that included the tax), you certainly aren't going wrong by staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJKraus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimmerManager, Manager at Simmer Motel, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
We recently found out we were able to respond to our guest reviews, now that we can respond we would like to thank you so much for taking the time to let us and others know how much you've enjoyed spending time at The Simmer. I wanted to let you know that hygene productsas well as hair dryers are available upon request at the office. We found having these items available upon request is much more cost effective. This allows us to help those who might have left shampoo etc.. at home without having to raise room rates. We look forward to seeing you again this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We have stayed at the Simmer Motel for many years over Thanksgiving and various other times. The rooms are always spotless, the staff all friendly and helpful, and the place is quiet (especially compared to newer type motels).

We love supporting this non-chain motel whenever we need a room in the area!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, KS
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We stay at the Simmer Motel whenever we need lodging for a K-State football game. If you want a clean room and an easy staff to work with, this is definitely the place to stay. This is probably the best value in the Manhattan area, especially if you prefer to eat breakfast outside the motel. We think their are some excellent places to eat breakfast in Wamego, so we don't want one of those motel/hotel provided breakfasts. My wife really likes the unique furniture in each room along with the individual themes. They have quite a variety of rooms, so make sure you talk with the desk to find out which one suits your needs the best. We've had suites, queens, and the honeymoon suite. My only wish is that they would convert some of the smoking rooms to non-smoking. I think that would make them easier to book. Their online booking seems to be a little cheaper than if you call the front desk. However, we usually call to request a specific room.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building only have one bed, so you don't have to worry about the adjoining roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bafdef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimmerManager, Manager at Simmer Motel, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Hello, we wanted to thank you for your continued support and also for your wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you and your wife this year at game time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wamego
13.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#13 of 16 in Manhattan
88 reviews
14.3 mi away
Bluemont Hotel
Bluemont Hotel
#2 of 16 in Manhattan
297 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Manhattan
Hampton Inn Manhattan
#3 of 16 in Manhattan
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Manhattan at The Campus
12.9 mi away
Best Western Manhattan Inn
Best Western Manhattan Inn
#5 of 16 in Manhattan
320 reviews
13.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Manhattan
Fairfield Inn Manhattan
#7 of 16 in Manhattan
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simmer Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simmer Motel

Property: Simmer Motel
Address: 1215 W US Highway 24, Wamego, KS 66547-1200
Region: United States > Kansas > Wamego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wamego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Simmer Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Simmer Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing