We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown
Ranked #31 of 87 Hotels in Wichita
Shawnee, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Poor Customer Service”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Arrived for check in at 4pm. I was told my room was not ready because they were full the previous night. I was told the room would be ready in 45 minutes. Check in is at 3 PM.

I returned to the desk around 5:30 and the clerk said I don't know if your room is ready because housekeeping quit answering their phones. I then went up to check on the room myself and it was clean. The front desk clerk stated she couldn't leave the desk. Very unprofessional!

I then had to ask for breakfast coupons for the delay. The hotel should have offered these to me at check in for the inconvenience.

The rooms were very small and the walls are paper thin. Could here people having normal conversations next door. The upside is the rooms were nice and clean.

The outdoor pool was very nice, but you have to go to the front desk for towels. A towel stand should be placed outside.

Overall it was a nice hotel for the money, minus a few problems.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KC-Lawman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear KC-Lawman,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    124
    102
    36
    30
See reviews for
116
72
38
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Very clean and updated hotel for the price. Location to downtown also very good. I had no issues that could be blamed on the hotel, but the Direct TV did go out when we were hit by a big summer storm. Also, the lobby and east side rooms took on water, I was on west side and enjoyed the storm. Staff even allowed those of us with uninsured rental cars to park them under eaves to avoid hail damage. Very nice of them!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed here twice since work put me up here. The rooms are comfortable enough. In my first stay, I had a lot of trouble with the remote control, which despite having new batteries, would take forever to turn on the TV or change channels. Free wifi can be spotty at times as well...I had to reconnect several times. Also had a night where I didn't sleep because the AC unit was starting and stopping, despite my turning the switch off. Thank goodness work paid for it, because it's not a place I would choose on my own.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank broncoal06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear broncoal06,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the room.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the room amenities, internet access and the air conditioning. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wichita hotels

Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed here the 29th of June. Our reservation was for a non-smoking room and they gave us a smoking at first. After we called and ask for a non-smoking we where upgraded to executive suite on the top floor of the hotel. The hotel pool was fun after our drive and there is a bar and restraint on site.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeandjennbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnold, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I have been there twice in the past 6 months and have had nothing but good experiences! Clean rooms and great staff! I would also like to personally thank the bartender in sky bar. She has been the most pleasant of all the people I've met in Wichita and will make certain to stop in for a drink or a nights stay anytime I pass through because of her alone.....THANK YOU MARSHA!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Stayed three days. Nice room, very clean and comfortable. Great bed, lots of towels, fridge, microwave, plasma tv, all the amenities you could ask for. Security is top notch and its nice and quiet. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mewsettecat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm473, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Mewsettecat1,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback! We try our best to make sure all of our guest have the best stay possible. I will be sure to share this feedback with my wonderful staff, We look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

Mike Marler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wylie, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

My wife and I stay at the WICHITA DWTN-CONVENTION CENTER Holiday Inn for the second time last month. Our most recent stay (as was our first) was overnight while traveling on vacation. We stay in the two room suite both times. We stayed the second time because of the positive experience the first. Both time we found the desk staff and the lounge/restaurant staff both accommodating and friendly. The took note of our Platinum Priority Club status. I very much like the keyed entrance from the parking lot directly to the elevators. It is quite convenient. I believe this is one of the best hotels to provide good value for you money. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edmac48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm473, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
edmac48,

Thank you so much for sharing your positive feedback on TripAdvisor. We strive to provide the best positive experiences for our guests. I will share your feedback with my staff. Thank you for being a Platinum Member.

Mike Marler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wichita hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wichita Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hotel At WaterWalk
Hotel At WaterWalk
#10 of 87 in Wichita
480 reviews
0.7 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Broadview Wichita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel at Old Town
Hotel at Old Town
#3 of 87 in Wichita
574 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Wichita
Hyatt Regency Wichita
#5 of 87 in Wichita
654 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Wichita, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown

Property: Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown
Address: 221 E Kellogg St, Wichita, KS 67202-3917 (Formerly Holiday Inn Wichita Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Wichita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY RENOVATED!! Welcome to the Wyndham Garden Wichita hotel, a full-service, non-smoking hotel, located in downtown Wichita. NOW UNDER NEW OWNERSHIP! UPGRADED WI-FI SERVICE. FASTEST HOTEL WIFI IN WICHITA. ABLE TO CONNECT OVER 7000 DEVICES SIMULTANEOUSLY WITHOUT DISCONNECTION. Please check back often as new amenities are constantly being upgraded. Fitness Room now has Versa Climber, Precor treadmill, Precor Elliptical, and a Precor bike for your cardio needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Wichita Downtown Hotel Wichita
Wichita Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing