We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Mill Tasty Shop

Old Mill Tasty Shop
Ranked #13 of 1,033 Restaurants in Wichita
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Our family decided to stop here based on reviews for a late lunch. The chicken salad was great, as well the tomato bisque and green chili. The best though was the apple bread pudding with homemade caramel sauce. Other members of the party really like the baked beans. We were able to park within a block away, and really enjoyed this old-fashioned soda shop.

Helpful?
Thank brr9270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    49
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perryton, Texas
Level Contributor
144 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fun place and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

This place is just like an old soda shop. They still have original soda fountains and the coolest thing was the old ice box that still worked. The sandwiches and salads are really good and the green chili is awesome! The milkshakes are really thick and rich, so they will definitely satisfy your sweet tooth. This is a fun place and definitely worth the stop.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
303 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Who would'a thought?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

When I read that the #1 rated restaurant in Wichita was an old fashioned soda fountain, I was skeptical to say the least. But we stopped in for lunch on a Tuesday and now I know why the place has the reputation it does. It's been around for 81 years with a philosophy of serving good food with a good attitude at reasonable prices. A lot of places make the claim. This place delivers. It's a throwback to the '50's style diner/luncheonette. The food is solid fare. Nothing cute or fancy but good. Service was friendly. The staff made us feel like we were new to town and wooing us to become regulars. A woman we thought was the owner (she was not) heard us inquiring about different menu items and without asking brought out a small sampling of 6 different items. You don't find that in many places.
I had the green chili soup, quite good and the barbecue brisket on kaiser bun also tender and tasty. My wife had the Kansas City steak soup which had so much meat and veggies it would pass as a stew in most places.
The portions are very generous, prices incredibly reasonable. That lunch for two with a 2 scoop ice cream dessert was just a bit over $20. Great friendly atmosphere and from the sounds of it lots of locals stop in. They close at 3 most days but tell me they stay open until 8 on Friday and Saturday.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Frenchguy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Blast from the past”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

I went to the Tasty Shop with my mom who happened to grow up in Kansas in the 50's. She said it was exactly like what she would have seen in the 50's. Sandwiches were good and the soda (black and white) was great!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wichita,ks
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Worth a trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Go on Thursday for the Chicken Fried Chicken with mashed potatoes and green beans. Yum!
Their chicken salad club is also good. Old fashioned soda fountain is great as well if you have an appetite. Save room for carrot cake if possible.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank patrickh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Mill Tasty Shop also viewed

 

Been to Old Mill Tasty Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing