We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place!”
Review of El Mexico Cafe

El Mexico Cafe
Ranked #53 of 1,056 Restaurants in Wichita
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: El Mexico Cafe did not invent great Mexican food, we just perfected it! Come in for one of the best authentic Mexican cafes in all of Wichita!
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
“We love this place!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Fast and friendly service every time we go. We never even have to wait to be seated. They have the BEST guacamole and chips!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank imlate72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    20
    14
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, KS
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always good.”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Their Taco Salad, Special Monterey, Tacos, and the chips are the best in town. That giant burrito is very good as well but I can't get my wife to forgo one of the previously mentioned and split one with me.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twgloege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratt
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Must have been an off day”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

A friend and I decided to try El Mexico, I was not impressed. I had the beef taco, tostado, cheese enchilada plate. I couldn't finish it. I swear that the meat they used in the taco had a green tint to it and maybe it was how it was prepared but I couldn't eat it (maybe it was the lighting). I ate half of the tostado. I like real cheddar cheese and it seemed to me they use a creamy textured cheese, which I am not a fan. Oh well, others like it and that is what counts.

Helpful?
3 Thank Brittll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best hot salsa I had”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

This has to be the best I experienced. I asked for hot salsa and it did not disappoint me. It was green hit salsa probably the best salsa I had.

Gentlemen who was our server was very kind and fast. Didn't have to ask for refills on drinks. Or chips. He already knew we were out of them.

Helpful?
Thank Diggkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OVER THE TOP”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

El Mexico Cafe is quite a distance from our home, but whenever we are in that area, we make a point to stop for a meal there. The staff is extremely pleasant, the service SUPER fast, and the food OVER THE TOP yummy! :) What more could you possibly ask for?

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Mexico Cafe also viewed

 

Been to El Mexico Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing