We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Birthday weekend getaway surprise.”
Review of Hotel at Old Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel at Old Town
Ranked #3 of 87 Hotels in Wichita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2013

For my birthday last year, my boyfriend had a surprice for me that was Hotel at Old Town, Wichita. He's from Wichita and I had just recently moved back to Oklahoma from Arizona. It was a pleasant surprice for our stay with the hotel. Hotel at Old Town is a beatiful historic building. It's right in the middle of downtown Wichita. Close to all the night life and activities. Inside the hotel is a beatiful historic looking atrium. Our room was nice facing the north side. It's within walking distance to all you need for a night out on the down. With restaurants and movies close by. I highly recommend this hotel for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace-NotsoGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

A very historical place in a city which needs to keep all the history it has. This hotel met and exceeded my main requirements in a hotel...free non valet parking, good and numerous pillows, firm bed and good food at the breakfast bar. By the way, the staff was friendly even when I spilled popcorn in the room; the surroundings in the room and public areas were pleasant. Close to most tourist sites in Wichita.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpringfieldBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Friendly staff, could walk to many places, great room. Enjoyed the bar area in the afternoon with live jazz. A lot of places in and around lobby to meet friends and sit and chat. Free breakfast in the morning which was adequate. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. We were pleasantly surprised. The location is really good if you like to walk short distances to bars, restaurants, boutiques, museums, movie theaters, live music and farmer's markets.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RondaKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Beautiful hotel with exceptional staff members. Everyone was wonderful and extremely accommodating. We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Wichita. Great location and wonderful music in the evenings.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shari_solomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed here in September of 2013. First of all, this is a beautiful hotel! The staff was super nice and so helpful. They happily answered all of our questions. There is a little bar in the lobby where a piano player and a guitar player entertained us at about 5:00 p.m. I don't know how long they played because we left and went across the street to the Mosley Street Melodrama for dinner and a show. (If you've never been there, do yourself a favor and go!) I ordered a drink at the bar and the girl working, though she was incredibly nice, didn't know how to make it. But she told me right up front, and I said "Go ahead and try." She got out her book, looked it up and made it. Although it wasn't very good, it had a lot of alcohol in it, so no need to order another drink! ;-) There is a nice little seating area (almost like a courtyard) off the lobby with a water fountain. Very nice ambience! This is also where you eat breakfast (more on that later)
.The rooms have an effeciency kitchen with a refrigerator and a microwave. The fridge even had a working ice maker, so no need to go down the hall to find an ice machine! The bathroom was large and spacious. There were plenty of towels and hot water. The bed was super comfy. There was a little table to sit at if you wished, as well as a lounge chair by the bed. We had an "inside" room and it looked down onto the sitting area. The room was nice and quiet.
We paid the extra $10 for the breakfast, but wished that we had just gone somewhere else. The food was mediocre at best, and not very hot. This would be my only complaint about the whole stay.
After the show at the Melodrama, we walked around Old Town for about an hour. We saw at least 5 different live bands playing at different places. I was surprised to see about a week later that people were afraid to go to Old Town because of a shooting there in the past. We walked all over from about 10-11 pm and never once felt threatened, or unsafe. Nor did we see anything remotely indicating that there may be any kind of trouble. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: If you're looking for a quiet night's rest, ask for an inside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed for two nights at the Hotel at Old Town for a conference. I loved all the Keen Kutter posters and early 20th century photographs of Wichita decorating the walls. The room was beatiful, the bed comfortable and the sheets ultra smooth. A table to sit at and work, a full size refridgerator for when you are a long term guest, microwave and coffee maker. What more could you ask for? The seat in the shower is nice for when you need it.

The breakfast buffet was a real treat also. I really enjoyed the thick pieces of ham that were there with the bacon and sausage. The staff was very helpful. I agree with the other 5 star reviews. Lots of restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrTympani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wichita hotels
0.8 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Broadview Wichita
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Wichita
Hyatt Regency Wichita
#6 of 87 in Wichita
705 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel At WaterWalk
Hotel At WaterWalk
#13 of 87 in Wichita
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Wichita, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wichita Downtown
6.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel at Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel at Old Town

Address: 830 E 1st St N, Wichita, KS 67202-2737
Region: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wichita
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wichita
#8 Business Hotel in Wichita
Price Range: £84 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel at Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Old Town. All rooms have plush bedding, fully equipped kitchens, free wired and wireless internet, voice mail, oversized desk, and TV. Amenities include a business center, Cupboard, free parking garage, and fitness center. The Old Town location provides over 40 restaurants, shops and museums, all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel at Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Old Town Wichita
Hotel Motel Wichita Kansas Old Town
At Old Town Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing