We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Java Resort(Yogyakarta)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Popi(Sleman)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Artotel Yogyakarta(Yogyakarta)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,781)
Filter reviews
1,781 results
Traveller rating
980
581
165
39
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
980
581
165
39
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjogging trackclub roomhole golf courseswimming poolresort hotelbeautiful landscapehorse cartkemangi bistrofree shuttletour deskborobudur templekids clubrelaxing staygreat poolfive star hotelfishing pondramayana ballet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,248 - 1,253 of 1,781 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed here three nights and left feeling very sad. This is absolutely a five star hotel. We were quite surprised bing told that the hotel was 100 meters away, while cruising on a rather busy road, but we found paradise around the corner.

After a nice welcome in the great lobby, we were brought to our rooms. Nice, but rather small. But this hotel is not about the rooms, but all about the garden. Hyatt designed a magnificent pool, full with cosy corners, bridges and slides. Absolute highlight is the 70 meter long temple waterslide that kept our children busy for hours. Also great was the fact that the children were encouraged to fish in the pond (Hyatt provides gear). We felt sorry for ourselves that we don't play golf, as the golf course looked wonderful, with the lush green fields under the dramatic Merapi vulcano.

The restaurant was great; the Java evening with traditional dances is highly recommended. We think Hyatt is one of the few hotels in Indonesia with a nice bar with a quite large selection of drinks.

We would rate the hotel **** for the (tiny) rooms, but with the ****** for the wonderful garden, the pool, the bar and the restaurant, it is definately worth *****

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 114Roomwithaview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nurcahyadhi Y, Management Team at Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dear 114Roomwithaview,

Warm greetings from Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta!

We extremely happy to learn your sincere review of the resort. Indeed, that the garden is the magnet for the resort and I do agree with you that these all about the garden. Please be so kind to recommend us to your family and friends if they have a plan to visit
Jogja.

We have a plenty itinerary offered to you to explore Jogja, we shall be waiting for your arrival to our beloved culture city of Jogja.

Thank you and best regards,

The Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I stayed at the Hyatt recency for two nights - 12-12 August 2011. The reservation was expertly and courteously handled. On arrival, I was treated like royalty, complete with a Jasmine garland. The room I syayed is spacious and tsatefully furnished. The surrounds had a serene, tropical, home-away-from-home feel to it. Staff were very courteous and professional. The catering service was flawless and the meals exceeded my expectations in quality and variety. A free shuttle service is available at very convenient periods to and from the city I would certainly return to this lovely hotel when next I'm in Yokja!

Room Tip: The fifth floor is the
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zaria055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nurcahyadhi Y, Management Team at Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dear Zaria055,

Warm greetings from Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta!

We are glad to hear that you will be back again to the resort when you have a plan to visit Jogja. It is always our pleasure to have you left the resort with a memorable feeling. Please do let us know when will you come and visit Jogja as we will prepare an itinerary for you.

Thank you and best regards,

The Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Those reviews that have commented that this hotel is simply an average hotel with very nice and helpful staff, lovely gardens and setting but with small dated rooms and pretty average to poor food are pretty much spot on in our opinion.

Here you pretty much get what you pay for. Over delivered to some extent by a very pleasant and helpful staff who are always ready to help if not always totally competent.

Would have no hesitation recommending this hotel but just realize it will not be a wow experience and the food below average.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wine_Merchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nurcahyadhi Y, Management Team at Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dear Wine_Merchant,

Warm greetings from Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta!

Thank you for giving us your feedback in regards to your recent stay at the resort. We are regret to learn that it becomes less impressive in terms of Food and Beverage experience. Please accept our apology for the inconvenience. This is a constructive feedback that allows us to improve the quality of FB.

Please give us an opportunity to fine-tune and provide you with a better stay experience.

Thank you and best regards,

The Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

I have been a guest at this particular hotel for over 7 years on a regular basis. I frequent this hotel in spite of other International chains for 1/2 or 60% of the price for one reason only => Service. To my great surprise the service continues to improve when I think there is no room for improvement. For the last two years, the service has been way over the top and the grounds are looking prettier and cleaner.

Breakfast
It is very rare that in a 5 star hotel, the chef goes out of his way to change the menu to satisfy the customer on his own. That is a hotel where the Chef comes out and asks you if there is anything that can be cooked to your liking. Chef Chatur in Hyatt Regency does that and then even in his absence on subsequent visits to the restaurant the staff is aware and makes those likings available.

Staff is EXTREMELY pleasant and attentive in this resort. The best compared to any I have stayed at and I have stayed at few the world over. They make effort to know your needs and attend to it promptly and with a smile. Even staff who waited on you previous days takes the time to greet you and asks about your satisfaction or your well being. When the staff learned my favorite food items, they took the initiative to inform me when those items were included next on the buffet. That I call attentiveness. The new GM seems to have established a great communication service between managers. I had an incident where a service was not available as I had not booked it in advance and the resources were busy, being a regular I called the spa and asked if there really wanted to make it unavailable to a guest who had been staying there for 14 days. Within 10 minutes, I got a call back and the service was made available thru courtesy of director in-charge Mr Majid . Next morning at breakfast a food and beverage director Mr. Renzo, totally unrelated to the service begged forgiveness for the inconvenience of the service being not available. Keeping in mind, that it was I who was late in booking the service and demanding satisfaction, I felt that such courtesy and individual attention was way over the TOP. This is a GREAT TEAM! This is what hospitality is all about!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the golf course if you want quiet, ask for pool facing if you want liveliness
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bombaybabu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nurcahyadhi Y, Management Team at Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dear Bombaybabu1,

Warm greetings from Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta!

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about the resort. We are so happy to learn that you had a great time during stay at the resort. Thank you for the special note about the caring and attentiveness from staffs. It is a good sign that we are in the right direction in delivering the service to the guest.

Please be so kind to recommend us to your family and friends whenever they have a plan to visit Jogja. We will be more than happy to welcome them and offer them an itinerary to explore Jogja.

Thank you and look forward to welcoming you back at real soon!

Best regards,

The Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Opened in 1997, but hasn't dated. 

Pros:
Flower garland (and drink) on arrival!
Friendly English-speaking Reception staff. All staff friendly, smiley and very helpful. 
Free 'Malioboro Shuttle' bus to/from Malioboro Street (9am onwards from hotel) in Yogyakarta for handicrafts and Batik and the city centre.  See Reception for travel times. 
Spacious room with ensuite bath-shower, hairdryer, fridge, multi-channel TV (incl BBC World, CNN, ESPN, Eurosport, Star Sports, HBO, MTV Asia, Discovery Channel), tea/coffee making facilities, electronic safe, writing desk (containing pen, paper, envelopes and pocket-sized Yogyakarta city map/hotel map).
Extensive well-maintained gardens with variety of trees, plants & shrubs and exotic fish surrounding the hotel, immaculate 9 hole golf course designed by Fisette Golf Design, putting green area, pitching green area, and driving range. 
2 tennis courts (painted hardcourt). 
Huge split-level pool areas containing two water slides (one 70m long - sensor starts water flow, one small), stepped waterfalls, footbridges, stepping stones, toilets, sun loungers/parasols. NB. Use after 6pm at your own risk.
Children's area ('Club Hyatt') with adjacent children's pool, table tennis table, and programme of activities. 
Security checks at gate and hotel entrance. 
Batik shop. 
Beauty salon. 
Wide range of hot and cold local and Western food buffet choices at breakfast, with option of sitting inside or outside by lower swimming pool. 
US$97 per night which includes breakfast. Excellent value. 

Cons:
The live outdoor music which is performed every night from 10pm to 1am drifts over from 'Bogey's Teras' (hotel golf clubhouse). Myself and a friend moved rooms to the opposite side of the hotel, so lost an hours sleep. The irony is we'd moved hotels due to excessive (road) noise. We received a card of apology and a bunch of flowers (white roses). The music noise can also be heard at outside dining area by pool. 

Internet US$16 per 24hrs via RJ45 cable and/or WiFi - expensive in my opinion. 

No gym, although there is an outside paved footpath/running track that snakes around part of the hotel. They offer a free transfer to a local gym. 

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonotennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nurcahyadhi Y, Management Team at Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear jonotennis,

Warm greetings from Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta!

We are so thrilled that you gave us a comprehensive review of the overall stay. We also happy to learn that you spent a good holiday at the resort. We do apologize for the hiccups during stay especially about the noise from Bogeys Teras. We do hope that it will not bother the whole stay with us.

In the meantime, we do hope that you will still consider us to be your home away from home whenever your travels bring you back to Jogja. Please do let us know, as we will be happy to arrange an itinerary for you.

Thank you and best regards,

The Hyatt Regency Yoyakarta Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews