We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chef Catur is outdoing himself”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ngaglik
Certificate of Excellence
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Chef Catur is outdoing himself”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I have been a frequent guest of this hotel over last 10 years. I am amazed of the changing menu and different recipes that have been tried and served over the years. But this year in particular, the resident chef Catur is outdoing himself by introducing a lot of Asian flair from Indian and Arabian cuisine.

In addition, for the New Year Celebration, The Mexican Chicken Fajitas and Vegetarian Nachos were outstanding.

Keep up the good work Catur and I'll keep coming.

Must try to like it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bombaybabu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    781
    477
    149
    33
    12
See reviews for
487
354
82
272
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We spent five days at the Hyatt in Yogya.

Our stay was ok. We were greeted upon arrival and checked into our room without the check in process standing out in any particular way.

Our room was quite spacious and again, just ok. Our issue with the room was that it was very dusty. My husband is sensitive to dust and started sneezing shortly after we entered the room. The big, thick curtains in particular look like they could use a clean or perhaps be exchanged for a new pair.

The staff were very kind and attentive and made us feel very welcome. At the restaurant they even addressed us by names a few times which was impressive.

We had several meals in the restaurant and enjoyed the food which was tasty and price worthy.

During our stay, we used the pool only once. Although I can understand the cleaning of the pool might not be as frequent when there are fewer guests using it, I was still a bit appalled by how dirty the water was.

Overall, we had an ok stay without the hotel standing out in any category.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelaRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANDUNG
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I stayed there with my family. Consist of me , my little bro , my father , abd my mum. At first I fell in love with the design of the hotel , I thought our stay would be great. But , disaster began when we were checking in . SOME of the recepcionist staff weren't firndly to the local guests (include us). We were not given welcome drinks and welcome towel, while the foreigners guest were given that things. The coordination between the housekeepers and the recepcionist also not very good. We requested an extra bed when we checked in , but they said tgat they ran iut of extrabed . So , on the 2nd day we checked again our extra bed request . They said that they still dont uave any extra ved but they have some matress , so we requeat the matress ro be delivered to our room. At that time a receptionist staff said that the housekeeping is going to deliver the matress to our room. We waited for several hours , but the delivery havent come out yet , so we check our matress request to the housekeepers. At the time we checked it they said they ran out of matress. So on 2 nights of our
stay here , we ( all of us )sleept on a bed , which is not comfortable of course. Despite of the bad service on the recepsionist, the service at yhe restaurant and the healthclub are much better. The staffs there are friendlier. The food at the restaurant is also good. The breakfast is also in a high standard.


  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilthetravellerking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timbuktu, Mali
Level Contributor
70 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The grounds of this hotel set it apart from the rest in Yogyakarta. In the middle of a typical noisy Indonesian city, the Hyatt is spread out along a lush golf course so it's a very pleasant place to relax and unwind. The pools are huge and come complete with waterfall and a Borobudur-style waterslide. There's a separate building with the spa/sauna and an outdoor bar/restaurant overlooking the putting green which seems to have live music and DJs on various nights.

It is a bit far out of the city centre - 10-15mins by taxi depending on traffic. Although for me there wasn't much to see in the town after the shopping street and the palace, so if you're in JOG for relaxation or to see temples, the location is no problem.

The hotel is quite large, and the rooms are typical grand-but-dated Regency. My club room was quite large and had great views across the gardens. Turn-down service came with a fresh leaf with "Sweet Dreams" written on it on the pillow which I thought was a nice touch. The service is outstanding - all of the staff were very friendly and helpful and really made this a great stay. The club lounge was worth it, with the usual variety of cocktails and wines for 2 hours each evening and coffee and biscuits all day. Breakfast buffet is one of the best I've had in Asia with a huge variety of local and western choices, and a pleasant outdoor dining area overlooking the pool. The restaurant and bars had decent lunch and dinner menus at very good prices for a Hyatt.

The hotel also organizes tours and taxis, but if you're hiring a car and driver to see the temples, I'd recommend booking one from a travel agent in town, or agreeing a price with one of the airport taxi drivers who are much more reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Up1ntheair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel more than 3x and its always on a business trip (still with leisure). Location is quite far from Adi Sucipto airport and from the city. This hotel located in Jalan Palagan Tentara Pelajar and I think the reason behind this is for the comfort and land size that they provide for the golf course surrounding the hotel area.

Breakfast was Hyatt standard with broad food variety, from: local traditional food such as gudeg, fresh salad, fresh fruits, yoghurt, cereals, fresh milk, and also asian range. For ala carte I've tried their lamb shanks and I believe this is not the best but its still good.

Receptionist were good. Once, they've helped me, when hotel was fully booked and I needed to stay for 1 additional night they helped me search for available room. They were very helpful, they send me a very warm note through my door confirming that they can let me stay for another night with no problem. Hotel provide rental car, if you need a taxi there will be plenty. For food if you are adventurous there's a street satay in front of the hotel and on the right side of the hotel there's a local Pecel restaurant (local Indonesian salad with peanut sauce served with Indonesian spices). The restaurant is unique and its only 4 minutes away by walking. Interior is unique. . .

Cheeers. . .

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank botulinum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
102 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Decided to spend some family time together in JOG. This hotel is tuck in a huge lovely garden and big pool. The pool has a small slide and a large one for all family members. The food was great but to salty, so I recommend you get tell the staff to reduce the salt. They have a complimentary horse cart ride around the near by villages. Join the Ramayana nights where they serve great Javanese food and entertainment. Will come back again in Jan 2014.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Poh Chang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
194 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Hyatt Regency Hotel is one of the very few 5 star hotel in Yogyakarta. The entry was breath taking, the public area are well appointed. We reserved two rooms with two single beds each for the four of us. The room rate included tax and tip and breakfast for two and WiFi was beyond being reasonable at around $100 per night.
The breakfast was good and had a good variety to choose from. the services were very good everywhere we went.
the rooms were very nice, comfortable and clean. The bath rooms are showing their age and con be a candidate for upgrading. At this price, we had no complains.

Room Tip: There is a limit on the free WiFi. Make sure you know the limit and not go over the allowed capacity...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelat70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngaglik
2.9 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
3.5 mi away
Royal Ambarrukmo Yogyakarta
5.8 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 200 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 200 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa
3.7 mi away
Eastparc Hotel
Eastparc Hotel
#1 of 20 in Depok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta

Property: Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
Address: Jl Palagan Tentara Pelajar, Ngaglik, Yogyakarta 55581, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta > Ngaglik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ngaglik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta sets in the middle of beautifully landscaped gardens, a beautiful nine-hole golf course, a relaxing spa and excellent dining facilities. The 269-room, seven storeys Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta is built on the concept of "Legacy of a Misty Tropical Ruin Village", an ancient ruin and supporting village, sitting in the midst of a tropical jungle. The hotel offers a variety of activities for your family; a scenic round of golf, fishing at the resort's pond, putting game, futsal, pillow fight, water polo, bike tour, Andong (traditional horse cart ride). For the active, there are two flood-lit tennis courts; a multi-level saltwater swimming pool complete with it's a 70 meter water slide; waterfalls; whirlpool and a children's pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta Hotel Yogyakarta
Hyatt Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing