We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Javanese glory, gamelan & golf”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ngaglik
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Javanese glory, gamelan & golf”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

It was a fantastic weekend in Hyatt Jogja, very gracious Javanese ambiance. Great design of building likes borobudur temple, surrounded by 9holes golf course for fun. High tea time in 'pendopo' is magnificent when gamelan (Javanese music) played live!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jaka s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    817
    512
    153
    33
    14
See reviews for
516
375
87
279
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We came to the Hyatt from MesaStila which was always going to be tough to live up to, but what a huge disappointment this hotel was. We've stayed at plenty of Hyatt's (the most recent in Santiago) and expected so much more. The grounds were actually lovely, as was the welcome (garlands) and reception areas, but the rooms are absolutely dreadful. Small, tired, drab - in all honesty I couldn't spend any longer than 30 minutes in my room without getting depressed. The restaurant was buffet style, the breakfast very ordinary and a la carte for dinner very poor. The upside was the staff who were lovely and accommodating. I'll think twice before booking a Hyatt again, and I urge the hotel to think about bringing the rooms up to the standards that global travellers expect.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are absolutely tiny. Upgrade if you have the budget - not that we were given the op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NathalieBAltrincham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is my second stay here. This place is GORGEOUS! I have stayed in first class hotels from northern New England to California and in many countries of the Middle East and in Asia and S.E. Asia. This tops them all.It is at the edge of the city. However, the minute you go through their entrance, the city disappears and you are in an amazingly exotic place without flying to Bali or Lombok. The second you step out of your transportation, you are greeted by lovely young ladies putting a lei of jasmine flowers around your neck and handsome young gentlemen helping you out and taking your luggage. Then a gong is sounded and you are accompamied with gamelan music towards the building entrance that passes water gardens and a view of some of the grounds that are breathingly Indonesian; unique and fully Boroboudor themed.The staff is beyond belief, catering to your every need. They truly make one feel like a super VIP! And that goes from the busboys right up to the top, the GM. His changes to the grounds and the attitude and job execution of the staff have made this the "go to" place to stay in Yogykarta or Jogja as the Indonesians call it. The Indonesian influence is present in the colorful traditional uniforms of the staff, the furniture, architecture and the general surroundings. The pool area and the pools themselves have to be seen to understand. There is a 1 meter pool, a 1.25. meter pool, a 1.5 meter pool and a more shallow pool all semi-connected and surrounded with comfortable lounges. You can swim between pools and the deeper pool has a waterfall that can be swum under and bridges that go over areas of the pool. There are two water slides: one goes into the deeper pool and the other is a replica of the Borobourdor Temple. There is also a roped off area for water basketball. The elevators are uniques and glassed so as to see sculptures with water flowing from their mouths into pools of water. The best rooms are views of the "garden." There is a lounge type area near the front desk with music there on the weekend. The main dining room is elegantly simple with a staff that greets you, seats you, puts a napkin on your lap, and will tend to your every whime.I have gotten to know most of the staff now and they are just great. If you get a waitress named Citra, you are most fortunate. People can eat indoors or at a beautiful adjacent outdoor dining area gacing the pool with a shallow pool next to it and water flowing down two sets of steps. On every Saturday night ther is what is called Indonesia night where the kitchen chefs prepare cuisine indigenous to different parts of Indonesia. For example, Gado-Gado, Sate Madura, Pempek, fried rice Jawa Timur, etc. They set up like street warungs around the outdoor dining area. This is followed by a traditional Javanese musical play with traditional Gamelan ensemble accompaniment. There are paths around the whole complex, a soccer area designed for solo play or multiple players intertwine with exquisite landscaping and foliage. One can have an outdoor massage in an exotic setting with flowing mesh curtains. Surrounded by an executive 9 hole golf course is BOGEYS LOUNGE and GRILL that features drinks and food from a menu as well as other choices plus it features a show band for listening and dancing every night except Sunday. There are also pool tables there as well. The golf course is fun with many challenging holes. If you are clubless, one can rent clubs, shoes, and balls, if need be. An all girl caddy staff are remarkably. I have a 4 hcp and they are right on with distances and putting lines. The distances are in meters so you American golfers should add about 20 to your club yardage to be accurate.We stayed 11 days this time and loved every minute. One final note about the staff. Some foreign hotels the staff is pleasant to your face but harbors different thoughts behind your back. These people, led by example of their GM, the Asst. Manager, the 2nd Assistant manager, and the Executive Secretary of the GM, are real, the same, and genuine. They go beyond their job, as I said earlier, to make you feel more than a VIP. And sometimes, they even make you feel like they are working for only you. I will do here again and again. They have earned my loyalty and repeat business through their treatment of and attitude towards me and everyone that enters this amazing complex! Everyothetr hotel in and near Yogyakarta pales in comparison. They are buildings with a room and nothing else but concrete. I have stayed at some of the others and their so-called first class establishments. They are not even in the same league. Going to Jogja? Stay at the Hyatt and live!!!

Room Tip: A Garden area view is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I had a fantastic experience as hyatt passport guest for 3 days in this beautiful hotel.
A very resortish hotel about 5-7 kms away from the central town ..malioboro area ...

For starters, their staff are excellent... Right from the bell desk, security to their reception. The staff at the main restaurant are truly friendly and pleasant with impeccable service standards.
The food atthe restaurant is worth a mention
While the gym is really miniscule, the outdoors experience around the golf course, jogging track, their pools are very well designed.

The hotel is dated , but clean and well appointEd.
The sauna, hot pool and cold plunge area could do with better maintenance and house keeping..

To sum it, ideal for a visit to borobodur, prambanan and mount merapi.. And a perfect place to golf if you do golf or just unwind and soak in the javanese culture.

Room Tip: Fooms facing the garden or golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vish L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This was the first time to stay in this hotel.

It is 5 star hotel but now rundown , especially if we compared with other 5 star hotel in Yogyakarta.

The wing building next to my room was emptied. We could see the furniture were uncovered and that wing was dark at night.

Bedroom was not big, but it was still okay. The bathroom door was dusty, as if nobody cleaned it.
The glass door to the shower was also not clear.

Bathroom Amenities was great : tooth brush, soap, shower gel, shampoo, shaving kit, iron+iron board, pijamas, sandal

Hotel is not located in the central , hence if you plan to go to malioboro area, you need to consider the timing.

The garden was huge and nice, there was pathway for jogging or just walking . However, some part of the garden next to the lobby was bold. On the pathway to parking lot, we could see the back of the building, which was not nice as the wall was brownish.

The good thing was hotel has golf course as its facility.

It was easy to find food as surrounding hotel has many restaurants, but there is no ATM in walking distance.

Room service has many menu to be chosen around midnight. I chose sandwich and ice cream. When they came, I was so impressed with the appreance of ice cream : I ordered 1 scoop of ice cream and I expected it will be just a regular ice cream came in a bowl. However, the ice cream was served inside the apple and put in the plate ! Taste of that home made ice cream was great !

Breakfast was okay with a lot of varieties.

Staff was nice and helpful.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The grounds of this hotel are absolutely stunning. Beautiful flowers, pools and a gorgeous manicured golf course are really a sight to behold. Lounging by the pool was lovely in big comfy lounge chairs, although very loud due to the many families staying there. It's hard to get any quiet time because of the kids screaming and going down the water slide. The pool was also extremely cold, so we did not spend much time in it.

The room itself was nice and big, but, as many other reviewers have pointed out, very out-dated and in need of some revamping. Everything was very clean, although we found the room to be insufferably humid despite the temperature being mild outside, and our luggage was actually overweight when we left from all of our clothes being damp. We really would have liked to have had a balcony.

I felt the same way about the hot tub/ sauna/ cold plunge that are free for guests to use. While nice in theory, the facilities themselves did not feel very clean or new. The grout between the tiles was kind of grimy and the hot tub was so unbearably hot that I couldn't even get all the way in. Some more attention to detail is needed to make this place the 5-star experience that it has the potential to be.

We sadly also had several issues with the restaurant. While the staff was very polite and thoughtful, we had to wait a very long time to receive our food. One night, one of us received our food while the other waited another 40 minutes. When the second meal finally arrived, it was full of chicken despite being a supposedly vegetarian dish. Another 30-minute wait ensued. Also, it was only after asking that a non-vegetarian dish be modified to not have meat that the waiter revealed there was an entire separate vegetarian menu available. That would have been nice to know the first or second time that we ate at the restaurant. These complaints aside, we did eat some good food here. The gado gado was a hit for me, and my friend said the snapper was one of the best meals she ate during her entire month in Asia. We also loved the fresh juices, smoothies and pina coladas. It's nice that you can order these from the restaurant and have them delivered to you by the pool. Just don't get your heart set on a particular dish - we desperately wanted to try the spring rolls, but they were never available the entire time we were there.

There are some special touches that show the staff here really care. We were greeted with a delicious welcome drink and beautifully fragrant jasmine necklaces. We also loved that the staff insisted we sit while we checked in and brought all the paperwork to us; after the flight there, it felt nice to be so pampered. The staff was also very helpful in arranging cabs for us, as well as little take-out breakfasts for our sunrise trip to Borobudur. Finally, we loved the free tour of a local village that you could take by horse and buggy. The guide did not speak English and there wasn't all that much to see, but it was still a neat little treat to ride around in the buggy and get to see some of the area surrounding the hotel.

For what it's worth, we were here during Ramadan and were not disturbed at all. The hotel laid out little snacks for those breaking the fast, but they invited us to have some despite us not fasting. We heard the morning call to prayer but actually found it beautiful and not disruptive of our sleep at all.

I guess our review may be a little harsh because we stayed in some gorgeous places while we were in Bali. I should say that despite all of my minor complaints above, we never felt annoyed or put-off during our stay. The staff was lovely and accommodating, and the gorgeous surroundings make it hard to get hung up on any of these little details. This is a perfectly adequate place to stay in Yogya.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I have been a guest at this hotel for 700+ nights so obviously I have written a lot about the great service, ambiance, gardens and Golf
course. But, today I want to write about food.

Every Saturday, the hotel puts out a traditional buffet as "Night Market" around a Ramayana Ballet. It consists of several good carts that serve traditional dishes from Central Java.


I have always enjoyed that good but lately the taste and quality has been raised to a much higher level. When at market I am sure you will Nasi goreng, staple if Indonesia or Gado Gado salad. However, I want it highly recommend "Mie Godug" which stands for "Noodles Boiled". Heavenly dish consisting shrimp, chicken, vegetables, some spice and touch of lime juice (Pak Vikas recipe). The cart chef, little Chatur will make you the best tasting dish you will have eaten.

I had an Indonesian guest yesterday for dinner who commented; "I have been eating Mie Godug for last 35 years but never have tasted one this good".

What can I say more?

And to reiterate, service led by F&B director Renzo and his supervisors and servers Rindi and Diah as usual - Outstanding.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bombaybabu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngaglik
2.9 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
2.3 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 204 in Yogyakarta
952 reviews
5.8 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 204 in Yogyakarta
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#8 of 204 in Yogyakarta
1,058 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa
3.5 mi away
Royal Ambarrukmo Yogyakarta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta

Property: Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
Address: Jl Palagan Tentara Pelajar, Ngaglik, Yogyakarta 55581, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta > Ngaglik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ngaglik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta sets in the middle of beautifully landscaped gardens, a beautiful nine-hole golf course, a relaxing spa and excellent dining facilities. The 269-room, seven storeys Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta is built on the concept of "Legacy of a Misty Tropical Ruin Village", an ancient ruin and supporting village, sitting in the midst of a tropical jungle. The hotel offers a variety of activities for your family; a scenic round of golf, fishing at the resort's pond, putting game, futsal, pillow fight, water polo, bike tour, Andong (traditional horse cart ride). For the active, there are two flood-lit tennis courts; a multi-level saltwater swimming pool complete with it's a 70 meter water slide; waterfalls; whirlpool and a children's pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta Hotel Yogyakarta
Hyatt Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing