We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A romantic stay in Jogja” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rumah Mertua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rumah Mertua
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ngaglik
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A romantic stay in Jogja”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2009

Rumah Mertua is a very beautiful boutique hotel, but very cheap. The rooms are very spacious, including the bathroom, and lovely furnished. At our arrival we were welcomed with a cup of tea and snacks. The rooms are located around a lovely garden with swimming pool, which makes the ambiance very romantic. Staff are very kind and helpful, but the tours they organise are a bit expensive, you can save money if you can bargain with taxi drivers. Unfortunately it is not close to the city centre, which forces you to take a taxi if you don’t have your own car. Breakfast is good, and you can also have lunch or dinner there: the food is sophisticated and therefore expensive! Quiet depends on the other guests. We had children screaming in front of our room early in the morning…

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraEtty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    143
    29
    8
    3
See reviews for
120
187
28
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2009

I have just one word for this hotel ; FANTASTIC
Everything was good in this hotel. The staff very friendly and helpfull. The food was excelent. Nice and very clean rooms. A nice terras with a daybed, so you can dream all day round. A nice small hotel with 11 rooms. You should reserve far in advance. I have noticed that they are almost always fully booked. Try it out!! This was the first time but not the last time that I come to this great hotel

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmsterdamDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2008

Rumah Mertua (www.rumahmertua.com) just a small boutique hotel with only 11 rooms and an excellent kitchen. We had 2 deluxe rooms, worth every rupiah. They are situated very close to the pool with a nice terrace with day bed. The bathroom is simple but large and clean. Only soap is provided but that's just OK for the price you pay (IDR 350.000 a night). The staff is so nice, they make you feel at home. We had diner 3 nights just because the Indonesian food, the setting and the staff were so good!(for prices check their website, they are extremely low). Minibar prices: small beer 20.000, softdrink 10.000, Diet coke 15.000). A good laundry service was also available (T-shirt 6.000, shirt 7.000, trousers 9.000) as well a fast internet connection at the reception area.
They arranged a day trip with a stunning sunraise at the Borobudur, a visit to Prambanan and the Kraton. They even offered us a breakfast (with scrambled eggs) at 02.30 AM!

  • Liked — Everything, the setting, the staff, the food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank truus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2008

When I was planning my trip for Jogja, i deliberately looked for a place that was small and personal; none of those standard and oh-so-boring big and chain hotels. and my friend instantly screamed out...RUMAH MERTUA!!! (he lives in jogja) and i was very impressed by its website that i made it my daily ritual until i finally went to jogja to open the website and try to imagine the romantic setting that me and my boyfriend are looking for. although i must say tht when i went there it wasn't as beautiful as the website (gotta give it to the photographer) it was nevertheless a really cute boutique hotel. the service is really good and personal. but they really need to do something with the pool though..when i was there the last time, the water wasn't that clear (they might have just put in the chemicals for cleaning the water; but still, what a wrong timing considering that it was in the afternoon where the traffic for swimmers is most jammed)

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
2 Thank aku_cinta_indonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandung
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2008

I spent four nights at Rumah Mertua last week. It’s a small boutique hotel with only 11 rooms, located in the north area of Yogyakarta. Lisa (my colleague) recommends me this hotel because she enjoyed her stay there last year.
We reserved two standard rooms for around $26/room/night. It’s slightly above backpacker lodge’s which is $10-15 in average, but it’s OK. It has air con, hot/cold water, TV (small one), and save deposit box. I was a little bit disappointed when I found no refrigerator / mini bar at my room. Ah, the bathroom! We don’t have bathtub there, just a shower with hot/cold tap. The swimming pool is small, but we still have some space for sunbathing around it.
Now the restaurant… Breakfast choices are American toast, fried rice / noodle / rice noodle, and boiled noodle / rice noodle accompanied by tea / coffee. Sounds standard, but they packed it nicely when we need to went early morning to Borobudur. We took a dinner there once and found that their Rijstafel was great! They served 10 different dishes, and all of them is delicious. As far as I remember, there was Chicken Satay, Lamb Satay, Gado-gado (salad), fried Tempe & Tahu (Tofu), fried noodle, grilled chicken, beef rendang, etc. It's so delicious and only costs $6/person.
We’re also happy that they offer car rental service, so we didn’t have to rely on the taxi. We rent a 7 seater Suzuki APV for USD56 per 10 hour, additional usage will be charged $8/hour.
My friends stayed next room was a little bit disappointed with limited amenities because the hotel only provides towels and soap, no shampoo, no toothbrush, nor toothpaste. I have no problem because I always bring my own toiletries.
In my opinion, it’s a right decision to stay in this hotel. Next time I’ll reserve deluxe / superior room to get the minibar, haha…

  • Liked — The Restaurant
  • Disliked — The Shower
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank yniav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngaglik
5.8 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
3.9 mi away
Eastparc Hotel
Eastparc Hotel
#1 of 20 in Depok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Alamanda Villa
Alamanda Villa
#1 of 18 in Sleman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
5.5 mi away
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
#9 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tjokro Style Yogyakarta
Tjokro Style Yogyakarta
#24 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumah Mertua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumah Mertua

Property: Rumah Mertua
Address: Jl. Palagan Tentara Pelajar | Gang Padma 5, Ngaglik, Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta > Ngaglik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ngaglik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rumah Mertua 1.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Rumah Mertua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumah Mertua Yogyakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing