We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing is too much trouble for the wonderful staff in this tranquil haven.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rumah Mertua Boutique Hotel & Garden Restaurant & Spa
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ngaglik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2010

The service I received was second to none. My room was cleaned every day, including the bed linen and towels. There were washing facilities on site which was very useful. With one phone call, the staff attended to my every need with courtesy, speed and a smile!

There was a lovely garden and pool and the eating areas were inside and out, whichever you wanted. I had my own terrace with my room and could sit in the morning eating my breakfast overlooking the garden. There is also a small spa where you can receive wonderfully relaxing and good value treatments.

The situation of the hotel was very handy for getting around. It is situated near the centre of Yogyakarta, although in a very peaceful spot. They have their own driver who can take you whereever you want within the city and beyond for a very reasonable price.

My favourite thing was having a relaxing treatment after a busy day. I really could not say that there was anything to fault, except that I cried when I had to leave!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neeske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
There are newer reviews for Rumah Mertua Boutique Hotel & Garden Restaurant & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2010

All I can say for this small boutique hotel is bliss.

I often travel alone. So, my ideal for a solo holiday is hassle-free holiday. Therefore I need some place to stay with a good price, easy access, nice food and friendly service.
Rumah Mertua by far can provide me with all things mentioned above.
Started from a nice response when I made reservation (although a bit hassle when they need a deposit for a booking where I have find a bank to transfer the money to their account) up until I reached the place. :-)

The place is a bit secluded around Monumen Jogja Kembali (Monjali) area. But it is accessible with taxi from the airport or train station. Do make sure your taxi driver knows the area where Rumah Mertua lies (Dusun Sedan -> the village name).

Once you get there, you'll see a regular house-like building. Nothing great about the look from outside, but when you come inside...geee...very homey, very Javanese, perfect (at least for me, LOL).

I reserved the deluxe room (USD 40 - quite expensive for backpackers though). But, it's worth every penny. The room was big, and I mean B.I.G., cozy and we have our own terrace in front of our room looking out to the pool, although covered by bushes :-). Anyhow, it's still pleasant.

The food...breakfast is not a buffet. But whatever your choice, it will satisfy your taste buds. :-) And I heard their rijstaffel is great also with a fair price.

In short....it's one great holiday escape. :-)

Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
1  Thank alexanderdendol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

This is the perfect hotel for relaxing! A small boutique hotel, so it feels like you have a little paradise for your own. You can relax with a little snack at the swimming pool or with a massage at the new spa. The staff is so friendly, they're always smiling and taking care of you. You can always ask them things or just have a little conversation with them (they're English is good!). You can even hire a personal driver when you go cultural.
The comfortable rooms are very clean and spacious.
The restaurant is very cozy, 'cause it's like eating in a dining room at a home.
For breakfast you've got enough options, like pancakes, fresh fruits or toast with eggs! If you want it like the Indonesians, you can also eat nasi in the morning. For afternoon they've got some delicious snacks and for dinner the best meals! Traditional Indonesian food or french fries with chicken, you name it! Favorite: kwetiau goreng seafood.

We've been here now for two times and it's a worth a third one!
Best hotel we've ever been!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerney_de_jong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

A lovely place. Very cozy, very relaxing, away from the hustle-bustle. Price is very reasonable as well. Food was pretty good with interesting selections. It was slightly away from the city but we had a local tour guide from the very beginning with a van. So, transport was not a problem. The only problem I had was the water at the showers was slow in draining out. There was a mini flood for a while. Otherwise, wonderful place!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whitefreesia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Our first trip to Indonesia resulted on booking 6 nights at this superb hotel.
Many of our friends had previously stayed there so we sort of knew what to expect.
The staff were lovely and nothing is too much for them. Coffee at 5 in the morning and breakfast as early as you want and all this with very friendly smiles.
Our room was lovely with a seating area directly outside and also a bookcase filled with Dutch and English books to choose from.
The swimming pool was very inviting and all set in perfect surroundings.
On our 5th day we hired a chaffeur to take us to various sites. Pati was lovely and answered all our questions in perfect English.
We loved staying at this simply wonderful hotel and throughly intend to go bavk again.
The owner of this wonderful establishment was also lovely and helped us with reccommending and booking hotels and flights for the rest of our stay in Indonesia.
A perfect place to stay

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank avamart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Spent 3 nights at end Sept. A good, small boutique hotel outside the centre of Jogja. We were a little concerned when, being taken there for the first time we went down some pretty bumpy back streets but were pleased with what we found. Booked a standard room, which was adequate, but would recommend the deluxe which are a further from reception and around the pool. Good breakfasts. We had the banana pancakes which were v tasty. Wi-Fi worked fine. Reception staff were friendly, efficient and helpful.

We ate 2 evening meals there which were also good – better than the meals we ate elsewhere. We hired a car & driver twice. Ours was Yano who was a real nice young guy and a good driver. The hotel charges either by the hour or the (10 hour) day. It probably works out a bit more than haggling for a taxi, but it was convenient and imo reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bibbleabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

We stayed here on the recommendation of a friend who works in Yogya and are glad we took her advice. Everything about the place was very pleasant. We had the most basic room available and it was really good value, spacious, clean and right by the garden/ pool area. The Rumah Mertua seems quite small, and doesn't look much from the front, but it is staffed by friendly attentive people, the restaurant and inclusive breakfast are good, welcome drink a nice touch, and transport services excellent. We did not use the spa services so can't comment on them. The only slight issue people might have is the hotel is quite far from the centre of Yogya. For us that wasn't an issue, we used the hotel taxi to get into town, and it does make your stay quite peaceful to be out of the way - so it kind of depends on what you are happy with location wise.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Han_of_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngaglik
5.8 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 206 in Yogyakarta
612 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
5.4 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#58 of 206 in Yogyakarta
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
#10 of 206 in Yogyakarta
970 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alamanda Villa
Alamanda Villa
#1 of 19 in Sleman
466 reviews
3.9 mi away
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
#30 of 206 in Yogyakarta
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumah Mertua Boutique Hotel & Garden Restaurant & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumah Mertua Boutique Hotel & Garden Restaurant & Spa

Address: Jl. Palagan Tentara Pelajar | Gang Padma 5, Ngaglik, Yogyakarta 55581, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta > Ngaglik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ngaglik
Price Range: £22 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rumah Mertua Boutique Hotel & Garden Restaurant & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Rumah Mertua Boutique Hotel & Garden Restaurant & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumah Mertua Yogyakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing