We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay a wonderful piece of American History perserved.”
Review of Old Talbott Tavern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Old Talbott Tavern
Ranked #5 of 10 Bardstown B&B and Inns
Francisco Indiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Stay a wonderful piece of American History perserved.”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed two nights at the Talbott Inn/Tavern and had a great time. This is a wonderful old building from late 1700's well persevered and a great oppurtunity for us to get a look into life from back in the day. The fried chicken was worth the wait but nothing compares to the history of this place. Adding to the lore of the place being haunted is a nice little above ground cemetary just steps down a narrow alley behind the Inn. Also right next door is the old jail complete with a stockade in the front lawn. I should note the help locks up at night and goes home leaving you with your own front door key. Sunday night it was just the wife and I and whatever ghost haunt the place. 6 KY Bourdon distilleries including Jim Beam and Markers Mark are within a few mins drive of The Talbott Inn. The whole downtown area is great with dozens of old buildings and beautiful homes from the 17 & 1800s. Great Stay!!!

Room Tip: The Washington Irving room comes with a large whirlpool tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vklloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    52
    22
    16
    8
See reviews for
13
77
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We were excited to try this place on our visit to bardstown because of the historical building. We were disappointed. We had to ask the waitress 3 times for silverware. The meals were very overpriced for the quality of food. I paid $17 for my dinner and they served me watery canned green beans with my meal. I would try mammys kitchen or pats place instead. We enjoyed those restaurants much more.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sedubois712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Set in a beautiful town this place is lovely for a stop over. From check inn everyone was so hospitable. Room was big and period piece to the time that reflects the history ... The bar has very knowledgeable staff especially in regards to bourbon. Unfortunately the whole restaurant experience was a disaster and ended up with no food. The bill was dealt with but I thought it was unprofessional of the manager not to cOme out to us to address us ...rather than just sign the docket. Bar was great funny, band excellent it was great meeting locals ...

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

The rooms are very nice...the price is a value. Need to move to Coffee Maker closer to an outlet.
bar closed befors 8 pm om Dec 26.
Staff very friendly and helpful...Cuisine is Restaurant okay for KY.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mannks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
411 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

The only spirits I saw were in the bourbon bar and they, like the hotel, restaurant, and bar staff, were quite friendly. The Daniel Boone room was comfortable. In the restaurant, both food and service were very good though not exceptional. This is the heart of bourbon country and the selection makes the bar here something of an attraction in its own right. The Talbott is a very historic building and a good home base for exploring this historic town.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smyrna, TN
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

The staff at the Tavern was so friendly & helpful. This included the waitress for dinner, the front desk staff, the cook that gave us hot biscuits for breakfast, the nice lady that cleaned our room, & the security man for the Bourbon Bar. The room provided your basics, nothing fancy at all, IF you like more than basics you will be disappointed. This is a historical building & I really thought it would have been better taken care of & can't help but be disappointed in the owners lack of effort. The cases in the upstairs that have their historical pieces are in need of attention, we could not look at many of the things because they were lying face down. We would definately stay here again as the price is nice, (but would be willing to pay a bit more if the owner would work on the place) because the staff is so friendly & the area is very nice!

Room Tip: Be mindful not to expect anything more than basics.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiki237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Very historical building with an interesting past! My wife and I loved the food, the staff were very nice and courteous! Stayed in daniel boone room, and have to say we had a spooky ol time!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rynodyno12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bardstown
0.4 mi away
General Nelson Inn
General Nelson Inn
#2 of 8 in Bardstown
384 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Bardstown
Hampton Inn Bardstown
#1 of 8 in Bardstown
691 reviews
0.8 mi away
Old Bardstown Inn
Old Bardstown Inn
#4 of 8 in Bardstown
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Lebanon
Hampton Inn Lebanon
#1 of 2 in Lebanon
272 reviews
21.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Elizabethtown
Hampton Inn Elizabethtown
#1 of 17 in Elizabethtown
344 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bourbon Manor Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Talbott Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Talbott Tavern

Property: Old Talbott Tavern
Address: 107 W Stephen Foster Ave, Box 365, Bardstown, KY 40004-1415
Region: United States > Kentucky > Bardstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bardstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Talbott Tavern 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Inn and restaurant. Stay where the likes of The James Gang, Abraham Lincoln, and General George S. Patton have visited. You will find a vast amount of history in this building. Enjoy the world's oldest bourbon bar and eat great southern cooking in our restaurant. Full breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Old Talbott Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Talbott Tavern Hotel Bardstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing