We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unique”
Review of Old Talbott Tavern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Old Talbott Tavern
Ranked #5 of 10 Bardstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This place is very unique, built back in the late1700's. It is NOT an elegant hotel, but if you are looking for a quirky place to stay this will fit the bill..They have a great veranda to sit and enjoy a nightcap. You can watch the night club action from a distance and be glad you don't have to participate. They offer a breakfast with you stay, but it wasn't all that great, but acceptable for the price of free. They are very relaxed with the check out process I'm not sure there was an employee to work the front desk. There is a bar below that has live music on Friday and Saturday, so it was very loud, but that was disclosed to us when I booked the room, and was not a problem.

Room Tip: Ask for the haunted room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greeneggz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

The Best Western Motel in Bardstown was a great place to stay! The room was very clean, spacious, with amenities like microwave, small fridge, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, and a coffee maker. The lobby furniture was very unusual and quite unique. The staff at the motel were extremely friendly and accommodating. The Stephen Foster Story is always wonderful. We have seen it several times and the talent is always great! Many nice shops in Bardstown to browse through if you have the time. A shuttle picked us up at the motel, took us to the play, picked us up and brought us back afterwards. Sure was nice not to have to park and walk a mile! A great place to spend a day, an evening, and a night! A very relaxing getaway - highly recommended for a romantic day or two!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 122, behind the main motel. Much less road noise and you have a view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wesstjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We decided to stay at the Talbott Tavern because of the historical significance. Typical of an older, historic inn. Don't expect a modern hotel. Rooms were a little dated, but clean. We stayed in the Washington Irving suite, which was roomy and the bathroom nice. If you are staying during the week they do not have a full breakfast. When we were there, on a Thursday, we were given cereal, prepackaged Danish, biscuits, milk and coffee (although no creamer). There is a nice balcony on the second floor that overlooks the center of town, which I think was the smoking area. There is a restaurant there which looked nice, although we didn't get to eat here. Heard that it was supposed to be haunted, but we didn't experience anything unusual.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLKKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed at the Talbott Tavern as part of a weekend getaway. The young woman at the front desk was friendly and helpful, getting us signed in efficiently. We were in the Daniel Boone room, which is supposedly the most haunted room at the inn. We didn't encounter any ghosts during our stay, unless it was a ghost that made the toilet start running at random.The room was spacious, with a queen bed that's seen better days, a couple chairs, a desk, a noisy refrigerator, and a private bathroom. After checking in, we enjoyed an early dinner in the tavern's restaurant. The food was filling and delicious!! By the time we returned to our room, the first band of the evening was playing. Our room was literally right above the band. Needless to say, it was noisy. With the inn situated in the center of town, we opted to walk around town for a while, with a enjoyable stop at the nearby Kentucky Bourbon House. After trying a couple bourbon cocktails, we ambled back to the inn in time for the next band to take the stage. We'd already planned to spend the evening in the bar, so we dropped off our jackets and returned downstairs. As guests of the inn, we were not charged a cover charge. The band was really good. The breakfast in the morning consisted of traditional Southern fare: coffee, scrambled eggs, bacon, biscuits. Very filling! Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The room was clean and comfortable and served its purpose well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KayJay72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Stayed there for guys trip in April. We were placed in Lincoln suite which is nice besides the full size bed that two grown adults could never sleep in. Had to revert to sleeping on couches and the floor. The thermostat cover was not on & had exposed wires hanging from it. We couldn't adjust the temperature and woke up in the middle of the night sweating. The last night we stayed there, I was locked out of the hotel. There isn't staff on at night so they give you keys to come in go through the night. Needless to say I tried getting in the hotel for about 30 minutes to no evail. If someone were to lose their keys then I guess there out of luck because there is nothing posted on the entrance about emergency situations. I was told by the staff I would received a call from the manager and never received one about the problems we had. Love bardstown, but will be staying elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eddie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

The Old Talbott Tavern is such a great place to feel like you're in an old style tavern. With that said though there is no sign of musty or old smell here. I have a mold allergy and didn't detect anything at all. We walked in and upon check in in the lobby you can feel the wooden floor is slightly sloped. The place is supposed to be haunted according to legend. Unfortunately I didn't experience anything. My husband said that in the middle of the night he woke up and he heard somebody pouring a glass of water....five times. Of course the scientific mind that he has he said it must be the plumbing. Maybe?

We stayed here on a Tuesday and Wednesday night so there was no band. From what I have read, that could be a really big problem when trying to get sleep. We had no problem. We stayed in the Washington Irving Suite. It had a whirlpool tub which we wanted. Yes, I know, that didn't exist in the 1700s but I sometimes like the amenities in life. The rooms were all updated. and very clean. The room had a fireplace in it but was told it's not working.

We ate dinner here also and also went to the adjoining Bourbon Bar where we had the Bourbon Sampler. Five samples of your choice of bourbons. The samples were full shot glasses so make sure you're sharing. This is a great way to try some of the bourbons that are not on your tour. We met some others also doing the samplers so we had some great conversations and got some great information on what else to do in the area.

Dinner was good but not great. It was great that we didn't have to drive anywhere for dinner being that we did a total of 2000 miles for our trip. We had the appetizer sampler which was really a fried sampler; fried pickles, fried green tomatoes and fried banana peppers. I would take a pass on that next time. Hubby had the Hot Brown and I had a burger. He said it was good but since neither one of us ever had it before, we couldn't tell you if it was good or not for a Hot Brown. My burger I ordered rare and rare it was. Normally I order it rare and it comes out medium/rare. This was definitely rare. Others may not care for it that rare.

We ate breakfast here the first morning and would take a pass on that. Basically coffee, OJ, a packaged danish and biscuits with butter. Second morning we walked over to Mammy's and that was delicious. Perhaps on the weekends there is a better breakfast.

The Tavern is literally in the middle of town so it's walking distance to all the shops.
If we come through here again I would come back. I love the history of the building.

Room Tip: If you're staying here on the weekends when there is a band, your best bets would be the Lincoln...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank evilmell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

be forewarned, there is a band that plays until 1am friday and saturday. i WAS aware of this. they tell you when you book AND when you show up too. so no way you could complain about that at all. the room was VERY comfortable, the bar downstairs is great, breakfast is a solid southern meal and there are tons of great spots to walk to very close. this place is outstanding and i definitely recommend it as long as staying up unitl 1am fri/sat is in the cards for you!

Room Tip: if you stay in the FRONT of the hotel the (like the Lincoln suite) the noise is slightly quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chasles22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bardstown hotels
0.8 mi away
Old Bardstown Inn
Old Bardstown Inn
#4 of 8 in Bardstown
96 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Bardstown
Hampton Inn Bardstown
#1 of 8 in Bardstown
798 reviews
0.4 mi away
General Nelson Inn
General Nelson Inn
#2 of 8 in Bardstown
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bourbon Manor Bed & Breakfast
0 mi away
Jailer's Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Mary May House
Mary May House
#6 of 10 in Bardstown
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Talbott Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Talbott Tavern

Address: 107 W Stephen Foster Ave, Box 365, Bardstown, KY 40004-1415
Region: United States > Kentucky > Bardstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bardstown
Price Range: £64 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Talbott Tavern 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Inn and restaurant. Stay where the likes of The James Gang, Abraham Lincoln, and General George S. Patton have visited. You will find a vast amount of history in this building. Enjoy the world's oldest bourbon bar and eat great southern cooking in our restaurant. Full breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Old Talbott Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Talbott Tavern Hotel Bardstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing