We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unique, clean but a little disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jailer's Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 10 Bardstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cincinnati, ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“unique, clean but a little disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

I might have something better to say about this place had we been able to stay for both of the nights that I "booked". Dixie was a very nice woman, however was very confused during the reservation process and unfortunately managed to screw up the dates. We were only able to stay the first night of our planned two night trip. Paul and Dixie did their best to make up for the error, which kept our trip from being ruined. On another note, the Hampton in Bardstown is VERY nice.
We stayed in the Victorian room in a very comfortable bed, but neither of us slept much all night. On the bright side, we did NOT experience any disturbing noises or the feeling that there was any type of 'haunting' going on. The house could use a little updating but was very intriguing and extremely clean. The tour was short and sweet but contained a lot of interesting information about the history of the jail.
Our visit to the Talbott Inn for dinner and drinks was enjoyable and the bartender/manager was entertaining.

Room Tip: Victorian room (room #1) was quiet, clean, but was windowless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queenie548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    45
    22
    11
    2
See reviews for
28
91
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

My niece (12 yrs), nephew (6), husband, and I all went for one night. We stayed in the Library Room. It wasn't luxury, but that didn't bother us. We mainly went because of the haunting experience and boy did we come to the right spot! We did have a few occurrences happen (lights went from dim to bright, channels turning by its self, pillows would get knocked off the bottom of the bed, our cooler handle kept falling down, heard bells, and heard some knocks.) It was a lot of fun and my nephew wasn't even scared!
Dixie (inn keeper) was a sweetheart! She told us the history of the place and was just overall a great host! I believe if it wasn't for Dixie it wouldn't have been as fun. She made our trip worth the 3 hour drive. The breakfast was great! She even gave the kids cereal since they may have not liked the French Toast. Everything was pretty clean and nice. The TV was a bit small but that wasn't a deal breaker. I do look forward to returning again!

Room Tip: If you do not want to be waken up for breakfast in the morning, do not pick the Library Room. You c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shalena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulaski, Tennessee
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Let me begin by saying that I am not one to leave a nasty, tasteless review. I by no means want to be rude or disrespectful, my only intention is to review my trip as accurately as possible.

My husband and I spent two nights, Saturday and Sunday night in Cell #2 (Colonial Room). We happened upon this opportunity when I purchased a Groupon. I would have been even more upset about our stay if I would have spent more money on our trip. At first glance I was happy with the room because it was large. Upon farther inspection it was dingy. There were cob webs in corners and there was an overall sense of it being unkempt. I'm not saying that it was not clean, just needed general maintenance. The bedroom was large and spacious but just gave you a sense of needing a thorough cleaning. The bathroom had linoleum flooring that had several holes in it. It also had a jacuzzi tub. The fixtures were in terrible shape. There were holes in the walls where towel bars had fallen and the holes had not been patched. I could go on but I won't.... Normally, I do not take baths but due to the incredible cold, I decided to. Mistake. I was only able to run approx. 3-4 inches of water in the tub before running out of hot water. The next morning my husband and I both had to take cold showers. I reported this to the staff. The lady that took the report stated that another coupled had also complained about the hot water and she would make sure that the owner know that there was a problem.

One more thing that really bothered me. We were in room #2 which is on the 1st floor. Breakfast is served on both the 1st and 2nd floor. Unfortunately for us, the 1st floor breakfast table was literally outside our door. So, even though we decided not to go to breakfast because we didn't enjoy it, we were unable to sleep in due to the noise outside our door. Regardless of whether we would have been upstairs or downstairs this scenario would have still applied. Of course, during warmer weather, breakfast is served outside.

Breakfast was not impressive. We went to Mammy's which was wonderful. I will be writing a review on it later =).

We were assured that the thermostat on the hot had just stuck. He said that he ran a steady stream of hot water for 30 minutes and there were no problems. FANTASTIC!!!! It was cold in KY and we both needed hot showers! Unfortunately, we didn't get them.....

This B&B has SO much potential!!!!! It is in a prime location and is absolutely beautiful. Unfortunately, it needs a ton of TLC. I can't say that I would recommend it to anyone at this point and I will definitely not be returning to the Jailer's Inn. However, we will be returning to Bardstown in the near future to visit a few distilleries that we missed.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep in make sure to travel during warmer weather to ensure that breakfast is being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, California, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

Last fall we spent two nights at Jailer's Inn B&B in Bardstown, Ky and thorougly enjoyed our stay. This is not the typical, beautiful Victorian or farmhouse B&B. This is an actual old jail and the rooms are former cells that have been attractively renovated. Not only did we enjoy our room, but we also enjoyed the rest of the jail, including the morning breakfast and tour following. After breakfast our host guided us on a tour of the old jail complete with tales of its former days, including ghost stories, which one could chose to believe or not to believe. Many stories, however, were factual and the old jail clearly has an interesting history. Staying at the Jailer's Inn was a delightful experience and we would happily return if we're even in the area again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

Luxurious? No. Fun? Yes. Will appeal to both history buffs and paranormal hobbyists. I'm neither, but I certainly enjoyed an overnight sentence in the historic, haunted Bardstown County Jail cell #6. Dixie and Paul were a delight. The location is ideal if exploring the Kentucky Bourbon trail

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RaggedSole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Woods, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

I have stayed at many B&Bs and I felt that they were definitely overpriced, especially for the off-season. Host was knowledgeable and friendly but accommodations were substandard. Cobwebs in corners, chairs dingy with holes in upholstery. Didn't seem as clean as it should have been. And it was freezing. Air conditioner was still in the window. Have had better breakfasts at other B&Bs. Should have left and found different lodging but we were on our way home and didn't want the hassle. I think this place has potential but it definitely needs a makeover.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkinsville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

This was one of the highlights of the recent trip my wife and I took to historic Bardstown. First off,I am a skeptic when it comes to the paranormal,and always try to debunk anything mysterious.We stayed in the 1819 room which is reported to be the most haunted room.I got a bad vibe from the moment I stepped into the room. My wife was awakened between 3-4AM hearing a female voice whisper "hello",and feeling something putting pressure on her arms/chest.
Dixie is a wonderful hostess,and very knowledgable and friendly.It would be worth going back to Bardstown just to talk to her again! BTW the cherubs are freaking EVIL!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kejola1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bardstown
0.4 mi away
General Nelson Inn
General Nelson Inn
#2 of 8 in Bardstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Bardstown
Hampton Inn Bardstown
#1 of 8 in Bardstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.8 mi away
Old Bardstown Inn
Old Bardstown Inn
#4 of 8 in Bardstown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 8 in Bardstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
21.0 mi away
Wingfield Inn & Suites
Wingfield Inn & Suites
#4 of 17 in Elizabethtown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bourbon Manor Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jailer's Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jailer's Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Jailer's Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 111 West Stephen Foster Avenue, Bardstown, KY 40004
Region: United States > Kentucky > Bardstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bardstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iron bars on windows, 30 inch thick limestone walls, and a heavy steel door slamming behind you may not sound like the typical tourist accommodation. However, Jailer's Inn is anything but typical. The historic Jailer's Inn, circa 1819, in the center of Bardstown, Kentucky offers a unique and luxurious way to "do time." Jailer's Inn is a place of wonderful, thought provoking contrasts. Each of our seven guest rooms are beautifully decorated with antiques and heirlooms, and offer private bathrooms, some with a double Jacuzzi. All located in the renovated front jail, built in 1819. The back jail, built in 1874, is basically unchanged; you get a chilling, sobering look at former conditions in the old Nelson County jail used in full operation up until 1987. Catch a glimpse of life seldom seen in these two historic jails listed on the National Registry of Historic Places. On spring and summer mornings, as you sip hot coffee and chat with other guests over a full breakfast in the courtyard, it's difficult to imagine all of the previous uses of the courtyard, a place to visit forlorn relatives or even the centralized location of the Nelson County gallows. Come "do time" in jail and unlock an adventure in history. Whether you sleep in the elegant Victorian Room, rest and read in the Library Room or enjoy the peaceful setting of the Garden Room, it will be a "captivating experience." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jailer`s Hotel Bardstown
Jailer`s Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing