We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique B&B and Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jailer's Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 10 Bardstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this B&B in Bardstown, KY. It's fun telling others that we spent time in jail. Dixie was a very gracious hostess and made some delicious breakfasts for us. Felt very at home and comfortable staying here and meeting with other guests.

Room Tip: 2 rooms have queen beds, The Library and the Victorian Room. There is also 1 suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nc_sunny_bluesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

I have to say the Jailer's Inn is a unique place. I mean, when will you PAY to stay in a jail by choice? We did. It was interesting. We were on the Bourbon Trail with another couple. We stayed in the family suite which was nice - the only issue was that it was a shared bathroom. The property could use some care: cleaning the front stoop, trash in the old well, sprucing up the back area where breakfast is served would help a lot. Dixie was our Inn-mate. She was hobbling around on her walking cast and was bruised all over from a second fall, but bless her, she was all over that place. Breakfast was not quite up to par with the other Inns or B and B's where we have stayed. The jail has a very interesting history. We really enjoyed that part of the stay. The jail cells, seeing photos of where the gallows were on property, stories and poems by the inmates all added to the "ambiance".

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ohkyflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

arrived late in the afternoon without a booking.. Greeted by wonderful hostess Dixie Travelling with another couple so were happy when able to get two rooms. Our "Colonial Room" had a mish mash of furniture & decoration that worked to provide a quirky experience. The bathroom included a jet bath big enough for two. Very comfortable bed. No hauntings on the night we stayed but enjoyed the atmosphere & overall experience. Loved the journal in our room, enjoyed reading comments from past guests. A shame some pages had been torn out of the journal.
Breakfast cooked & served in the back garden by Dixie was delicious. Enjoyed the tour of the old jail and stories shared by Dixie. Would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 5 is supposed to be the most haunted
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fairypixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I took my husband to "jail" for his birthday and we had a great time. Paul is a wonderful host and the Inn is in an ideal location for exploring Bardstown, the Bourbon Trail, and My Old Kentucky Home. The breakfast at the Inn was scrumptious and there are lots of great places to eat within an easy walk. Highly recommended for a fun stay in the area!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KTQSZ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We chose the family suite as there was 4 adults (related) and we wanted to be together. That was a mistake. The wall between bedrooms is thin and converstions, snoring at night, almost any noise can be heard by the other party. Supplies were not well stocked, we ran out of TP the first day and kleenex soon after.
Also, WiFi is not accessible in the suite. You must go to the main building.
We found the breakfasts not to be up to the quality or quanity, we've enjoyed at other B&Bs. This may have been because "Dixie" whom we only heard about, had broken her ankle. Paul seemed to be trying to do everything himself.
We were served 4 burnt chocolate chip cookies when we aksed for some in the afternoon.
We thought the exterior of the place/yard could use sprucing up. One rocker broke (re-broke) when sat on. The plastic out door chairs were too dirty to want to sit on.
The courtyard in the back was looking a bit sad. The "well" is filled with junk.
We've been to Bardstown many times.
We had toured the jail part years ago and thought staying here would be neat.
The location is great and rooms in the main house appear nice.
We had read great reviews.
But that was not our experience and for what we paid, we were disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CivilWarBuff31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We recently stayed at the Jailer's Inn during our drive of the Bourbon Trail in Kentucky. Great place to stay! The Inn Keeper, Paul, was wonderful and attentive. We really got a kick out of the whole building, the rooms were marvelous and beautifully decorated. The back section of the building is still as it was in the 1800's as a jail. Breakfast was served outside in the court yard and it was delicious. This was out first stay at a B&B and we loved it! We will defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debmor5590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

The Jailer's Inn is a bed and breakfast that was formerly the Bardstown jail. There are 4 rooms in the main part of the property, 2 downstairs and 2 upstairs (one of the upstairs rooms is reputed to be haunted). I stayed in one of the downstairs rooms, which though a bit dated was very large and comfortable. Connected to the office area is the more recent and formerly expanded jailhouse, which was used up until the 1980's I believe. You can take an interesting short tour of the jail cells and rear yard where the last public hanging in America took place. It's now a small garden area and an option for breakfast on a nice day. Breakfast was good. This is not a deluxe or fancy B & B but it was just fine, the proprietor was nice and the location next to the Old Tallbott Tavern right in the center of town can't be beat.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diverdad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bardstown hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Bardstown
Hampton Inn Bardstown
#1 of 8 in Bardstown
784 reviews
0.8 mi away
Old Bardstown Inn
Old Bardstown Inn
#4 of 8 in Bardstown
96 reviews
0.4 mi away
General Nelson Inn
General Nelson Inn
#2 of 8 in Bardstown
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bourbon Manor Bed & Breakfast
0 mi away
Old Talbott Tavern
Old Talbott Tavern
#5 of 10 in Bardstown
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mary May House
Mary May House
#7 of 10 in Bardstown
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jailer's Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jailer's Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 111 W Stephen Foster Ave, Bardstown, KY 40004-1415
Region: United States > Kentucky > Bardstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bardstown
Price Range: £130 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iron bars on windows, 30 inch thick limestone walls, and a heavy steel door slamming behind you may not sound like the typical tourist accommodation. However, Jailer's Inn is anything but typical. The historic Jailer's Inn, circa 1819, in the center of Bardstown, Kentucky offers a unique and luxurious way to "do time." Jailer's Inn is a place of wonderful, thought provoking contrasts. Each of our seven guest rooms are beautifully decorated with antiques and heirlooms, and offer private bathrooms, some with a double Jacuzzi. All located in the renovated front jail, built in 1819. The back jail, built in 1874, is basically unchanged; you get a chilling, sobering look at former conditions in the old Nelson County jail used in full operation up until 1987. Catch a glimpse of life seldom seen in these two historic jails listed on the National Registry of Historic Places. On spring and summer mornings, as you sip hot coffee and chat with other guests over a full breakfast in the courtyard, it's difficult to imagine all of the previous uses of the courtyard, a place to visit forlorn relatives or even the centralized location of the Nelson County gallows. Come "do time" in jail and unlock an adventure in history. Whether you sleep in the elegant Victorian Room, rest and read in the Library Room or enjoy the peaceful setting of the Garden Room, it will be a "captivating experience." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Jailer's Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jailer`s Inn b&b
Jailer`s Hotel Bardstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing