We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Great Owner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jailer's Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 10 Bardstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stopped in as a family and had two rooms the "jail" room for the kids and the colonial room. The jail cell is rustic but it is a jail cell. The kids liked the uniqueness of it. We stayed in the colonial. It was not modern but nice enough. The bathroom has a jacuzzi/shower combo which was a little odd but worked fine. If you stay you can tour the old jail. The jail has a lot of history and was interesting. There is a nice courtyard to be enjoyed if you have time. Breakfast was good...it was french toast, OJ, coffee, fruit and muffins. Paul the owner was great. My husband left a bag and he called us right away so we could return to get it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ValOllieHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We stopped and did the tour. A very nice, quick and informative historical tour with lots of artifacts to look at. They've got shanks and chains, poetry written by the inmates on the walls and lots of articles. All the original building is still there in the back so you really get a feel for how the space was back in the day. It's supposed to be very haunted. Anyway, our tour guide was one of the owners and he made it really fun! Put handcuffs on the kids, took pictures for us... even scared the kids when they went into a dark cell! The tour was definitely worth it.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Got_too_many_dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights in the Garden Room as a surprise anniversary for my wife June 26-27.
Paul and Amanda go above and beyond to show what southern hospitality is all about.
As for my experience during our stay, I asked Joshua if he would like to play on our last night there and did he ever.
At 2am I was awoke by what felt like my daughter climbing into the foot of the bed. Every time I would change positions, the same thing would occur.
I did not see anything but I sure did feel the bed move on numerous occasions!
Thanks again Paul and Amanda for a wonderful time.
Woody

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Woody502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

What a unique experience to stay in a B&B that was housed in an 1880's built jail. It housed prisoners until the mid-1980's. Rooms were well maintained, the innkeeper "Paul" was a delightful host and morning chef. We ate out in the garden surrounded by the original wall. Paul was extremely helpful with local lore, suggestions, and yes even discussion of ghost stories. Interesting it is located next to the Old Talbort Tavern which also claimed to be ghostly. While located on the main street, we did not experience noise from traffic. It was a relaxing experience. We stayed three days and enjoyed our host, and the community of Bardstown.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Colonial Room-----big, bed comfortable, and if u need a jacuzzi after a long day si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fred s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We traveled with friends to nearby Bardstown for an overnight stay at the Jailer's Inn. We came because of its history and it's ranking as one of the top 10 haunted places in the U.S. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the most friendly innkeeper I have EVER met, Dixie. What a fun person! She truly made our stay 100x more enjoyable. The accommodations and food were average, the tour of the old jail portion was really cool. We also experienced some ghost activity, but you'll have to go stay for yourself and read the room journals to know more! :)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank DrHillock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this very, very historical inn. Of course, it's original purpose didn't end until 1987. We stayed upstairs in the "dungeon" with 18-20" rough-hewn log walls & ceiling. Don't worry, a jacuzzi tub awaits along with the softest bedcovers ever. Employees are very friendly & informative. Hearing the stories of the prisoners, sitting in the exercise yard, looking at the construction of the building makes for a very interesting stay. Located next to the Old Talbot Tavern. Both structures built late 1700's. If on the Kentucky Bourbon Trail, you owe it to yourself to come here--to stay or just tour. History awaits.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTravelers1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This B&B is located perfectly in the center of town, but can be a little tricky to get to as there is a one-way rotary surrounding the town center. Once you arrive, you’re in for a different experience.
The building was built in 1819 and is steeped in history. With any 200 year old building, you know you’re not in for 21st century accommodations.
That said, our “Jailers” suite was full of furnishings and two queen-sized beds in separate bedrooms. One bath, good-sized and nicely equipped, was awkwardly located right across from the outside glass door. Don’t forget to close the door!
The suite was also equipped with a kitchen counter and sink but the water was shut off. Probably due to the freezing temperatures experienced this April 2014.
Internet was supposedly available but we were never able to connect. Tried in the main building and no luck there either. No one was around at the desk to help either in the evening or the early morning. I couldn’t even get an AT&T cellphone signal while in my room.
We arrived at the same time as a large group and there was much confusion getting checked in. That may have also been the reason we weren’t told about the time for breakfast. Checked at 7:00 and 7:30 am and no sign of life so we went out for breakfast. It was on the table when we returned at 8:30. The raspberry French toast looked really tasty but we were ready to leave at that point.
Would I come back? If I didn’t need Internet, yes. It’s a great location and the owners seem genuinely friendly. Besides, it raises eyebrows when you tell your friends you spent the night last night in the Old County Jail.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Jailers Suite. Roomy two bedroom suite with bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelWriterDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bardstown
0.4 mi away
General Nelson Inn
General Nelson Inn
#2 of 8 in Bardstown
114 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Bardstown
Hampton Inn Bardstown
#1 of 8 in Bardstown
761 reviews
0.8 mi away
Old Bardstown Inn
Old Bardstown Inn
#4 of 8 in Bardstown
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Best Western Shepherdsville
Best Western Shepherdsville
#2 of 8 in Shepherdsville
397 reviews
21.0 mi away
Wingfield Inn & Suites
Wingfield Inn & Suites
#3 of 18 in Elizabethtown
351 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bourbon Manor Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jailer's Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jailer's Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 111 W Stephen Foster Ave, Bardstown, KY 40004-1415
Region: United States > Kentucky > Bardstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bardstown
Price Range: £76 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iron bars on windows, 30 inch thick limestone walls, and a heavy steel door slamming behind you may not sound like the typical tourist accommodation. However, Jailer's Inn is anything but typical. The historic Jailer's Inn, circa 1819, in the center of Bardstown, Kentucky offers a unique and luxurious way to "do time." Jailer's Inn is a place of wonderful, thought provoking contrasts. Each of our seven guest rooms are beautifully decorated with antiques and heirlooms, and offer private bathrooms, some with a double Jacuzzi. All located in the renovated front jail, built in 1819. The back jail, built in 1874, is basically unchanged; you get a chilling, sobering look at former conditions in the old Nelson County jail used in full operation up until 1987. Catch a glimpse of life seldom seen in these two historic jails listed on the National Registry of Historic Places. On spring and summer mornings, as you sip hot coffee and chat with other guests over a full breakfast in the courtyard, it's difficult to imagine all of the previous uses of the courtyard, a place to visit forlorn relatives or even the centralized location of the Nelson County gallows. Come "do time" in jail and unlock an adventure in history. Whether you sleep in the elegant Victorian Room, rest and read in the Library Room or enjoy the peaceful setting of the Garden Room, it will be a "captivating experience." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jailer`s Hotel Bardstown
Jailer`s Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing