We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of housekeeping practice”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Bardstown
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This Choice Hotels property is somewhat older and, for the most part, is okay. Its location is rather odd sandwiched between two automotive service businesses and across the street from a car wash as well as other industrial businesses. Nonetheless, it was not noisy, the parking area was well lighted, and seemed perfectly safe. The manager was very friendly and accommodating and allowed us an early check-in. This is a two-story building with no elevator and interior access to the rooms. The king room was clean and comfortable especially the “leather” sofa that had a recliner section. Bathroom had plenty of space, a nice granite countertop, and a good adjustable showerhead. Breakfast included scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, and the other usual items. For the size of this hotel, seating in the breakfast area is quite limited. One major negative was unacceptable and could have been prevented. Housekeeping uses a very common, popular furniture polish and the room reeked from the odor. Every piece of furniture including the headboard and even the microwave were coated with furniture polish. There was a visible oily layer on everything. Another guest at breakfast said they encountered the same thing in their room and decided to check out early and go to another hotel. Unfortunately, this practice will prevent us from ever staying at this property in the future. Also, the room rate is too pricey for what you get.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BionicOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen P, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you for your response. We try to use your comments to better our hotel. We hope that next time you will consider giving us another try. Until then have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

Apparently I stayed at a different hotel than the individuals on here writing about how clean it is. It was the single most disgusting hotel room I have ever stayed in. It suffered from long term neglect and obviously had not had a thorough cleaning in some time. The most disgusting find was the pubic hairs in the bathroom floor -- not just one or two -- but several. It would have been impossible to miss them if the room had been given even a haphazard cleaning. On the positive side, the staff was very friendly and offered assistance with my mobility impaired mother. However, the price was outrageous. It was the final night of a 10 day vacation, I had stayed at a Hilton property in Charlotte during my vacation for about half of what I paid for the night here. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Beckasue75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen P, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your response. Sorry we did not meet up to your standards. We all try hard as a team to make sure our guests are happy with there stay. I hope that if you are ever in the area again you will consider giving us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

All in all the room was nice and clean and comfortable. Had 2 double beds and it came with 2 chairs and a table. We HATE it when one of us has to sit in a desk chair ! Carrie at the front desk on arrival was very helpful about suggesting restaurants and giving us a map, as were the other desk clerks. Convenient location about a mile from downtown and walking distance to fast food places.
The only drawback was there was no elevator and I don't recall seeing that on their website. We are here for 4 days and had to haul our luggage up the stairs - we aren't any spring chickens either, but in all honesty they did have a family affair that booked the first floor. Outside of that it's a nice place to stay and we would definitely come back - just being sure to book the first floor.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen P, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We do regret not having an elevator for our guest, that is something that is being worked on. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at this hotel while on a trip through KY, May 2014. We did not realize it was Derby weekend when we planned our trip so prices were a little higher than expected everywhere. To our great surprise this hotel was wonderful. Upon arrival we were greeted by the friendly and helpful staff. We got checked into our beautiful king room. The staff called to see that the room was to our liking, we said yes. We were both pretty tired from a whole day of driving and activities so we changed and relaxed in the indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi which were both nice and clean. After our swim, we were given a recommendation for a local restaurant where we had some fabulous Italian food. Rebecca's is a must if you're in town.

We slept very well in our comfortable bed with some nice soft pillows (unusual for most hotels). We decided to sleep in, but not too late to enjoy the good and hot breakfast. While checking out we asked for some directions and again the staff was helpful and friendly.

We had a wonderful stay and would love to visit here again if traveling through Kentucky. I would recommend this place to anyone. Thank you for making our first time in Bardstown a delight.

Room Tip: I always book directly with the hotel and 99% of the time they give the same rates as you find on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kindra312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen P, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words, they will be shared will all our employees. Cant wait till your return. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast was good. They had eggs, sausage, waffles, etc. The beds were comfortable. They had HBO and Showtime. No complaints. I would stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank taressw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen P, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. Cant wait to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel was nice and first floor room was very quiet. The layout of the room was odd with a full sized sofa with recliners facing the bed but was comfortable the TV was on a dresser that was too low for watching TV in bed also. Front desk staff excellent as well as the breakfast. Used the hot tub in the pool area for some relaxation too!! Pool temp was perfect.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank slgbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen P, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments on our staff and hotel...cant wait to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stop at this hotel off and on as we visit family in Louisville. We know that it will always be a clean hotel - friendly and comfortable. This latest stay we encountered a large group that tended to have a loud presence, and we asked to change our room as we knew the noise level would be disturbing to us. We had no problem doing so.
This will continue to be a stop we shall make.

Room Tip: The upstairs, although they have no elevator, are quieter. Pick rooms that are away from the stairw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Codgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen P, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. Cant wait to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bardstown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bardstown
Hampton Inn Bardstown
#1 of 8 in Bardstown
779 reviews
1.1 mi away
General Nelson Inn
General Nelson Inn
#2 of 8 in Bardstown
124 reviews
1.6 mi away
Old Bardstown Inn
Old Bardstown Inn
#4 of 8 in Bardstown
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville South
21.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Elizabethtown
Comfort Suites Elizabethtown
#3 of 18 in Elizabethtown
276 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lebanon
Hampton Inn Lebanon
#1 of 2 in Lebanon
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 984 Frost Ave, Bardstown, KY 40004-2524
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Bardstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Bardstown
Price Range: £83 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Bardstown
Bardstown Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing