We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great sushi, but it didn't feel like a Japanese Restaurant”
Review of Okina Sushi

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Okina Sushi
Ranked #23 of 77 Restaurants in Bardstown
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Korean
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Hackettstown, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great sushi, but it didn't feel like a Japanese Restaurant”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

My husband and I visited Okina Sushi late on a Saturday evening. Many of the restaurants in Bardstown were booked solid, which seemed very odd to me. I got online and looked at reviews of other restaurants outside of historic downtown Bardstown. I came across Okina Sushi and liked what I saw. So we went there and sat at the sushi bar. The sushi chef was very good, classically trained and we very much enjoyed the food. The restaurant itself was very outdated and pretty plain. But the servers were efficient and friendly and the sushi was great!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank kimghi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great sushi in Bardstown!”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Sushi chef is a master and everything is delicious.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Met_at_Cornell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 10 July 2012 via mobile

We are from GA visiting family and have eaten sushi prepared by Iron chef Morimoto and this chef was just as good! We had mango sushi with asparagus, california roll, boston roll and the spider roll (for anyone wanting to try sushi this one is great as it is made with a deep fried soft shell crab). All of it was tasty! The place was clean. Didn't wait long at all. Yes! Even KY can dish up amazing sushi!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank v_christy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hodgenville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

food A+. Service was B...The sushi could not have been better. Try the red bean ice cream!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank chrisnaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bardstown
1 review
“Best Sushi in Kentucky”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

You will not find better sushi anywhere in Kentucky, I was first reluctant to try sushi but once I tried Moon's sushi I was hooked for life. Im there every Friday night having his awesome sushi. Try it....you wont be dissapointed!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Okina Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing