We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meal but hard to find”

The Rickhouse Restaurant & Lounge
Ranked #2 of 77 Restaurants in Bardstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: An elegant and unique restaurant located in the heart of historic Bardstown, Ky. We pride ourselves on our classic dishes with unique twists. We have an ever growing and expansive Bourbon collection, sold individually as well as in flights. We also have an extensive wine list, with something for everyone. For a memorable, and delectable meal and experience, please join us.
Noblesville, Indiana
Level Contributor
265 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Great meal but hard to find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

This was really a fun place to eat. The menu is quite good. Two of us had the barbecue chicken and they loved it, especially moist and tender. One of us had the salmon and the bourbon sauce was outstanding. I had a filet and it was flavorful and cooked as ordered. The sides are really good. We had the 11 cheese macaroni, brussel sprouts, scalloped potatoes and green beans. All were good and good portions. They were short staffed but our waitress, Jordan, hustled to keep everyone happy. We also ordered the bourbon flights and got 5 bourbons to try. We tried bourbons we had not tasted before and it was a great way to experience a lot of fine whiskey. They were out of a lot of the premium brands but made accommodations for us to allow us to try a lot of different styles. The bartender even spent quite a bit of time discussing bourbon with us. Greta food and great staff plus the price was very good. Would highly recommend this place. One short point - this place is hard to find as the sign is very small and there is no street address. It's on Xavier Drive in a large 4 story building called Spaulding Hall. As you are going on Xavier it is on your left downstairs in the building. Make sure you try this gem.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    129
    49
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

A little hard to find but well worth the effort.

Great meal, perfect service and awesome drinks.

Make sure you fit this place in on your stay in Bardstown.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank RollTide358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
275 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Best steakhouse in the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We were driving through Bardstown enroute to horse cave, Kentucky. Found this restaurant on trip advisor. I do have to agree that the establishment is not well marked and would be a challenge to find especially when located in the basement of a big building. When arriving by car, looking for parking in city hall and look toward the museum and the black iron gate. Look for a beige door under the stairs. When coming by foot off of the Main Street, look for a walk path leading to the whiskey museum. Go around the stair to the right and look for the beige door.

The restaurant was a bourbon barrel theme. Recommendation would be to sit in the dining area. But a spot on the bar side is nice too. The place is small with about 14 tables. Recommendation would be recommended for a group over 4 people. The place is known got it's steak which has a nice smoky flavor similar to an Argentinian steak house. All steaks came with 2 sides. The scallop potatoes were delicious. They do have a decent selection of wine by the glass or bottles. We started off with the crab cakes. Would not recommend as it has mostly breading and appearance of process crabs and a texture like humus.

The desert menu is limited, but we did not find anything we liked. I do recommend this when you are in the area, but wouldn't go out of the way for it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You may take you a while to find it, but worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great steaks----more than I could handle and price very reasonable for the traveller on the Bourbon Trail. It did take a bit of searching to find it (behind a church, and down the stairs) but worth it. Nice wine selections, and a variety of options on the Menu. No open until Tuesday-Saturday.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank fred s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food was amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Tough to find. Bardstown does not allow a lot of signage in the Historic distric, but it is worth the search. Food was excellent...service was as good. Try the grilled salad! Steak was great and all sides as well. You will not leave hungry.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rickhouse Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to The Rickhouse Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing