We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful B&B in Bardstown” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Rose Inn Bed and Breakfast

Red Rose Inn Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bardstown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Rose Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 10 Bardstown B&B and Inns
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Wonderful B&B in Bardstown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

My husband & I had the pleasure of staying two nights at the Red Rose Inn in Bardstown. It is the perfect place to stay! It's within walking distance of great restaurants in downtown and just a short drive the to many to the distilleries, My Old Kentucky Home and golf courses. Our room was extremely comfortable and had all the amenities you would want including cozy robes. The owner is very nice and her dogs are very well behaved and lovable. But best of all are the breakfasts - not only are they beautiful but they are delicious, filling and creative. We highly recommend staying at the Red Rose Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CDtraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    14
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
28
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We had a wonderful time on our two night stay at the Red Rose Inn. The room was spacious and comfortable, complete with the rustic charm of uneven flooring - which I mean in a positive way, but don't expect a shiny new house, this is a renovated 1800's property and it meets with the charm that should come with that. We stayed in the Garden room (the yellow one) and the bed was comfortable, we had plenty of space and the water pressure in the shower was just fine.

The breakfasts. Oh my goodness. The first day there was pineapple upside down cake, scrumptious sausages sauteed with onions, sausage cups with scrambled eggs and zuccini and potato cakes and everything was out of this world delicious. The second day there was chocolate banana nut bread, apple german pancake and bacon, and it was all delicious as well. Fresh fruit and coffee as well both days. The food is all gourmet and fresh and if you haven't eaten it, you need to!

There are two adorable King Charles Spaniels that live there - if you don't like dogs (you're crazy) and that is something to keep in mind. They are very sweet and we loved them.

All in all a wonderful stay at a lovely establishment. We would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Can't vouch for the other rooms but the Garden room was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silverinc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Harrison
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We had our group of 8 stay for a weekend. Nice vintage building. A long staircase. Priced a little high. A nice table setting and great big front porch for enjoying that evening cocktail or a fine cigar. Paito and gardens out back for relaxation.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bardstown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

My stay at the Red Rose Inn was wonderful. The decor is very authentic with no compromise to comfort. The surrounding gardens and deck were very refreshing for a weary traveler. Then there was the food... The owner is very talented and presented not only quality breakfasts but also very attractive presentation.
The location is within a very reasonable walking distance to all the downtown Bardstown shops, several restaurants and attractions.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

Although we made reservations well over a week in advance, when we arrived we found that our room had been booked by another couple and we were given two choices. One was a room on the ground floor just off the foyer that was still dirty at 3pm in the afternoon. The door to the room was open and the dogs were allowed to run into the room as well. Audrey showed us a room upstairs and upon reading other reviews I have come to find out that this is the room that probably receives the most road noise. So we were kept awake longer than what we are used to, woken up many times during the night, and woke up very early only to know that breakfast was being served at 9am. The only social area of the B&B is the dining room table or the sofa in your room. So to sit in a nice sitting room to try and socialize with other guests is out of the question. After looking at other reviews I have seen one guest complain about towel odour, which for us, was totally true, and tired towels too. Should have been made into rags long ago. Our sheets felt of sandpaper. Staying at the B&B was a horrible experience. We did not feel welcome there at all, and now feel our entire trip there was a waste of money. Audrey should strongly consider hiring a full time manager and retire to her other property in Bardstown.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maryjennings01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

The Red Rose Inn is a beautiful old house in the centre of Bardstown. We parked on the street just outside the house and being from England did not realise it was against the law to park opposite the fire hydrant until, luckily, Audrey pointed this out to us. Audrey made us very welcome and showed us our room and where we could get soft drinks, coffee and cookies.
Our room had everything we needed and everywhere was very clean.
Breakfast was excellent, with far more than we could possibly eat and a good cup of coffee, something you don't often get in the USA!
It is a very short walk into the centre of Bardstown from the Red Rose and we enjoyed our evening stroll.
I can thoroughly recommend the Red Rose Inn if you like quaint old houses, traditional furniture and good service.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kayak22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
58 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

What a wonderful place to stay. Audrey and her cocker spaniels were great. The bedroom was nicely decorated and the king size poster bed was a nice touch. Breakfast was right out of a cooking magazine. The three garden ponds in the back yard were very relaxing. Just a block from the welcome center, we were able to walk everywhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayGCincinnati_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bardstown
0.6 mi away
General Nelson Inn
General Nelson Inn
#2 of 8 in Bardstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Bardstown
Hampton Inn Bardstown
#1 of 8 in Bardstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.6 mi away
Old Bardstown Inn
Old Bardstown Inn
#4 of 8 in Bardstown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 8 in Bardstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
18.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Shepherdsville
BEST WESTERN Shepherdsville
#2 of 9 in Shepherdsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Elizabethtown
Hampton Inn Elizabethtown
#1 of 17 in Elizabethtown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Rose Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Rose Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Red Rose Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 209 E Stephen Foster Ave, Bardstown, KY 40004-1513
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Bardstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bardstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on spacious grounds, surrounded by colorful flower gardens and Koi ponds. Enjoy our sumptuous Country Gourmet Breakfast of fresh-fruit, homemade coffee cakes/fruit tarts, popovers, ham crisps and/or sausage cups with eggs, or stuffed baked french toast. In summer, enjoy the tranquility of breakfast on the deck. As always, homemade cookies, other snacks soda pop/bottled water are complementary. Red Rose Inn is conveniently located walking distance of fine dining,antiques, Around the town Carriage & local attractions . A short drive will take you to our renowned Civil War Museum,Stephen Foster Outdoor Theater, Old Kentucky Home, Barton, Jim Beam, Four Roses, Willett, Heaven Hill & Maker's Mark Distilleries, several Wineries, Oscar Getz Whiskey Museum, Abbey of Gethsemani, (Monastary), Bernheim Arboretum, & the KY. Railroad Museum. A special treat is the Kentucky Dinner Train. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing