We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Enjoyable stay" **recommend**” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of General Nelson Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
General Nelson Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Bardstown
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Enjoyable stay" **recommend**”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is a very nice hotel, right in town a++. Rooms very cozy and king bed very comfortable!!
Will stay here again!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tc2lnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwgni411, General Manager at General Nelson Inn, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for staying with us here at the Best Western General Nelson Inn. Being just four blocks from downtown does make it easier when you want to get out and enjoy the nice winter weather that we have been having.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    155
    78
    25
    10
See reviews for
92
168
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

I stayed here one night during work. Staff was great, both during check in and out. Even called the room to make sure everything was ok. Wow. Room was nicely appointed, but a tiny bit dusty, and a little dirt around the wall. Very minor. Slept great, beds very comfortable. Good breakfast. I would definely stay again.

Room Tip: if you smoke, you only have designated areas(city ord.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cah3295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

The General Nelson is my favorite hotel in Bardstown. I have stayed at a few while visiting family, but always have been disappointed. Not here.

This year I stayed over Christmas, and was pleasantly surprised. As mentioned in previous reviews, this is an older hotel. It shows in many ways... but the operator proves "older" can still be "clean." To me, that's the most important consideration. The rooms are basic, the furniture and decor is a bit outdated. The beds are springy, but OK. The rooms are spacious with a great big closet area, a microwave and refrigerator. The breakfast was small but adequate, with even a few hot items. Best of all, the hotel is smoke free, and there wasn't a trace of stale cigarette smoke to be found. THANK YOU for that!

I also appreciated the pet policy. My dog was welcomed with a box of food, bottled water, and dish! The hotel charges $15 per stay--very reasonable. The front desk clerk shared that the hotel's owner often brings his own dog with him to work.

If I had one gripe, it would be the condition of the towels. They're really, really old and show considerable use. I felt kind of gross using them. Again, that's a minor gripe for an otherwise great stay. I'll definitely stay here again on my next visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wabash2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
327 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

This is an older motel that has been very well maintained and updated. It is a short distance from the center of town, but nothing in Bardstown is very far away. We stayed here two nights in late November. The rooms are not large, but have both refrigerator and microwave, as well as very comfortable beds (ours was a King). The motel also offers a nice breakfast that, along with the normal cereal, toast, & danish, has hard boiled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy.. On future visits, this would be our choice again.

Room Tip: During the high tourist season, might request a room on the back side. The Inn faces one of the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redneckersson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

In my opinion the General Nelson is on the best side of Bardstown to stay. The hotel always seems to be at least $15-$20.00 a night cheaper than the other hotels in the city. It is definately an older style hotel but is always clean, the staff is all super friendly, and there are 2-3 sitting areas outside to have a drink or read a book. The Stephen Foster Restaurant is right next door and offers a nice "down home" buffet. I can never get enough chicken livers. The General Nelson is also within walking distance of Spalding Hall and the Whiskey Museum that is inside it. There is a relatively new restaurant in Spalding Hall now that always seems to offer a new Bourbon that always taste better by drinking it inside a historic building. The free breakfast at the General Nelson varies from hard boiled eggs, sausage and gravy, biscuits, cereal, danishes, toast, bagles, and waffles. Not bad for being FREE. I have tons of family in B-town and make numerous visits each year and when we do stay in a hotel we always choose the General Nelson.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nawlins4LIFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
5,139 reviews
270 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,515 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

We spent two nights at the Best Western in Bardstown. This is a historic city which is so enjoyable to stay at for a night or two while on the Bourbon Trail. They have nice grounds - lots of sitting areas outside. The breakfast in the morning is nice. We enjoyed one morning having breakfast outside in the sun. They have both cold and hot items for breakfasts - my favorite was their biscuits and gravy.

While the rooms are definitely on the smaller size even for Best Western rooms, we found the rooms comfortable for our stay. There is a microwave and refrigerator and a reclining chair.
We stayed here as part of a 21 day trip, and we found the beds at this Best Western to be one of the most comfortable beds we slept on. We had a room in the backside and we had a quiet night sleep. In terms of bathroom areas, it is very small. it is large enough to "get everything done", but it is small.

However, this will remain one of our most memorable places to stay. the reason why is the first night we were there, we unpacked quickly and then went outside to their gazebo area to sit at. Within a couple of minutes, we heard the sound of horses. We looked up and there was a horse carriage and driver. He looked at us with a kindly look and asked if we wanted to go for horse tour of the town. We accepted (of course there is a fee) and had a delightful ride around town in the comfortable horse carriage. We loved hearing about the town from the horse driver.
He immediately turned Bardstown into a town you just had to love. He gave us a few tips for where to have dinner that night. He then returned us directly to our hotel. This was a romantic magical time!

Service at the Best Western is friendly and kind. We did our laundry here the 2nd night - both washer and dryer did a good job!

Overall, its a great stay for Bardstown in a good location!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicksburg, Michigan
Level Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

The hotel was nice, clean, close to every thing. Staff were nice and helpful, I had no problems, in fact, I stayed there twice in one week. Once on my way down to Chattanooga, and on my way back.

Room Tip: Get the king size bed, very comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DentalDiva67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bardstown
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bardstown
Hampton Inn Bardstown
#1 of 8 in Bardstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
1.2 mi away
Old Bardstown Inn
Old Bardstown Inn
#4 of 8 in Bardstown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 8 in Bardstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Lebanon
Hampton Inn Lebanon
#1 of 2 in Lebanon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
17.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Shepherdsville
BEST WESTERN Shepherdsville
#2 of 9 in Shepherdsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
17.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Shepherdsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to General Nelson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Nelson Inn

Property: General Nelson Inn
Address: 411 W Stephen Foster Ave, Bardstown, KY 40004-1496 (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United States > Kentucky > Bardstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Bardstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — General Nelson Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Commonwealth, Bardstown is the site of My Old Kentucky Home - the state shrine and subject of composer Stephen Foster's legendary song. Stephen Foster-The Musical, one of the longest running outdoor musicals in the United States, plays each summer.These are only two of the dozens of attractions and festivals that make the Bardstown area a first-class tourist destination..When visiting Bardstown you'll want to call the Best Western General Nelson Inn home. Conveniently nestled between the knobs of central Kentucky, Bardstown is located 35 miles south of Louisville, about 16 miles off Highway I-65. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your General Nelson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bardstown
Bardstown Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing