We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent & NOT a Chain!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of BJ's Steakhouse

BJ's Steakhouse
Ranked #14 of 77 Restaurants in Bardstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: BJ's Steakhouse has been a family owned establishment since 1984. Bought in 2001 from the late Harry Samuels, the Brady's have incorporated the communities' interests to create a memorable dining experience for persons of all ages. The newly renovated ten thousand square foot facility seats 296 people. Here at BJ's Steakhouse, we provide two dining areas, both equipped with a full bar and an energetic staff ready to fulfill your dining needs. The large party room makes for a wonderful luncheon, rehearsal dinner, or other event spot for an enjoyable gathering of the host's desires.BJ's Steakhouse, formerly known as BJ's Bar & Grill, has been recognized for having the best steaks by the Kentucky Standard's Best Steak Award of Nelson County. Also, our famous chili has been a two-time winner of a local chili cook off hosted in exciting Louisville. The large menu offered will be sure to please everyone's variety of meal preferences.Whether you are looking for a bar type atmosphere, a family oriented setting, or a relaxing meal on the patio, BJ's Steakhouse has something to offer for everyone! We can't wait to welcome you and spoil your taste buds at this local family favorite restaurant.
Bardstown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent & NOT a Chain!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

BJ's is "Mom & Pop" at it's best. Great food, terrific people, good service. Great steaks & love the rolls!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    25
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hodgenville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pretty Darn Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

My Sister & I had lunch there on a Mid-week day. We both got the Jr. B.J. Burger, garden Salad & we split an order of Onion rings.
The salads were slightly above average, but nothing special...in these days when all sorts of lettuce types are readily available--it was a bit lame--with ice-burg lettuce. The tomatoes were a tiny bit under-ripe. The croutons & dressing were good.
The Onion Rings were perfect.
The Burgers--which had, as requested, Blue Cheese. & were well dressed were delicious...Our buns could have been toasted a tiny bit more--& both of us had bun tops that were falling apart (sometimes a sign of stale bread)...it tasted fine, but not visually appealing--& I had to eat it with a fork,,. But it was well redeemed by delicious beef patty, blue cheese, bacon, onion.
, etc...Our Waitress was efficient, but not much personality or warmth...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrisnaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth a try!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Our hotel recommended this as a decent place for dinner; so being our first visit to Bardstown, we thought it was worth a try. When we first arrived, the room was fairly quiet; however that soon changed. Tables are fairly close together so the noise level soon gets to be overwhelming. Fairly ordinary menu; service was good and food arrived fairly quickly. Premises were very clean. If visiting Bardstown again would consider this as a possible stop.Worth

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank photofan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Food BUT!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

The food was wonderful here and was not over priced, we went at an off time so we could have a nice quite dinner. What we have found out (and this restaurant does this) they seem to want to seat everyone in the same room. So the rest of the restaurant can be empty and you are in the same room with 10 children, when are restaurants going to stop this. So know the food is food here, but they do make it convenient for the waiters not the guests.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwight R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BJsSteakhouse, Public Relations Manager at BJ's Steakhouse, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback in regards to seating arrangements. We like to know your opinions to improve a better dining experience for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“OK on Sunday afternoon”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

I visited BJ's with a group of about 8 people late on a Sunday afternoon. (They close at 8 p.m.) This establishment came highly recommended but I was very disappointed in the slow service. It took an exceptionally long time to get served once we placed our drink and food orders. And somehow the waitress (who was sweet and friendly) misunderstood my order and served the appetizer I had ordered for the group as part of my meal. The fried pickles were good though and the group enjoyed them; however they would have been better as an appetizer. The other members of the group seemed satisfied with their food, although no one seemed to be raving about it. I found the menu and the quality typical of the kind of fare you find at a bar & grill. Definitely not for vegetarians!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Virginia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BJ's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to BJ's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing