We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great coffee stop” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Java Joint - CLOSED

Java Joint
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating
Waverly, Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A great coffee stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

We like to visit this coffee shoppe whenever we visit Bardstown. It has excellent coffee and other related beverages. There are always plenty of sweets to go with. We've never had any of there other food to eat but it always looks fresh and appetizing. One drawback is the hours, closing relatively early and not open on Sunday. Great artwork showcasing local artists. A good place to relax and visit.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank churchhaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    21
    6
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marion, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delishly refreshing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

The java joint was crowded the day we went due to the arts and crafts festival but there was still a couple seat left and im sure glad we stayed, The man making the food in the back was taking pride in all tha the did and he was good at it. The decor was nice and inviting. My friend and i got 2 different paninies and split them, which again was another great decision. The baked good were on display and the apple cake was delicious i give this place 2 thumbs up and the service was good.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank armstrongjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrific lunch spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

On the way to a distillery tour we stumbled upon this little gem of a breakfast/lunch spot in downtown Bardstown, KY. The service and food were both terrific. The couple who waited upon us and prepared our food provided us with some lively conversation about Mammoth Cave, which was fun. The food was outstanding - we both had a combo 1/2 panini sandwich with 1/2 salad, and there were lots of extra delights added to our plates - fresh veggies with dip, fresh fruit, and a bean salad. The atmosphere was quirky and the premises are relatively small, but we arrived a little early for lunch so there was no wait at all. If you are ever on the road between Lexington and Mammoth Cave, this lunch spot merits a stop on the way!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sanr0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Primo lunch spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

Panini sandwich plate was delicious. Meat fresh lean. Sides were interesting and fresh. Iced coffee with refill nice.
Hometown feel, owner operator. Supports local commerce.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mnsparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
“Totally insulted!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2010

Come with friends every Christmas. Had spent morning and big money in town. Went to Java Coffee for a drink since we had eaten there in other years. Received our drinks and in a short time was asked to move because 3 other people had come in and they thought that they were going to eat. The 1 lady also came with "go" cups of ice indicating she wanted us to leave. When I went to pay and told her I was very insulted she told me to go to the library to sit. Said she was insulted also. How so very,very ! We were staying at B&B Maple Hill Manor. The owners were told of the treatment we got and will be sure to pass the word on. I swear this is told the exact way it happened.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy39604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Java Joint also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing