We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most enchanting, homey and relaxing place to...”
other travellers have booked this property
THE GENERAL'S CABIN
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
THE GENERAL'S CABIN
Spend sunny days or listen to rain drop on our tin roof tucked under the porch Just step into this beautiful poplar and oak cabin
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
THE GENERAL'S CABIN
Spend sunny days or listen to rain drop on our tin roof tucked under the porch
Just step into this beautiful poplar and oak cabin
Dappled morning light
View from the loft.
Cozy fire
Pet Friendly- No Charge
twin beds with egyptian cotton bedding- get ready for a good nights sleep
Enjoy a good book  or read about the General and his wife
Even cooking becomes a pleasure overlooking woodland views
dreamy days
stocked pond with woodland views
Sun dappled kitchen in the afternoon
picnic by the pond
watch a good movie and tuck in by our second fireplace
Lovely kitchen
Take a peek into the cabin
tree lined drive to the cabin nestled in the woods
Sunny dappled window
Main Bathroom with tiled shower/tub as well as washer/dryer.
Handmade cabinets with double granite sinks in master bathroom
A good read in the master bathroom?
Wall of windows from the outside looking in.
Bathroom with step in shower off second bathroom with twin beds
Relax in comfort on our sectional sofa around a cozy fire.
A peek into the second bedroom with 2 built in twin beds
Sun dappled trees in early spring
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Beattyville, Kentucky

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Susan P
1 review
“The most enchanting, homey and relaxing place to stay during our wedding!”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The history alone makes this cabin the most interesting and charming place to stay. The Masseys share a beautiful story that you can read during the visit. The property is absolutely beautiful and we enjoyed fishing and hiking, even seeing deer. The bed was very comfortable and the fireplace warmed us on the cool evenings after cooking dinner in the huge well stocked kitchen. We can't wait to plan another trip to the General's Cabin and I have already told all my friends about it...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the trees outside
Liked least: Grounds inaccessible for walking due to steep hills
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Oct 2014
Sorry you were not as pleased as prior guests . The property surrounding the cabin is typical of the rolling foothills of Appalachia. This guest was physically unable, per her own report to enjoy all the property had to offer, including a mile long path that winds through a magical pine forest,or enjoy the vistas overlooking Walker's Creek. Also, very sorry that you were unable to walk the path off the drivway to the private pond with dock and stocked for fishing. There was plenty of level area that could be accessed,from the driveway to the cabin, but sadly rains prevented that during the time this guest was in residence. The interior walls, whicch are golden oak were flush when the cabin was completed, but as the wood seasoned in place it naturally produced gaps. Perhaps, the General should have known better, but it was his first foray into building. Many think the quirkiness of this cabin, which include a wall of windows, some at an angle, a front door made of black walnut with glass inserts taken from the side panel windows of a 74 vega, and the natural gaps that occured over time charming. The cabin is a one of a kind, and not "cookie cutter" in any way. Kentucky is a magnificent place, and this piece of property is stunning ( see prior reviews on this site.) I knew after rehabbing my father's home and providing it to the public for a vacation opportunity these past 10 years that not every one would feel the same way. There is a vacation spot out there for everyone. Thanks for taking your time to provide a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kris L
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
“If You Need To Make The World Go Away For A Week Or A Day The General's Cabin Is The ONLY Place To Stay”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a fantastic week with our 3 dogs just leaving the big city behind to enjoy the quiet and serenity only the country can offer. This was our first stay at The General's Cabin and certainly won't be our last. Joy and Mike were wonderful with getting us set up and booking the time and more than just accommodating.

I enjoyed the fishing pond every morning and every afternoon for some meditation and hopes of landing a big one. While there was only an 8" fish taking my bait I dared to dream of landing one of the two 2' catfish I saw taunting me. Having my own private fishing hole was a joy unto itself.

We had the best of intentions to get out to see Red River Gorge but the cabin and hiking trails kept us happy enough that we chose to stay cooking and enjoying the walking trails. Max, Kandy, and Kapone were so thrilled to be able to frolic in the woods and became a little homesick for the cabin when we got them home.

The 5 of us are looking forward to booking another stay at The General's Cabin. If you need to recharge your batteries and get a well deserved break this is THE place to stay. The rates are very reasonable for what you. Actually the price for all of the amenities is not just reasonable but it's a bargain.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's too hard to choose. It was too perfect for us to pin it down to one thing.
Liked least: I'm a cooking snob but I did miss my henckels knives.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2014
Thanks so much for the kind words and for taking your time to write such a lovely review. Please do return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Destin, Florida
Reviewed 30 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall ambiance
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
megmcc201...
Brattleboro, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rustic Elegance”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay at the the General's Cabin. comfortable and homey, with impeccable attention to detail. Joy has a flair for interior design, and fresh flowers on the table when we arrived made us feel welcome.

We arrived after dark, and the windy road to the cabin was a challenge, but well worth the trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The charming eclectic decor and comfort
Liked least: the windy road to get there
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington
Reviewed 19 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing