We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hidden Gem”
other travellers have booked this property
Bear Lair
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bear Lair
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Bear Lair
Swing
First Cave
Overhang
Our very own 'Natural Bridge'
Bear Track Lake
Second Cave
A few of our pets
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Beattyville, Kentucky

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jenninewe...
Georgetown, Kentucky
2 reviews
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 1 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My daughter and I stayed here last weekend and we had one of the best times of our lives. Despite the rain we were able to hike, fish, and boat without issue. The cabin was immaculate and supplied every need we could think of. We had the best time fishing, boating, and hiking, especially with Rocco - the trail guide dog. He loved showing us the way to all the hiking points of interest. Having Rocco with us was such an unexpected pleasure. The grounds were well taken care of and so welcoming. We can't wait to come back for another visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!!
Liked least: Not having phone service in the cabin, but we adapted :).
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2016
Thanks for your review. You are the type of people we developed this place for. Hope you return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara O
Springboro
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
Reviewed 21 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My husband and myself spent two days at this very lovely cabin on the lake. Unfortunately the weather didn't co-operate for us to go out on the lake or sit outside for very long on the swing right over the water. The sun did come out long enough to explore the many acres this place has for hiking. We found several caves. One had a picnic table right there as well. We also found the property's own "Natural Bridge" nearby. The cabin was very cozy especially for two people. There was a sofa bed, but I think it would be too crowded with more people. As I said, there was an electric boat you can use and go out on the lake for fishing which is permitted. There aren't many restaurants nearby, but we went to the Park Lodge for a tasty meal and dessert! The road coming in is a bit of a challenge, so if you have a car that rides low, be careful. That would be our only complaint. The owner's have three dogs that are very friendly. Rocco was our guide for all our adventures!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How peaceful the area was
Liked least: The road leading to the cabin!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2016
We're are glad you came and hope you return. It is gratifying when people have the same appreciation that we have felt over the years towards this wonderful place.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom L
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A absolutly wonderful experience”
Reviewed 24 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This exceeded my expectations. The cabin was well furnished, and very comfortable. The lake was beautiful, and the electric powered boat was a lot of fun to use.
From the deck we could see lots of fish, and large catfish.
The hiking trails were great, the caves were awesome. On our hikes we were accompanied by Roco, a beautiful well behaved dog. Roco was a great companion on the hikes.
There were no mosquitoes, chiggers, or ticks.
I would highly recommend this place to my friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy, the all around beauty, lake, woods, hiking trails, and caves.
Liked least: Everything was great!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2016
Thank you for the kind words. It is great when visitors perceive the same kind of beauty in this place that we have over the years. Roco also thanks you and hopes you return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua S
Mason, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Bear Track Lake Adventures is truly a hidden gem in the red river gorge area. Me and a couple of friends have fell in love with this place the first time we stayed. We have now stayed 6 separate times in the past 3 years. This place is everything you could want for a get away. Gourgous scenery, lake, hiking trails, fishing, boating, and peace and quite. Fred and his wife are great hosts to their beautiful property. Super friendly along with their three dogs who are your trail guides and give you a sense of security when hiking the trails and sitting near us at night when we have fires going.

When we first started going we would camp in the caves which was an awesome experience. We recently decided to stay in one of his cabins "sleeping bear" and let me say there is no going back to the caves. This cabin was amazing overlooking the lake with access to a dock and boat. At night you can walk out to your own fire pit and grill with piles of wood ready for you. The cabin was super clean giving you everything you needed for the week. Beds we clean. Towels, dishes, soap, cable tv, pool table, fridge, stove, dishwasher, and a hot tub down stairs. This place is awesome.

We feel like this is our second home and will continue to go back yearly. Anyone who loves nature and a beautiful place to stay must visit bear track lake adventures.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim H
Enid, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazingly beautiful and peaceful!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We had the best time we were actually only suppose to stay 2 nights but luckily we were able to stay three and we were thrilled. It is a very relaxing and tranquil setting. We adored the dogs on the property and loved going for a hike with Rosco leading the way. We went to Arkansas, Tunica Miss., Nashville and Kentucky on our road trip. And our most favorite memorable relaxing part of the whole trip was staying at this beautiful oasis of a cabin and lake. Thank you so much Fred for acomadating us Okies. We will definately be back. I have to get that catfish that broke my line. HA HA! I could go on and on about this serene place. My husband and I definately recommend this place. Tell Rosco we said HI!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peaceful and very comfortable!
Liked least: Nothing loved every bit!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
5
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property
Liked least: Wood fireplace. Prefer gas
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
604ann
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst Place EVER”
Reviewed 25 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Do NOT stay here. My guy and I stayed here for 2 days recently. We were promised Wifi- no Wifi. I'm a full-time student and their advertisement for Wifi was a drawing factor. Strike one. When asked about why we didn't have Wifi as advertised, we were told by Fred that some teens who had previously stayed there had used it all up. Really Fred? And you couldn't tell us that beforehand over the phone? Absolutely dishonest. It tells me that they care more for the money than they do the customer. If you know your guest is NOT going to have Wifi (as promised), you have an ethical duty to tell them. We discovered that the large cabin next to us "Sleepy Bear's Dream" had our Wifi! When connected, it said "Connected to Bear's Lair"- in THEIR yard! So, I had to go and stand in their yard in the pitch black darkness to check on my schoolwork. Not ok, Fred! Fred claimed to not know about any of this however, as "his son took care of all of that". What a ripoff! Fred did not offer a discount as he should have. When you take away your customers' amenities (for whatever reason) you need to "comp." them: offer them a discount or something- it's just plain tacky to charge full price for something that isn't "as is" as shown or stated in the ads.

And here's where things really went downhill. We hadn't yet made it out of the car to see our cabin when 2 large dogs (the size of small horses) were jumping all over us, pawing at our bags and things. This is NOT ok. Chain your dogs up already! NOT OK, Fred. Keep your dogs in your house or on a leash. it's not ok to let your dogs jump on your guests. Period. We were trying to grill ribs on the deck one evening and there were the dogs- they'd walked up our steps and onto our back deck. Not ok!! We shouldn't have to babysit somebody else's dogs when we're on "vacation"! Strike two.

And then the worst part of all- Fred neglected to tell us that there are acorns that fall - at 30 second intervals- straight onto the tin roof. It sounds identical to somebody shooting a shotgun because the nut CRACKS really loudly on the roof and then echos across the lake and back. It's not a small crack- it's enormous. Say goodbye to any sleep you may think you're going to get. (Thank God for Ambien.) Otherwise, I'd have been screwed.

The loud, intrusive acorns shattering the silence is by far the worst part of the whole trip. If you're prone to migraines, like I am, this is one hell of a trigger. It's like a Chinese water torture and it continues to crack apart the silence every 30 seconds. Strike three. THERE WILL BE NO PEACE AND QUIET HERE, FUTURE GUESTS.

Large, pawing dogs, annoying acorns that continuously fall on the cabin (and surrounding areas, such as the patio, etc.) and no Wifi make this place the ultimate TRAINWRECK. Also, the ads fail to reveal what the cabin and area is really like- the owners cabin sits on a hill, literally right on top of your cabin! The ad doesn't show this or mention it at all! It makes it seem as if you're tucked away in a secluded area but nope- you're right at the foot of the owners cabin and you can't even walk out of your front door without Fred hanging over the porch there, ready to chat you up. it was like staying at "Uncle Fred's Place". Thankfully, Fred wasn't there 24/7, but it was extremely uncomfortable knowing that we weren't alone there. Not even close.

I spent a good bit of my time locked away in the bathroom- away from the dogs (and Fred)- where I could actually have some solace away from those damn loud acorns. Worst vacation EVER.

This is NOT the place to come for a relaxing, quiet time. If you want to stay in a great little getaway that offers Wifi AND peace and quiet- stay at Rimrocks Dogwood Cabins in Elizabethtown, Illinois- only a few miles away from Garden of the Gods. Awesome place.

Tell your customers if they're not going to have Wifi, Fred! We wouldn't have wasted two days of our lives here had we known that beforehand. How about a refund? Or at least a 50% discount. We didn't sign on to wrestle with 2 large dogs and not receive Wifi for two days.

Awful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: No Wifi as advertised! Loud cracking acorns falling on cabin 24/7. Large, unchained dogs pawing at us daily.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing