We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cincinnati
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bellevue
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“NEVER again”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We booked the hotel in advance not knowing the location and the look/feel of the hotel and seemed impressed when we arrived. We had a busy day and didn't get back to the room until late. When we decided to go to bed, we pulled down the sheets, and there was an awful crusted, brown stain (2 of them actually). Looked almost like dried blood. We were grossed out and called down to the front desk asking for fresh sheets. He said he would be right up. An hour passed, no sheets. We called again. He then said "You could come down here and get them instead." We said that seemed like poor customer service since he already said he was on his way an hour ago. He said ok he'd bring them to us. We asked about how long because by this time it was around 1am and we were exhausted and wanted to sleep, he said 10 minutes. Around 2:15 we still had not gotten any sheets and decided just to check out. Asked to speak to the manager on duty, it was him. He was just sitting there and appeared to have no intention of bringing the sheets to us. We showed him the gross sheet that was on our bed. He said nothing. Not even an apology. He told his he was not authorized to give us any money back or any discount and to have a nice day (like that was possible after checking out at 2:30 AM and driving all the way back to our home a couple hours away). He gave us their GM's card to call today. We have tried calling and the staff literally beats around the bush so we do not speak to her. We finally left our phone number and she has yet to call us back. I STRONGLY recommend that you do not stay here. Horrible service and awful quality control. I am sure they would not want to sleep on that stuff or be treated that way so they should not treat their guests that way!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mellowmallory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cincinnati, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear mellowmallory,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I am sorry you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    75
    38
    13
    15
See reviews for
81
43
5
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wauseon, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I am washing my clothes out now, as my "non-smoking" room was not really that. Really, everything else was ok, but that is frustrating. We thought we smelled SOME smoke in the room when we entered, but didn't think it would be enough to warrant switching rooms. Now that I'm home, and am smelling it on everything that was in my bag, I realize it was pretty bad.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopester84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cincinnati, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear hopester84,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry about the room smelling like cigarette smoke. We will address this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoughton, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

For the price, clean and spacious room. Friendly staff that greeted us each time we arrived. Didn't notice any noise problems and good convenient location. For less that half the price, would stay here again for quick access to Cincinnati.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shrkbaithoohaha2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel two years ago for spring break because it was by far the best rate, military $77 a night. We decided to try it again this year and the rate was STILL $77 for active duty military families. Rooms are clean, have a fridge & microwave, indoor pool, and free breakfast with a pancake maker that makes great pancakes. Right across from a trolly stop that will take you almost anywhere for $1. Or $3.50 for an all-day pass. Minutes from the Aquarium, Reds Stadium. Downtown Cincinnati, and the most awesome children's park that sits right on the river walk. We will definitely do Cincinnati again at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MangumFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, KY
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Usually this has been one of my favorite places to stay just across river from Cincinnati. I have given positive reviews in the past of this property. It is right by big boy, a bus station, very close to city but free parking and smaller hotel than in the city nearby. However, this visit had some issues. Had to wait over five minutes to check in even though it was only 7 at night. Was recognized as platinum member, given water and chips. We went to indoor pool, and there were plenty of towels but water was very cold. Many kids were there but saw teeth chattering, etc. slept ok, others are right about thin walls. Design for hotel is about two or three older than newest ones, but flat tv and fridge, micro in rooms. Breakfast underwhelmed. Eggs super overdone and dry, even for hotel eggs. There was either part of a plastic bag or Saran Wrap covering in the gravy. Some wound up in my mouth. They asked, how bfast was, we told them, and they apologized, but as of when we left 10 minutes later still had not changed gravy or taken away. Finally, next morning wife finished shower and looked down at towel as was drying off, and found mascara on it in two places. She was not wearing any makeup. Wondering if it just did not come out in wash, she ran water over it and it came out easily. Soo, there were towels in the room that were left from previous people in room that had not been changed, the large bath towels. Disconcerting. Ultimately, it seems that overall the hotel has slipped a few notches compared to other hie hotels. We don't plan on staying there again for awhile.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank debatecoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cincinnati, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear debatecoach,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel and being one of our Priority Club Rewards Members. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I am disappointed that on this visit you were inconvenienced by the condition of the breakfast served and if you found the room accommodations to be sub par. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We arrived on March 20th for a 2 night stay. I had requested a quiet room so that I could sleep comfortably (I'm pregnant), and a room that an animal hadn't been in because I'm allergic and can't use my inhaler (because I'm pregnant).

We arrived around 1:30 in the afternoon, I believe. The location wasn't an issue. I was aware that it was behind a Frisch's and that wasn't an issue for us. It was close to Newport, which was nice.

We were checked in by a lady with brown hair that was probably in her 30's. She was also in the dining room during breakfast. She was really nice and friendly. The staff that worked the breakfast bar were also very friendly. I don't really have any complaints regarding the staff.

The room: We were placed in room 111. It was one of the first rooms on the first floor. It definitely wasn't quiet. Our room was on the way to some exits and the pool. We constantly heard people going down the hall (and their conversations). We heard the "neighbors" leaving with their child as well. I'm not sure who was in the room above us, but I believe it was a very fast dog and an elephant. At times it sounded like someone or something was running around in the room. There was also a lot of stomping going on up until about midnight and it started again around 6 in the morning. This was the situation on both nights. We didn't complain, because honestly, what could have been done about it?

Cleanliness: The hotel was in fairly good shape. Except for a few minor things, our room was clean. The only things I noticed were the condition of the bathtub (it had chipping), it also had "mat marks" along with staining and the lamps in the room had dust on them.

The bed: My husband and I woke up sore both mornings. You could feel the springs in the bed. I woke up several times throughout the night in pain. The mattress desperately needs replaced.

Another issue: the mini fridge was pretty loud when we were trying to sleep. It made a loud "buzzing" noise.

The pool: I believe I've read where other people had this same experience. We decided to get in the pool our first night there. It was completely empty, which was odd. We soon realized why. The water was freezing cold! We quickly found the areas where the warm water was coming from and stood near them. After a few minutes, we had to get out. It was entirely too cold to enjoy.

The breakfast: I know I was curious about what was offered, so I hope this helps. Aside from the eggs, the same food was offered both days and consisted of: pancakes (like a waffle machine), muffins (banana nut and blueberry), bagels, toast, english muffins, biscuits with sausage gravy, eggs (first day they looked like frozen omelets and the second day was scrambled eggs), cinnamon rolls, cereal (4 kinds, I know there were cheerios and froot loops), milk, juice (orange and apple) and there may have been yogurt. We had no complaints about the food offered. There was a large variety and everything tasted fine. The ladies working on the food were also really nice.

Overall, we had a nice stay. There were plenty of channels offered for tv, the area felt safe, I got hungry at 10 pm on the second night and luckily, frisch's was next door and open until 11 pm. We didn't have any serious issues. It's in a convenient location as well. It's just minutes from Newport.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fusionchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We arrived at the hotel later in the evening and the woman who greeted us was very friendly. There were chocolate chip cookies available that were quite tasty. The lobby was clean and funished comfortably. We were told about the hotel's amenities while we checked in. The room was conveniently located on the first floor. The room was a tad dated, but still very nice. The carpet and padding could be more plush. It felt like the cement was right under the carpet. The bathroom could have used some refreshing and the floor moldings were starting to come off of the wall. That said, the room was very clean, the beds comfortable, and the television reception and clarity was great. The only issue I really had were the guests staying above us. They were speaking very loudly and it sounded as if heavy furniture was being dragged across the room. I'm not sure if the walls/ceilings are paper thin or if they were just incredibly loud, but I had to go to the front desk to ask for help. That noise had been going on from around 10pm to midnight. A nice gentleman stated he would contact them about the noise. The noise did stop for about 30 minutes before starting again, but by then I was just too tired and finally fell asleep. Overall, my stay was nice and was only effected by other guests with no fault to the staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueBlueChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cincinnati, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear SueBlueChic,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am delighted that you have mentioned our friendly staff. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. I would also like to apologize for any disturbance you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are being reviewed by the hotel's management and appropriate action will be taken.

Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellevue
Comfort Suites
#3 of 5 in Newport
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cincinnati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cincinnati

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cincinnati
Address: 110 Landmark Dr, Bellevue, KY 41073-1304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Bellevue
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bellevue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cincinnati 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bellevue Hotel is the newest addition to Newport on the Levee. If you're looking for a place to stay outside of Cincinnati, come to the Holiday Inn Express Bellevue - Newport on the Levee. Our Bellevue, Kentucky hotel offers such amenities as an indoor pool, a complimentary hot breakfast bar and a 24-hour business center for your convenience, along with a well-equipped fitness center. Free high-speed Internet access is also available throughout the hotel. Located just three blocks from Newport on the Levee, this Holiday Inn Express Hotel near Cincinnati offers you convenient access to the Newport Aquarium and the Levee itself. You can go shopping, see a movie or check out one of the many restaurants on the Levee. Also nearby is BB Riverboats, which offers a variety of different cruises on the Ohio River. From these riverboats, you can see the Cincinnati skyline while enjoying good food and music. For sports fans, you can enjoy a nearby Cincinnati Reds baseball game or a Cincinnati Bengals football game. The Holiday Inn Express Bellevue is right across the river from downtown Cincinnati, and our hotel is minutes from businesses such as Ashland Oil, Arthur Andersen and Cincinnati Bell. The Northern Kentucky Convention Center is also just three miles away from our hotel in Bellevue. Come stay with us and see what our special hotel in northern Kentucky has to offer you. Book your reservations today for our great Bellevue hotel deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cincinnati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Cincinnati Se Newport
Bellevue Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing