We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little run down”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Benham School House Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Benham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We have stayed here a few times in the past and always had a good time. Our room was a little run down, hole worn in the chair etc. We really like the Benham School House Inn but if they don't get their act together, they won't stay in business. I think the clerks working at the front desk could care less if we stayed or not.
On the good side, there was a bear in the parking lot the morning we left and we had to dodge a large pile of bear scat on our way out. How cool is that !

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patiodadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Benham School House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

Thank you Sandy and Benham staff! The Inn is very charming and staying in an historic school building was so cool! The location, tri-city area is worth visiting so much history and beautiful quaint. We had a beautiful view from our bedroom. The is a coal mine tour you can take and a museum of coal mining that is worth seeing. Black mountain is a must breath taking views!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night on our coal mining tour weekend. Went to lynch, ky where portal 31 is. The coal mine tour.
Our room has 2 double beds , fireplace, bathroom w/ tub. Quaint decorations. Such a great idea to make use of an old historic building. Other towns should take note. Great price. Remember you are in the mountains, so the roads are curvy. The town itself has Pizza Hut , rite aid , dollar general etc.
We walked all over the school investigating. Our son was intrigued with the lockers.
They do serve breakfast also. Tasty!
Trust me for a great time on a weekend come here for a step back in time to experience an aspect of what the coal town boom was like. Kudos to the residents here who have had the foresight to restore such an important part of coal mining towns in eastern ky.
Tip: eat @ Charlotte's hoagie shop

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phislamajama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We were quite pleased with our stay here. The room was nice with a comfortable king size bed. Decorated in a nice style. the employes were very nice as well. Breakfast was good as well served in a spacious room that used to be the Principal's Office. They have a little reading room stocked with books. We wandered around the town park and loved the town as well. Historic coal town has a coal mining museum that was unfortunately closed when we were there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

My husband and I stayed at Benham Schoolhouse Inn mid September. We spent a night in the Honeymoon Suite (room number 1960.). It has a king size bed and large jacuzzi tub. It is a very small and quite town but we loved the stay. We loved the mountains although we didn't see any bear. We also loved Portal 31 Mine in Lynch that you can tour. It is amazing to think this was a very active mining town. We enjoyed it so much we went back with other family in October.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Java2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Located in the old coal town of Benham, Kentucky, the School House Inn functioned as a school from 1926 to 1961. In 1992, it was turned into a hotel. The setting of the Inn helps you to visualize of the early 1900's Hollywood’s movies. Both the aspects of old school and residence hall are brought together to offer you one of the comfortable accomodations in the surrounding area. The rooms are large and the beds are comfortable.

After a long drive from Williamson, West Virginia to Benham, I could not ask for a more comfortable place to stay. In addition to that, the staff is ready to offer you any extra thing that will make your stay memorable. At first, I was skeptical about the location of the place, especially at night, but when you get in the room, you see a different aspect of the Inn. I loved and will probably return some other day if I have the opportunity.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hackbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012 via mobile

We love quirky places! Our stay was a step down memory lane even though we didn't go to school here. The blocks in the building were the same as my childhood school. Check in was the office. The hallways looked like school hallways lined with lockers. However, the rooms were very up to date and like any hotel. Bed was firm and bedding was soft. Furniture was nice wood materials. There was a fireplace but it did not work. I overheard from another person asking about them that they don't work. The only thing that made you remember you were in a school house was the blocks around the window. Hot water seemed to run out quickly so be advised. They do not have a resturaunt as advertised but do serve a continental breakfast. There are nearby restaraunts. Staff was very friendly and knowledgable about the history of the building. We even got a tour of the place! We will stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PlunderGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benham
21.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 2 in Harlan
49 reviews
15.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Big Stone Gap
31 reviews
21.0 mi away
Super 8 Norton VA
Super 8 Norton VA
#1 of 4 in Norton
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
The Inn at Wise
The Inn at Wise
#2 of 2 in Wise
86 reviews
12.4 mi away
Harlan Campground, Cabin, & Kayak Rentals
21.1 mi away
Mount Aire Motel
Mount Aire Motel
#2 of 2 in Harlan
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benham School House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benham School House Inn

Address: 100 Central Avenue, Benham, KY 40807
Region: United States > Kentucky > Benham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Benham
Price Range: £48 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Benham School House Hotel Benham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing