We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a comfortable stay.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Benham School House Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Benham B&B and Inns
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
222 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Always a comfortable stay.”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Over the past several years I have had the opportunity to stay at the Schoolhouse several times. It has always been a pleasant stay, and the history accompanying the old school and community make for a unique experience. Recently they have put a lot of work into the outdoor areas, including refinishing the tennis courts.
The rooms are somewhat dated, but have a very comfortable feel. The conversion from an old school to hotel led to a slightly different room layout in some rooms. They are all very roomy and have always been clean. The staff are helpful and full of information about the area.
The continental breakfast may not be enough for some, and is limited in selection, but there is a restaurant in town as well as a country store a few miles down the road.
Overall, it's a comfortable place to get some rest and learn a little small town eastern Kentucky history.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank KYBATMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    20
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
18
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cumberland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed Valentines night. They had a special that included a meal. The meal was excellent. The room was very nice and quiet and the bed was extremely comfortable. This is an excellent use of a building that is built like a battleship.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sterling, va
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The Benham Schoolhouse Inn is a renovated school that was turned into an Inn over 20 years ago. I went three years to school here and I find it a nice place to stay. The Inn still has the looks of an older school. The lockers are still there,the old windows are still in place and the gynm is still there as a huge dining room that is used for special occasions. The room we stayed in had two double beds that were comfortable. We had plenty of hot water. The electric heater was really good too. Maybe too much as we turned it off one night. The room did not have a microwave or refrigerator. The WIFI was good. The TV was old but it had a reasonably good picture. They also had a good continental breakfast with bagels,toast,cereal and plenty of coffee. They also have plenty of memorabilia all around the Inn which makes it a very interesting place. All in all a nice place to stay in a very rural area.

Room Tip: No elavator so if you have a hard time with steps you will want to request first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hallrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, TN
Level Contributor
99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My husband and I were in the area and decided to stay at this establishment. The hotel brings back such memories from childhood when you walk in and remember your elementary school with the stairs, the lockers, the tiled floors--it is absolutely like walking back in time. The rooms are comfortable with huge windows that need to be darkened by drapes but it is your childhood classroom! The bathrooms are a little small but bearable. We ordered pizza in and just hung out in the room for the experience. During the night, we did hear a big bump--even better since we were wishing for a haunting experience. Go with an open mind and have fun! I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My wife and I recently stayed here and was very disappointed in our room, the hospitality and the overall experience. We had stayed at The Inn before and really enjoyed our visit in the spring of 2013. The staff at that time was friendly, accommodating and very helpful with any questions about local attractions we had! Something has changed in that the same atmosphere is not present as before. The room was cold and musky and the bedding was worn.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berea, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

My husband and I made confirmed reservations three weeks in advance for a handicap room. After driving for several hours through torrential rains and arriving after dark, my husband entered to check us in. We are in our 70's. My husband was informed they had no room available for us on the first floor and no elevators. Now we were placed in the unfortunate position of having to find lodging for the night in a small, rural community with no other hotel/motel in town. While Benham is a quaint, charming little town in the mountains of KY, we felt as if the Schoolhouse Inn could not have cared less about us and the unfortunate position they had placed us in.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank plthompson44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I strongly recommend the Benham School House Inn.... if you can find it. It is up the hill across from the Police Station and City Hall. The former school is clean and beautifully restored. The Inn is run by the local community college and has had lots of money to spend on the restoration The dining areas are exceptionally small group friendly. Continental breakfast is average but served in the most lovely dining rooms. The hotel is obviously not a money maker but more of a community restoration of public funds. A coal industry museum is within walking distance. The City of Benham borders Cumberland, Kentucky. Nearby Cumberland is a small decaying city imploding along with the local mainstay industrial base. Room s are extra clean and great attention to detail has been made. Antique furniture is very tasteful and sitting areas are nearby. I strongly recommend this hotel. The down side of this is that one of the desk clerks did nothing but talk on the telephone. It was obvious to her I was an unwelcome distraction in spite of having only rented 3 rooms for the night. If you like social interaction good or bad, this might not be the place for you. Otherwise it is an exceptionally interesting, clean and safe place excepting if there really are black bears outside? The nearby communities are decaying eyesores and offer little in terms of entertainment or restaurants. The greater area offers an excellent study of post-industrial demise. Other than remaining within 1500 feet of the hotel the area should be avoided unless you like being depressed.

Room Tip: Any room should be excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newadvisor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benham
13.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Big Stone Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
22.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Harlan
Comfort Inn Harlan
#1 of 1 in Harlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
17.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Norton
Holiday Inn Norton
#3 of 4 in Norton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
The Inn at Wise
The Inn at Wise
#2 of 2 in Wise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
22.5 mi away
Mount Aire Motel
Mount Aire Motel
#1 of 1 in Harlan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
19.8 mi away
Best Western Of Wise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benham School House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benham School House Inn

Property: Benham School House Inn
Address: 100 Central Avenue, Benham, KY 40807
Region: United States > Kentucky > Benham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Benham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Benham School House Hotel Benham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing