We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Hong Kong Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 52 Restaurants in Berea
Restaurant details
Berea, Kentucky
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is easily one of the restaurants in the area, and it is an excellent buffet for Chinese food. The service at this place is very good as the staff is very attentive to the customer. There are areas to sit and be part of the ambiance of the other customers and there are booths for those who do not like to eat in front of others. There is a wide variety of food types. I would advise anyone, whether a Chinese food enthusiast or not to try it out.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vincent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berea, Kentucky
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing Chinese Food!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

If Hong Kong Buffet was closer to the College I would probably end up there almost every day because I can’t stop raving about how good the food is! The honey and General Tso’s chicken is so amazing! The Fried rice is a little lacking but everything else is some of the best Chinese food I’ve ever had. And the value is really great as well!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TaylorSabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Ash, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Run Down, But The Food Was Fresh”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Sunday, and neither my daughter nor I had a desire to fight the crowds pouring into the traditional Buffets serving ham and eggs, so we opted for something different. Tucked away in a strip mall a couple of blocks off of the main road leading to Berea College, the Hong Kong Buffet seemed to fit the bill beautifully. Pleasantly surprised that it showed open at 11:00 a.m., we made our way in. Although it was already 11:15, we were still the first ones there. The three buffet stations seemed relatively empty when we walked in, and fearing that we had come through an unlocked door and they were still closed, awe asked the waitress if they were indeed open. Assured that they were, we were told it would be a few minutes before they were fully set up. We ordered, and quickly received, our sodas. The décor is sparse and typical Chinese buffet: Oriental decorations around with a couple of very large backlit scenes hung on the walls. We noted a couple of young children running around, obviously part of the family. They were well behaved, and waited patiently for their food (they too, hit the buffet) as we did. A few moments later, were told that the buffet was ready. Although one of the three sections was still in the process of being prepared, there was plenty to choose from in the remaining two stations. I started off with the hot and sour soup topped with some crispy noodles (as always), and piled on the usual assortment for my first plate: Shrimp and (imitation) Crab with cheese, Mussels, Lo Mein Noodles, Mushroom Chicken and Meatloaf. The Hot and Sour soup was very good, warm and earthy with plenty of vegetable and tofu pieces in the broth. The other items were all hot, fresh and well-seasoned. Nothing was too spicy, even the spicy things. A return trip with a second plate revealed that all of the wells were now full, with the addition of steamed and fried fish, fried and peel and eat shrimp, crab Rangoon, pepper steak, sweet and sour pork …..And the list goes on. There is a section for the kids (non-Chinese) that include chicken nuggets, fries, pizza; the usual American food one finds at these things. The rest I would describe as “typical Chinese Buffet fare”, but the quality here was very high. Now keep in mind that the buffet had just opened, so we had the luxury of getting to it all just after it was presented. The real test of any buffet is a few hours later. How full is everything kept? How well maintained is the temperature? Hot food hot and cold food cold? New food dumped into old? A buffet can be a dark, scary place in the food world. Thirty minutes after opening, it seemed to be going OK in the food safety department.
Nothing exotic here on this visit (except for some frog legs, which were absolutely delicious), but good, quality fare. The buffet price was reasonable, and although the atmosphere was a little dark and sparse, I was not disappointed. I would put this as a place to go when in the mood for Chinese in Berea.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GregS18348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It's an Asian buffet”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

With a weird assortment of other food thrown in. Hand dipped instead of soft serve ice cream is a nice touch.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank likestodineky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
959 reviews
647 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Middle Grade Buffet”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This is a middle grade Chinese Buffet. The food is acceptable and the service okay. The selection is rather limited, but for Berea, probably the best you are going to get. The shrimp is over cooked, and the Peppered Chicken too soft. Still an okay place for an inexpensive meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CherokeeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hong Kong Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing