We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Especially Nice Hotel and College”
Review of Boone Tavern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boone Tavern Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Berea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Narrows, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An Especially Nice Hotel and College”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

One of the very few places a student can attend and not have to pay tuition. Berea College has a long history of serving the Appalachian youth who are bright/gifted and need financial support. The Hotel is operated with the assistance of students at Berea College. All students have to work as part of their Berea Experience. The academic standards are high and students who attend there get a wonderful education. Visit Boone Tavern Hotel near campus and learn about this fine college. The food is excellent and the stay will be rewarding. Don't let the word "tavern" fool you: it has no bar. I would agree with all the other fine reviews here. I have stayed here quite a number of times, the last being before 2013, but there was no choice available for the last date...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lplummer2132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BooneTavernHotel, Manager at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We hope you come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    152
    45
    16
    6
See reviews for
87
277
31
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We made a side trip to Berea on our way to Florida as my wife had stopped in here with her parents when she was a kid over 45 years ago! The thing she remembered was a desert called "spoonbread" and raved about it for the hour leading up to the Berea exit off I-75. I almost got tired of hearing about it. So we parked and walked over to the Boone and I was under the misconception that it had something to do with Daniel Boone - not so. Anyway, we got talking to one of the employees, said we were from Canad and my wife had a vivid recollection of the spoonbread from those many years ago. The lady (sorry, I forget her name but she's a treasure) said they still have it, went into the kitchen and brought us two servings including the rich butter that's a must. Mmmmmm. It really was wonderful and worth the trip to Berea. We bought a few packets of the mix from the gift shop and got a tip from the lady on how to improve the batter, which I'm NOT going to share here. Go there yourself.

While we were there, we got talking to a couple from Tennessee who are involved with the college and told us the story of that. Amazing place. We wish them continued success educating lots of kids who wouldn't normally have a chance at higher education. Places like this make the US of A one of the greatest countries in the world - even if we beat you in men's and women's hockey. Sorry but it's still OUR game.

Green Features: Wonderful place - epitomizes the US service industry. You've gotta try the spoonbread!!!!
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boone8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BooneTavernHotel, Manager at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Hello! What a wonderful story to share! We love when guest come whom haven't been here in a while and can see the renovations. I am excited to tell you that we are actually named after Daniel Boone. The students came up with the name back in the 1900's. We are situated on the Daniel Boone trail. We hope you consider staying with us on your next trip to the states!! Thank you so much for your wonderful review but more importantly your story!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Okay...first there is the word tavern in the title, but its not a bar. Boone Tavern is a hotel with a dining room, gift shop, and small banquet rooms. It is a lovely stop in Berea...comfortable, quiet, and well-appointed, especially during the winter when the rates are reasonable. The dining experience is not run-of-the-mill. Even if you just eat there, what you pay is worth it...the service is wonderful, the menu extraordinary, and the ingredients are sourced local. I had their version of eggs benedict for breakfast...it was like nothing I've ever had. It was delicious. The hotel operations were at one time part of Berea College's hospitality program, but even though the college no longer has the program, it is the main lodging establishment on the square, where all the artisans come together. Even if you are just passing through, take a load off and sit in the lobby for a while. It's really lovely, and the staff is helpful and attentive. I enjoyed my stay there...you will, too.

Green Features: Their green practices do not take away from the experience, but add to it.
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeMeDaVinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BooneTavernHotel, Manager at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We hope you had a chance to talk with one of our 40 Berea College students that are employed here through the college's work program. Berea College is a tuition free college. We are actually owned by Berea College. We would love to have you come back in the spring or summer for a student led tour we think you would love it! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
162 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Spent a night here with friends as part of a getaway weekend with friends. The hotel is lovely and the rooms very comfortable. Loved the little touches, like Keurig coffee makers in the rooms, and a piano player in the lobby in the evening. We had dinner at the restaurant, a well as breakfast there the next day, and both meals were wonderful. Our servers were very friendly ... you could tell they were just college kids making some money, rather than "experienced" and sometimes bored servers you sometimes run into in restaurants. We were there on a very wet, snowy weekend, so suspect we missed out on some of the ambience of this small town, but are looking forward to making a return trip in the springtime to some more of the local area. (Just to note - this is a "dry" county, so no beer/wine with dinner ... not a big deal, but was a surprise to us. Made finding somewhere to go to watch the Superbowl a bit of a challenge ... no local pubs to fill that bill!)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BooneTavernHotel, Manager at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you would like to come back in the Spring. It is so gorgeous here in the Spring. We look forward to having you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2014

My husband and I found this to be a delightful stay for a change. Our room was very comfortable and clean. We were told that all the furniture is made by students from the college. The hotel is very "green" in all the best ways. We had dinner in the dining room and loved the southern cooking. The staff was polite and helpful. The town of Berea is a college town with an arts and crafts atmosphere. We found the shops interesting to browse.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BooneTavernHotel, Manager at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for your review. Please come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

The historic Boone Tavern offers luxury accommodations with a fair price. This icon of eastern Kentucky was instrumental in making me feel at home on the road. From the antique furniture, to its Tempurpedic King sized beds; Southern hospitality with modern comfort is around every turn. Enjoy a big breakfast at the Tavern or wake up slowly to your bedside Keurig coffee machine. This respite from travel allows you to take a moment to reflect and enjoy a simplified artisan life in Berea Kentucky. If you fall and check out some of the great festivals including the Spoonbread festival! http://spoonbreadfestival.com/

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank FranklinDeWar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BooneTavernHotel, Manager at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your review! We are so excited that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that means you will be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrington, Wyoming
Level Contributor
187 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My husband and I traveled through Berea a couple of years ago and stopped to do some shopping and have lunch at the Boone Tavern. We had a lovely lunch and enjoyed our time at he small shops in the area.

We returned to Berea this past week, with my elderly parents, and were quite disappointed with the quality and price of the restaurant meals. We made reservations under the 12 Days of Christmas package, which included a made-to-order breakfast with a $25 limit. The breakfast was quite enjoyable. However, our dinner the evening before was lackluster. All around, we were disappointed.

The accommodations were lovely! We appreciated the historic ambiance of the hotel and the staff was very accommodating. We would return but probably skip the dinner next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BooneTavernHotel, Manager at Boone Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
We are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your dinner. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast. We hope you stop back by and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berea
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berea
2.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn and Suites
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lexington Berea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 10 in Berea
5 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond
Hampton Inn Richmond
#1 of 14 in Richmond
505 reviews
11.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 14 in Richmond
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boone Tavern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boone Tavern Hotel

Property: Boone Tavern Hotel
Address: 100 Main St N, Berea, KY 40403
Region: United States > Kentucky > Berea
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Berea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Boone Tavern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best reason to visit Berea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Boone Tavern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boone Tavern Berea
Hotel Boone Tavern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing