We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff- facilities a "little tired"”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Bowling Green
Jesup IA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Friendly staff- facilities a "little tired"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed at the News Inn in March 2013. We had called several hotels and none of them had rooms at the last minute, so we were grateful to find a room at the News Inn.
The facilities are not the greatest and quite dated, but the staff couldn't have been friendlier. It was quiet with several options for dining nearby. If you are looking for a resort atmosphere this is not it, but if you are looking for a place to sleep, it is fine. Fruit, Juice, Coffee and rolls for breakfast were an added plus.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    14
    13
    3
    12
See reviews for
17
17
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shelbyville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed here the night of Feb. 23, 2013. We had trouble with the tv working in our first room and the lady at the desk changed rooms for us. The second room was fine. I;'m not sure what problems the earlier reviewers had, but we have stayed here 5 or 6 times and never had a problem that was not immediately addressed and corrected. The beds were comfortable. There was a mcirowave and refridgerator. It is not a fancy new place, but it is more than adequate for an overnight, especially when we only paid $55.12 including tax. There also is a pool for summer visits. It is right next to a convenience store for late night snack visits and Olive Garden, IHOP, and Outback across the street, as well as many more restaurants in the area. it is only one block off of I-65. We definitely will stay there again. Both ladies we delat with in the office were very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

Not sure this place could pass health inspections. Cigarette burned sheets and blankets on both beds. Tub lined with brown muck/dirt. Broken safety lock, rips in chair, Heating unit turned on, but knob broken and difficult to turn off. Orange substance coming down wall. Overwhelming smell of smoke. Continental breakfast was a cardboard box of danish, 3 bananas and 2 apples. I would not wish this on anyone. This place needs some serious TLC. Don't be deceived!!!!

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bowling Green hotels

Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

Be advised, do not be fooled by previous reviews of this motel. I don't know where these people stayed but it wasn't the same News Inn of Bowling Green that we were just in last weekend. We had several rooms booked for a soccer tournament and one was worse than the next.

1) All of the members in our party had bed linens with cigarette burns in them.

2) Several of us had broken security locks on our doors

3) Several had torn furniture

4) My family had a disgusting blanket that felt like it had not been washed in months and was covered in hair.

5) The unfortunate members of our party who ended up with smoking rooms were almost ill from the intensity of the smoke odor. We were not asked whether we wanted smoking or non-smoking when we booked.

6) Last but certainly not least, a family from another soccer team brought BED BUGS home with them.

Do not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svc1713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Park
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

I did not have a reservation as I did not know how far I'd be able to drive on my way down the interstate. Special mid-week price was less than the coupon book that I'd picked up at a rest area. I just wanted a safe, clean place to sleep and shower before traveling onward. Felt very safe in spite of rooms being on the parking lot. Wifi was a pleasant bonus! This motel is surrounded by many other chain hotels, a McDonalds, and a Burger King. Limited continental breakfast in the office was enough to get me going until I could stop for lunch later on my journey.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Likestogoaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tullahoma, Tennessee
Level Contributor
125 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

I stayed at the News Inn on May 17/18 while on a business trip. The property is a 1950's style motel which has received a some refurbishing. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, and the amenities acceptable.

The facility provides basic accommodations so do not expect too much. A sweet smelling deodorizer had been used in my room and I found it annoying.

The office staff was friendly and I have nothing negative to add. This is a basic motel, what you see from the road is what you get.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tenntraveller70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flushing, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Very clean inside and out. A pleasand surprise for the price ($48.71). Coffee pot didn't work and the Internet was down all night. It worked for a bit in the morning. Otherwise, a great place and I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CableSux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowling Green hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bowling Green
Red Roof Inn Bowling Green
#15 of 35 in Bowling Green
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#23 of 35 in Bowling Green
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Bowling Green
Days Inn Bowling Green
#26 of 35 in Bowling Green
3.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bowling Green
0.8 mi away
Ramada Bowling Green
Ramada Bowling Green
#22 of 35 in Bowling Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
5.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bowling Green
Americas Best Value Inn Bowling ...
#19 of 35 in Bowling Green
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 3160 Scottsville Rd, Bowling Green, KY 42104-4416 (Formerly News Inn of Bowling Green)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Bowling Green
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Bowling Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing