We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sports bar with a twist” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Double Dogs Chow House

Double Dogs Chow House
Ranked #6 of 281 Restaurants in Bowling Green
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
327 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Sports bar with a twist”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Stopped off with my son on a Sunday afternoon. More upscale than many sports bars. The fried pickles had a moderately light corn flour coating and came out quickly. The service was terrific. BLT was excellent (county bacon). My jalepeno burger was solid (iceberg lettuce).

An excellent place if you are in the area and want to catch up on the games.

Helpful?
Thank Jabrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    103
    33
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
911 reviews
800 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Great for RIGHT CROWD”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

I really like their fresh cut salads, fries, & real beef burgers, & occasionally their Ball Park dogs. Their in-house prepared onion rings are "GREAT" !!! (It's that kinda place, to me. I don't eat burgers & hot dogs, & fries except here.) I'd like to go again to try their Chicken Pot Pie. My friends liked their steaks. The kids enjoyed the "dog bowls" that they were served with. WARNING: If you're OK with big screen TV monitors everywhere, high "decibels sound" of TV & fans trying to communicate with one another, then you'll like to visit here. Not the "Quiet, Romantic dinner place"!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JpDrumr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kentucky
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Neat Menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Neat sports bar type restaurant. The atmosphere was good and the outside dining was perfect for the beautiful fall Saturday afternoon. The menu was pretty diverse with some unique offerings. My son got the breakfast dog(bacon & egg on a hot dog) which he loved. My other son got some teriyaki wings but he didn't like them so he didn't eat them. Our service wasn't the best but it was very crowded at the time. I'd like to go back again to try some other things on the menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
99 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Locals love it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We asked locals where they like to eat and this restaurant was mentioned many times. It has a lively atmosphere and the food is very good. Lots of variety and big portions. Most items are big enough to share! A little loud during happy hour, but a very fun place to go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wombat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place-”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We visited this place because of the proximity to our hotel.
Food was ok-
We liked the pot pie/chicken options instead of hot dogs/burgers.

Staff was very efficient for a busy weekend night.

VERY LOUD!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelbear1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Double Dogs Chow House also viewed

 

Been to Double Dogs Chow House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing