We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you need lodging on Dale Hollow Lake in Kentucky this is it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dale Hollow Lake State Resort (Mary Ray Oaken Lodge)
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burkesville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2012

You won't have many options for lodging in Kentucky on Dale Hollow Lake. This state park lodge is one of the few in the state that accomodates and allows boat trailer parking on the hotel grounds. The modest rooms are clean, with balconies (limited views in summer because of tree foliage) and the resort has a restaurant. The Lake is beautiful and though you can't walk along the water at the resort if you go down to the marina the parking lot on the right has access to trails skimming the lake and on to a cove that offers great swimming. If you aren't camping this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Their king bed rooms are all handicap rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LJScar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed two nights and three days at Dale Hollow Lodge with beautiful weather. We had stayed in the lodge the first year it opened and were glad to see the additions to the property like the putt-putt, marina, etc. The lodge was clean and accommodating. Food in the dining room good as at all other state parks. My biggest beef was that we paid an upgrade for the lakeview rooms and could barely see the lake - we were on the second floor. Definitely not what I remembered from our visit in 1998. The view was perfect then and is what made me want to come back. I would suggest cutting down a few trees or at least trim them as the view is important to the ambiance of the lodge. There was actually a big dead tree directly behind the restaurant obstructing that view also. Also, dissappointed we didn't see any wildlife. We rode around the park several times and no deer in the fields or even raccoons behind the lodge as in previous trip. Additionally, we rode to the campgrounds to participate in one of the planned activities, waited and found no one showed up. Nevertheless, we had a fantastic time -- we rented a pontoon at the marina and spent an entire day of the lake. FANTASTIC!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This was a trip with my husbands place of employment! We checked in on a Thursday. Loved the pool that afternoon and then headed to the lake the next day! We brought our pontoon boat with us and my husbands boss rented a ski boat for all the kids. Well needless to say, the kids loved the lake. Beautiful weather while we were there the first part of July. The rooms are spacious and I just fell in love with the bathroom storage. DIY here I come - I'm gonna do that at home!! We did not eat at the restaurant while we were there but others in our party said it was good! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mommaroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

First time staying at the Lodge. Very clean rooms. Beautiful view of the lake. The pool is large and also very nice. Plan on eating in the lodge restaurant, because there is no place close to eat. The prices are very reasonable and the food was very good. The only drawback for us is we have stayed at other Kentucky State Parks and you can't walk along the water. The resort is on a cliff.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kbakko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We had a great time staying at Dale Hollow's State Resort. Our room was very nice with a balcony overlooking the woods - we didn't pay the upgrade for lakeview and it was fine. The service was wonderful at the hotel and at the restaurant - always a smile and they were very personally nice. There are a few things to keep in mind if you're staying here. First, there is nothing near the resort. So, plan to eat here and there's one gas station nearby. Gas up on the boat! Secondly, pay attention to the times posted for service at the restaurant. We missed breakfast one morning and spend a day hungry on the boat. Also, there is no pizza nearby and spent a hungry evening after 9pm. No big deal and we loved the resort - you just need to pay attention to your watch. The pool was really nice and the kids enjoyed a swim every evening (after swimming in Dale Hollow all day.)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracey7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I've stayed at this place several times. The rooms are always clean, staff friendly & on Friday & Saturday they have the best food on the lake. This place is well worth the drive. Great hiking trails, caves and wildlife.

Room Tip: Highest floor for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paris285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My wife and I have visited Dale Hollow Lake State Park on a number of occasions and always stay in the lodge. Rooms are basic, but have a balcony facing the lake-side of the buildings. The rooms are serviced daily. Because of the rural setting, bugs and critters are a given. Nevertheless, the park serves as a wonderful getaway.

WiFi is available. C-phone service is iffy. While a tower is on site, there is no AT&T service in the park.

Families head for the outdoor pool or find a number of other things to pass time. Dale Hollow offers one of the best freshwater lakes for fishing in the eastern US. Camping sites, cabins, a marina, hiking trails, horseback riding and a golf course are included in the park complex. Park programs and entertainment may be scheduled.

The resort restaurant serves up a variety of foods that tends to be basic—definitely not gourmet—and often mediocre. There are no other restaurants in the immediate area. The location of the resort is in a dry county, i.e. no “legal” alcohol to be found; so, ordering wine or beer with dinner is not an option.

While service can be slow, the staff is friendly and the scenery is beautiful. This is an area of Kentucky that draws us back from time to time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KyColonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burkesville
24.7 mi away
Lake Cumberland State Resort
11.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Albany
11.5 mi away
Alpine Motel
Alpine Motel
#1 of 2 in Burkesville
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Royal Inn Motel
Royal Inn Motel
#2 of 2 in Albany
21 reviews
11.5 mi away
Old Coe House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dale Hollow Lake State Resort (Mary Ray Oaken Lodge)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dale Hollow Lake State Resort (Mary Ray Oaken Lodge)

Address: 6371 State Park Rd, Burkesville, KY 42717-9500
Region: United States > Kentucky > Burkesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burkesville
Price Range: £53 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dale Hollow Lake State Resort (Mary Ray Oaken Lodge) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dale Hollow Lake State Resort (Mary Ray Oaken Lodge) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dale Hollow Lake State Resort (Mary Ray Oaken Lodge) Hotel Burkesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing