We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dale Hollow Lake State Resort (Mary Ray Oaken Lodge)
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burkesville
Certificate of Excellence
lexilou412
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible!!!!”
Reviewed 15 August 2008

The rooms very very clean and well maintained...however, the bed was comparable to sleeping on a log. The food in the resturant was by far the most terrible...well below average at best....the service was the pits, servers were rude and they were slow. Buffet was not maintained at all and we sat at least 15 minuets with a very hungry small child before someone come and took our drink order and another 10 minuets before recieving drinks. I do not recommed this stay at all! TERRIBLE!

  • Liked — it was clean
  • Disliked — the service
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank lexilou412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    27
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
23
29
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2008

Dale Hollow Lake is a good example of what State Parks can offer the traveller who just wants a peaceful retreat. However, boat hire (with 620 miles of shoreline there’s plenty to see) and golf are close by. Fireflies and racoons provide some entertainment!
There are various trails, although none are well marked from the lodge. Also, they tend to vanish then reappear again some distance further on. There is no access to the lake from the lodge or trails.
There appeared to be an excellent activity programme for children.
Rooms are classic good size motel style, clean and well presented. Lake view rooms are well worth the little extra they cost. Disabled facilities appeared to be good.
The restaurant was average at best, and for some reason the servers always steered you away from the main menu to the buffet. The much vaunted stone fireplace (see KY Parks web site) unfortunately blocked out much of the lake view.

  • Liked — The wonderful location
  • Disliked — Restaurant let it down a bit
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grumbleweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Il
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2008

accomidations were great, well maintained. Dining room service
was slow but food was average to good.

  • Liked — clean and well maintained
  • Disliked — no cellular phone service
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RNindanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2007

This place is great. very well laid out, all rooms have a view. food and pool and service were great. nice little gift shop too. Rooms were clean and smell clean too !!! nice balconey with chairs and table, no fridge though, you have to rent them from the front desk. The resturant has nice patio with lake view if you want to eat outside. Remember, this place is out in the middle of no-where so there is not a lot of night-life going on except in the woods, no fancy places to eat or swanky malls or celebrity sightings !!! A good place to unwind and leave your ego at home.Oh, a great place to take tons of photos.

  • Liked — The lake views, clean rooms, service / food .
  • Disliked — you have to rent a fridge !
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mattyinLansing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northville, MI
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2005

This is perhaps my favorite of our recent trip thru KY/TN. We stayed at the Mary Ray Oaken Lodge in Dale Hallow Park. The staff was very friendly and helpful; the daily activities were well planned for families. The lodge itself reminded me of some Nat’l Park lodges out west, only newer. The breakfasts were overwhelming and tasty, the dinner menu needs a bit more variety, but everything was good. The room had a great view of the lake, was very comfortable, better than most Holiday Inns, and for $80 this has to be the best family vacation value in KY – I was shocked at how empty the lodge was (OK it was midweek, but this place was fantastic). We enjoyed the outdoor pool, though a little cold, it was clean and well kept. We rented a pontoon boat one day at the Park Marina, another $80 value, the kids caught a few dozen bluegill and we cruised the lake in between rain showers. One thing some might miss is no microwave/fridge’s in the rooms or BBQ pits on premises – both would be good additions to a great place. We also visited the Lure Lodge in Cumberland State Park, which seemed a little older, but we would stay there as well. We plan to return and visit more KY resort parks every year.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank kak531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burkesville
23.2 mi away
Lake Cumberland State Resort
10.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Albany
9.7 mi away
Alpine Motel
Alpine Motel
#1 of 2 in Burkesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Mitchell Creek Marina & Resort
24.0 mi away
Timber Pointe Resort
Timber Pointe Resort
#1 of 4 in Jamestown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
9.4 mi away
Royal Inn Motel
Royal Inn Motel
#2 of 2 in Albany
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dale Hollow Lake State Resort (Mary Ray Oaken Lodge)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dale Hollow Lake State Resort (Mary Ray Oaken Lodge)

Property: Dale Hollow Lake State Resort (Mary Ray Oaken Lodge)
Address: 6371 State Park Rd, Burkesville, KY 42717-9500
Region: United States > Kentucky > Burkesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burkesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dale Hollow Lake State Resort (Mary Ray Oaken Lodge) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dale Hollow Lake State Resort (Mary Ray Oaken Lodge) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dale Hollow Lake State Resort (Mary Ray Oaken Lodge) Hotel Burkesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing