We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!”
Review of Bananas Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bananas Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We LOVED our stay at the bungalows! You are truly in Paradise when you stay here! far from the tourist track of Krabi and Ao Nang you really feel like you have experience something really special. What I loved most about the bungalows was how it was a great base for travelling around most days we rented mopeds and travelled to the north for the national parks and cave exploring and also to Krabi town for shopping! Ollie is a great host and provides great excursions we did the day island trip and the kayaking! Dinner is served at 7 and the staff cook delicious thai food that is served in the communal seating area, we met some awesome people and enjoyed our evening chatting away on the pier and playing card games! Our experience was an amazing and memorable one thanks to Ollie and all the other travellers who we met! Finally if you do go the bananas and your looking to buy souvenirs please please buy the jewellery made by the gardener he is a great guy and it's lovely to see where and who your money goes too! The jewellery is handmade and a great keepsake of your time in Thailand!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Misspiggy174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

The place is 45 km away from the airport. It is a very quiet location. So remote than everything can be organised from the bungalow (island tours, kayak, food). If you want to organize yourself or eat somewhere else, you have to rent a motorbike and explore.
The bungalow are very nice and well built. there are two mosques nearby so be prepared to be waken up in the middle of the night by the muezzin.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vid_da_la_petta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Bananas is truly paradise! If you are looking for a place in Thailand that has few tourists and opportunities to interact with locals or just to spend time by yourself in a hammock then this is where you should be! They can organize kayaking, island tours, scooter rentals, massages and so on. Every evening there is a communal dinner for 150b which provides an opportunity to share experiences with fellow travelers and make friends.

Other reviews I read described Bananas being far from town or other petty things, but if you read the information that Oli provides beforehand then there should be no confusion about what Bananas is like. I really can't understand why anyone would complain about spending time in this beautiful part of the world!

Room Tip: Read the information on the Bananas website and what Oli emails to all guests who book as it will ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaKAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Booked a private ensuite bungalow and given a shared bungalow with shared facilities on arrival. Told that this was the correct accommodation when we told them it was not. Next day, finally given an apology by the owner who admitted there had been a mix up and offered three choices. Stay in the bungalow we were in, move to a more expensive bungalow and pay the extra or LEAVE ! Virtually ignored by the owner for our 5 night stay and felt very uncomfortable! Have noticed in other reviews that this has happened before.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michellebrough1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

We loved the relaxed vibe of the place. You help yourself to drinks and just write in the book.

Lots of helpful advice from Ollie and Ana

Very relaxed and beautiful location

I'd highly recommend this place if you want to get away from it all and relax

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank no1queenieuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

The best resort I have visited in Thailand, far from the turistic noise and very close to the sea, mangroves, islands, national parks, caves, secret beaches. The atmosphere is very chill out, the owner makes you feel like home and the chefs in the kitchen cook delicios food. Lots of beautiful people whom I met there became close friends. It's like a big family living in a havenly home.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank vladsavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

It's a very interesting spot. far away from town. Its quiet. basic bungalows is clean(better ones available). owner is nice. Food and drinks are decent. it's close to the pier which is a great place for kayaking. The wifi doesn't work when we were there, all guest and owner had to share one PC. All the book on the shelf is in German. Local village sings pray from 5 am on loud speaker every few hours until 8 pm. Good place to stay to get away from touristy places. For a few night. its a good spot to relax. wish it had a beach :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yem27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khao Thong
8.5 mi away
Pine Bungalow
Pine Bungalow
#30 of 111 in Ao Nang
259 reviews
5.1 mi away
Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort
Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Nong Thale
405 reviews
4.8 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#4 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
0.4 mi away
The Nature Home Krabi
The Nature Home Krabi
#2 of 4 in Khao Thong
3 reviews
0.7 mi away
Khaothong Terrace Resort
Khaothong Terrace Resort
#3 of 5 in Khao Thong
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bananas Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bananas Bungalows

Address: 54 Moo 2, Ban Tha Lane, Khao Thong, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Khao Thong
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Khao Thong
Price Range: £30 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing