We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a pleasant surprise!”
Review of Lake Barkley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lake Barkley Lodge
Murfreesboro, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This State park is a little "Dated", but WOW they have something for everyone! The rooms were clean and efficient, and the view from the private porch was out of this world. Quiet and peaceful. There is skeet shooting, boat rentals, fishing rod loaners, a sandy beach for every age, clean pool, tennis courts, indoor swimming pool, a game room for every age, an AWESOME restaurant, and all of this at extremely reasonable rates!

Room Tip: As far as I could tell, every room in the hotel had a good view of Lake Barkley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeBarkleyMgmt, Manager at Lake Barkley Lodge, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay; glad you and your family were able to enjoy all the different ammenities we have to offer. We look forward to your return visit and Thank You again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    73
    61
    40
    13
See reviews for
100
63
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Barkley lodge is a nice rustic lodge near LBL which has no lodging of its own aside from campgrounds. Top level room has nice view complete with a balcony area. Though there's not much to do around the area in the winter through no fault of the park, it was an overall nice stay. You have to remember, it's a state park Lodge not a Hilton.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrJlkess02 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeBarkleyMgmt, Manager at Lake Barkley Lodge, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your positive comments; we hope you and your family return to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed at Lake Barkley several years ago, it was great to see the update of the rooms bathrooms. They look really nice and I hope you continue to spurce up the rest of the place.
I have a few ideas for the rooms that would not be very expensive. I think painting the dark walls to a lighter tan/gray color and just using white fresh linens on the beds w/ a few throw pillows would do the place a great justice. This would help the room not be so dark and dreary.
It was disappointing to see the outside deck unusable, especially in the key part of the year, because of deterioration. I'm hoping that would be fixed very soon, because the view up there is spectactular. I think everyone was disappointed we could not go out there and eat and enjoy it!
This place has so much going for it w/views from all the lodge rooms, really nice pool area over looking the lake, and great amenities. All this place needs is a little more TLC!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kates0824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeBarkleyMgmt, Manager at Lake Barkley Lodge, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for posting your comments on your most recent trip to our lodge. We don't know if the lodge room walls will be painted; the original wood adds to the ambiance. There has been some discussion of going to the all white bed linens and we agree that would help lighten up the room. We are glad you were satisfied with the bathroom upgrades and hopefully you will be with some things we have planned for in the fall. We do apologize for closing the Dining Room balcony but due to safety reasons we had to until the repairs can be done; it does offer a spectacular view. Look forward to you and your family returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I am in the period of life where my children are visiting colleges. We were planning visits and looking for a place that would provide access to colleges in Bowling Green, KY, Murray, KY and St. Louis, MO. I settled on the Land Between the Lakes. I had heard wonderful things about the area, but had never been there, although I have lived in Kentucky for almost 40 years.

Lake Barkley State Resort Park looks beautiful from their website. Alas, reality isn't quite so beautiful. I tried to put on a happy face and be positive for my kids' sake. They didn't buy it; instead of staying 2 nights there as scheduled, we stayed only 1. We didn't have any meals in the dining room - wasn't too appetizing.

To be fair, I think the state park is great for people with boats who spend most of their time on the water and just need a place to lay their heads. Unfortunately, we don't have a boat. The lake and the scenery are beautiful; the accommodations at the park just did not meet our expectations.

Room Tip: there are no elevators that we could find. We had to take suitcases up and down the stairs. In fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeBarkleyMgmt, Manager at Lake Barkley Lodge, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
We apologize if our accomodations didn't meet you or your families expectations. We do have alot of guests that come for fishing and boating but try to accomodate all guests; we have family reunions that have been coming for generations. We do have an elevator in the building where the dining room is located but you do still have to take stairs down to the lower level rooms. We hope you and your family will stay with us again and possibly let us know what expectations we didn't meet so can hopefully correct them. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cadiz hotels

Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

You have to go into your vacation with the mindset that you are in a LODGE. This LODGE is over fifty years old. Lots of dark wood and a rustic setting. This is NOT a modern "looking" hotel, but the State has done a good job keeping up with more modern items.

I always enjoy my stay at Lake Barkley. The people are terrific and are quick to respond to any issues you might have.

Couple of things that I do not like:
Shower head is way too low for a six foot person.
Old tube type TV, not flat panel, but I hardly had it on with all the stuff we do in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koko0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeBarkleyMgmt, Manager at Lake Barkley Lodge, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay. We do apologize if the shower heads were a little low and we do have plans to install flat screen tv's in the lodge rooms this fall. When we have to replace a tv we have been replacing with flat screens but hope to have all by winter. Thank you again and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Wonderful get away on Kentucky Lake. Nice swimming pool and restaurant. We loved the playground close to the resort (we have small children). We had to stay in a smaller set of hotel rooms away from the lodge due to limited availability. The room smelled "moldy" and needed some serious upgrades. The room also seemed overpriced (price was inflated due to the summer season) for what we were getting. We will definitely go back as it is only an hour or so away from our home, but will try not to go during peak season.

Room Tip: I am assuming the rooms in the actual "lodge" have been upgraded. The smaller set of rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeBarkleyMgmt, Manager at Lake Barkley Lodge, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay. The annex building is called Little River Lodge that you stayed in and it is an older section. It is usually rented out to family reunions or fishing groups and since it hasn't been remodeled the price is half of a regular lodge room. We apologize if the room had a musty smell to it; we just had the carpets professionally cleaned on Sunday the 20th of July. Once again, Thank you for your comments and look forward to you and your family visiting with us again. Glad your children were able to utilize the playground.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paducah, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I have always enjoyed the fitness center and wanted my daughter and her friend to check it out. However, it closed on a Saturday night at 8 p.m., then on Sunday went back and they closed at 2 in the afternoon! Very disappointed! And, the outdoor pool closed at 9 p.m. on a Saturday night! It's summer time and the weekend, most places leave the pools open until 10 p.m. I've stayed here many times, and had told my daughter, how great it was.... I will make sure that I warn anyone going here, that the times advertised for certain things on the property, are not as advertised. This has always been my favorite resorts. Too bad, we could not enjoy it, the way we had planned.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeBarkleyMgmt, Manager at Lake Barkley Lodge, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments; I apologize if you seen our hours of operation posted with different times for our Fitness Center or Outdoor Pool. We have checked our brochure and our website to verify that incorrect information wasn't posted to ensure all our guests satisfaction while staying at our Resort; all seem correct. Maybe before next season we can evaluate staying open longer in those two areas to add to our guests pleasure and experience. Thank you again and I hope you and your family will make a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadiz
22.2 mi away
Kentucky Dam Village State Park
Kentucky Dam Village State Park
#1 of 6 in Gilbertsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
21.4 mi away
Pennyrile Forest State Resort Lodge
13.0 mi away
Kenlake State & Resort Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Early American Motel
Early American Motel
#1 of 2 in Aurora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
22.9 mi away
Patti's Inn & Suites
Patti's Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Grand Rivers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
22.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Land Between The Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Barkley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Barkley Lodge

Property: Lake Barkley Lodge
Address: 3500 State Park Road, Box 790, Cadiz, KY 42211-7090
Region: United States > Kentucky > Cadiz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Cadiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Barkley Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Barkley State Resort Park has accommodations for every kind of travelers, including the comfortable Barkley Lodge and a large camping site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Lake Barkley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Barkley Hotel Cadiz
Barkley Lodge
Barkley Hotel Cadiz
Lake Barkley Lodge Cadiz, Kentucky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing