We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovin' the Lodge at Lake Barkley”
Review of Lake Barkley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lake Barkley Lodge
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We do love staying in State lodges, and Kentucky sure does a good job. It's such a pretty setting here, and our room turned out very nice. Plus, they are VERY pet friendly here.

We booked a 2nd level room as I like the high, wood ceilings...very "lodgey". But, when we got here, there was nothing available for our entire stay, so we took a 1st level room. It was ok, but we were disappointed. We asked the check-in desk if there was any way possible they could find us a 2nd floor and RON saved the day! He told us we might have to move to another 2nd level room the next night, but as it turned out, we were able to stay. He was so nice and friendly. Actually, every single staff member we encountered was super nice. It's a very easy-going place.

NOTE to pet owners: There is a $25 charge per stay for pet-friendly rooms. However, if you choose to be in another room, you can do that, but the charge will be about $125 for the entire stay. It was worth it to us and glad we did it.

The only cons are that they don't have an on-site laundry and you have to drive all the way in to town. So, I did ours in the tub.... felt like Lucy Ricardo stomping grapes. The only other thing is that I wish they had a lounge. Most other state parks we've stayed in have a gathering place, and we missed that, especially since there were some good sporting events playing while we were there. Usually a great place to meet all different sorts of people.

Overall, a very nice golf get-a-way. AND.... every single course we played allowed us to take the poochie with us (in the basket). My little golfing buddy loved it!

Room Tip: We like being on the second level, and a little towards the center by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessieTheRealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeBarkleyMgmt, Manager at Lake Barkley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your comments about your most recent stay with us. We are glad we were able to get you a 2nd floor room and also able to accomodate your "little golfing buddy". Look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our family and extended family has been coming to the Lake Barkley Lodge for the past 30 years. Every three years, our whole family of about 120 people, congregate to Lake Barkley for the week to enjoy each other's company, share stories, watch wildlife, and laze around for several days! This lodge has been a source of some of our families earliest memories and we hope that others may say the same. However, this resort has slowly been deteriorating in recent years. Recently around 300 employees used to work at this property, however, now around 65-70 people are part-time, young employees who are in charge. This hotel is one of America's hidden gems; designed by architect Edward Durell Stone, and is one of our favorite places to visit. However, this property used to have so much to offer (a small cafe, larger menu choices, e.g.), which are now sadly, not offered. I know that the people working here are very pleasant and accomodating, but this hotel deserves to be spruced up, so to speak. However, members of our family have spoke with management and have been told that plans are possibly underway to make this resort shine again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cletterly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeBarkleyMgmt, Manager at Lake Barkley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your Family Reunion at our Resort. We appreciate you and your family choosing us for your reunion over the past 30 years and look forward to many more. We do have plans for some upgrades later in the year which should only enhance your families next visit. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This State park is a little "Dated", but WOW they have something for everyone! The rooms were clean and efficient, and the view from the private porch was out of this world. Quiet and peaceful. There is skeet shooting, boat rentals, fishing rod loaners, a sandy beach for every age, clean pool, tennis courts, indoor swimming pool, a game room for every age, an AWESOME restaurant, and all of this at extremely reasonable rates!

Room Tip: As far as I could tell, every room in the hotel had a good view of Lake Barkley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeBarkleyMgmt, Manager at Lake Barkley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay; glad you and your family were able to enjoy all the different ammenities we have to offer. We look forward to your return visit and Thank You again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Barkley lodge is a nice rustic lodge near LBL which has no lodging of its own aside from campgrounds. Top level room has nice view complete with a balcony area. Though there's not much to do around the area in the winter through no fault of the park, it was an overall nice stay. You have to remember, it's a state park Lodge not a Hilton.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrJlkess02 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeBarkleyMgmt, Manager at Lake Barkley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for your positive comments; we hope you and your family return to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed at Lake Barkley several years ago, it was great to see the update of the rooms bathrooms. They look really nice and I hope you continue to spurce up the rest of the place.
I have a few ideas for the rooms that would not be very expensive. I think painting the dark walls to a lighter tan/gray color and just using white fresh linens on the beds w/ a few throw pillows would do the place a great justice. This would help the room not be so dark and dreary.
It was disappointing to see the outside deck unusable, especially in the key part of the year, because of deterioration. I'm hoping that would be fixed very soon, because the view up there is spectactular. I think everyone was disappointed we could not go out there and eat and enjoy it!
This place has so much going for it w/views from all the lodge rooms, really nice pool area over looking the lake, and great amenities. All this place needs is a little more TLC!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kates0824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeBarkleyMgmt, Manager at Lake Barkley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for posting your comments on your most recent trip to our lodge. We don't know if the lodge room walls will be painted; the original wood adds to the ambiance. There has been some discussion of going to the all white bed linens and we agree that would help lighten up the room. We are glad you were satisfied with the bathroom upgrades and hopefully you will be with some things we have planned for in the fall. We do apologize for closing the Dining Room balcony but due to safety reasons we had to until the repairs can be done; it does offer a spectacular view. Look forward to you and your family returning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I am in the period of life where my children are visiting colleges. We were planning visits and looking for a place that would provide access to colleges in Bowling Green, KY, Murray, KY and St. Louis, MO. I settled on the Land Between the Lakes. I had heard wonderful things about the area, but had never been there, although I have lived in Kentucky for almost 40 years.

Lake Barkley State Resort Park looks beautiful from their website. Alas, reality isn't quite so beautiful. I tried to put on a happy face and be positive for my kids' sake. They didn't buy it; instead of staying 2 nights there as scheduled, we stayed only 1. We didn't have any meals in the dining room - wasn't too appetizing.

To be fair, I think the state park is great for people with boats who spend most of their time on the water and just need a place to lay their heads. Unfortunately, we don't have a boat. The lake and the scenery are beautiful; the accommodations at the park just did not meet our expectations.

Room Tip: there are no elevators that we could find. We had to take suitcases up and down the stairs. In fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeBarkleyMgmt, Manager at Lake Barkley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

We apologize if our accomodations didn't meet you or your families expectations. We do have alot of guests that come for fishing and boating but try to accomodate all guests; we have family reunions that have been coming for generations. We do have an elevator in the building where the dining room is located but you do still have to take stairs down to the lower level rooms. We hope you and your family will stay with us again and possibly let us know what expectations we didn't meet so can hopefully correct them. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

You have to go into your vacation with the mindset that you are in a LODGE. This LODGE is over fifty years old. Lots of dark wood and a rustic setting. This is NOT a modern "looking" hotel, but the State has done a good job keeping up with more modern items.

I always enjoy my stay at Lake Barkley. The people are terrific and are quick to respond to any issues you might have.

Couple of things that I do not like:
Shower head is way too low for a six foot person.
Old tube type TV, not flat panel, but I hardly had it on with all the stuff we do in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koko0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeBarkleyMgmt, Manager at Lake Barkley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay. We do apologize if the shower heads were a little low and we do have plans to install flat screen tv's in the lodge rooms this fall. When we have to replace a tv we have been replacing with flat screens but hope to have all by winter. Thank you again and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadiz
13.2 mi away
Kenlake State & Resort Park
22.2 mi away
Kentucky Dam Village State Park
Kentucky Dam Village State Park
#1 of 6 in Gilbertsville
382 reviews
21.4 mi away
Pennyrile Forest State Resort Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Patti's Inn & Suites
Patti's Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Grand Rivers
181 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Kuttawa/Eddyville
22.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Land Between The Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Barkley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Barkley Lodge

Address: 3500 State Park Road, Box 790, Cadiz, KY 42211-7090
Region: United States > Kentucky > Cadiz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Cadiz
Price Range: £57 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Barkley Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Barkley State Resort Park has accommodations for every kind of travelers, including the comfortable Barkley Lodge and a large camping site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lake Barkley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Barkley Hotel Cadiz
Barkley Lodge
Barkley Hotel Cadiz
Lake Barkley Lodge Cadiz, Kentucky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing