We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not help even in an emergency.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Carrollton
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Carrollton
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Will not help even in an emergency.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Be careful about booking with this motel. Charlotte NC was in a state of emergency and I was not able to get to KY. I called at 1:30 PM to tell the clerk of the issue. The manager told me to look at the very small print at the bottom of my reservation e-mail. Sure enough in very small print it said they needed three days notice for cancellation. First time I ever noticed that. The manager had no compassion. I called their desk at 9:30 PM and was told they had no rooms.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rp2013, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Carrollton, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Dale,

Thank you for your review. I looked into the issue above and do apologize for the hotel not being able to cancel your reservation. I understand the unfortunate situation you were in; however the hotel was also put in an unfortunate position not being able to cancel your reservation on the day of your arrival. As you are aware there was a national event being held close to the hotel and leading up to the day of your arrival, the hotel was forced to deny all reservations since others like yourself had booked and guaranteed a room first. Your room would have counted as a room sold since it was a guaranteed reservation which means it is held for you regardless of whether you check into the hotel or not. A room was allocated to you on this day. You had indicated to our Assistant GM the following day when she had apologized that we were unable to reverse the no show charge billed to your credit card, that we did not have to follow our cancellation policy, but that we "choose" to. Unfortunately, it would not be a policy if we did not follow it and it would not be fair to other guests if we picked and chose when to follow it and when not to as we like to treat all guests at the hotel fairly therefore our manager was not in error in the way the situation was handled.

Once again, I would like to apologize and completely understand that you were put in a position that was not under your control. I hope that you also understand the position the hotel was put in at the same time.

Thank you for your review,

RP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    26
    17
    6
    12
See reviews for
33
19
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Upon checking in to the hotel, we found that the non-smoking room we had booked in advance had a prevalent odor of cigarette smoke. Whether this permeated through the walls from adjoining rooms or someone actually smoked in the room is unclear. My wife is asthmatic and this can trigger attacks. We would suggest a non-smoking floor or wing for those with similar medical issues.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rp2013, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Carrollton, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Jeff,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I am sorry that you found that your guestroom had some smoke odor in it. We do in fact have a floor designated just for smoking rooms so that it does not disturb or irritate our non-smoking guests. We do have many guests at our Hotel who, like your wife, have health issues and the smoke odors interfere with their breathing. That is why we have made these changes. We want our guests to have a comfortable stay as if they were right at home.

Once again, I apologize for your experience and hope that you will come back to see us again.

Thank you,

RP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benton, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We arrived at this hotel in the middle of a major snowstorm and were warmly greeted by Portia, the desk clerk. She handled our reserved registration promptly, efficiently, and correctly. Everything about our room was fine--great bed and proper amenities in the bathroom. The room appeared to have been freshly painted, perhaps, as there were no wall hangings, but who need them when all you want is to be out of the storm and warm and comfy>

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rp2013, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Carrollton, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Diane,

We are glad that you chose our Hotel to stay safe, warm and cozy during the horrible winter storm we had a few weeks ago. I will definitely let Portia know that she made a great first impression while checking you in. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again during better circumstances.

RP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Right off interstate 71 but surprisingly quiet. Easy check-in, friendly staff at the desk. Rooms just as pictured. Very spacious and very clean. THe furnishings are a bit worn, our door had a pretty wide gap all the way around it (couldn't really peek in or out but could fit a pack of matches through the bottom of the door). The room looked freshly painted and the beds were comfortable. Being the winter, we did not see the pool:) Breakfast offered for free, extra shampoo for the asking. I called ahead and best price at the desk was 89 plus tax so I booked on-line at Best Western Website (on my phone) where the best price was $72 plus tax. Both prices were $50-100 cheaper than staying in the city of Louisville, where they also charge $25-50 to park your car. Plenty of free parking here. Recommend a quick drive (10 minutes) to Main Street to eat at "Down On Main Street" (also reviewed separately) instead of the fast food offerings near the hotel.

Fridge, microwave and large tv in room. Pet friendly. Non-smoking.

I would stay here again without a problem.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poipoi29494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rp2013, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Carrollton, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review! We are glad that you found our hotel quiet and our beds comfortable which normally provide for a peaceful stay at our Hotel. We do have our deluxe complimentary breakfast included in our nightly rate. This makes our rate very attractive because it provides such a great value to our guests. You are correct in that we do offer free parking which allows our guests to save money even if their final destination is Louisville and they stay with us and drive there. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and will return.

Thank you again,

RP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We were on driving thru Kentucky and because it was late, we took the Carrollton exit and decided to stay at Best Western. They were a friendly staff. We asked for extra blankets and were provided them right away. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again when driving thru!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lhanson3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rp2013, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Carrollton, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review! We are glad that you decided to stay with us during your drive. We strive to provide the very best for our guests to ensure they have a great stay with us. I thank you for recognizing that. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again.

RP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Best Western. The room was large/very clean and the staff was friendly. However, we could hear noise from the hallway and all the rooms around us including the one above us so we weren't able to sleep in or get a lot of rest during our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rp2013, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Carrollton, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Kerry,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed the good size and appreciated the cleanliness of our guestrooms. At the same time, I am very sorry that you experienced some noise around your room during your stay. I understand that it would have affected the quality of your sleep. Please do not hesitate to contact our courteous front desk staff during your next stay if there is anything at all that we can do to better accommodate you during your stay even if it is to call the guestroom above and ask the guests to keep the noise levels down.

Thank you again,

RP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

I stay at this hotel approximately 3 times a year on the way down to visit my daughter in Nashville. This hotel is conveniently located right off from I71. The staff is always friendly and helpful and I have never had a bad experience or any complaints about this hotel. Some updates are needed but the beds are oh so comfortable and if you are looking for a place to lay your head for the night, its definately worth the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Donna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rp2013, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Carrollton, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Donna,

Thank you for your review. You are absolutely correct. Our hotel does need a little bit of updating and we are doing that as we speak. We are updating all of our guestrooms and public areas currently and should be completed very soon! We look forward to your next stay when you visit your daughter again! I am confident that you will be impressed with the difference when you return!

Thank you,

RP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrollton
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Carrollton
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Carrollton
Hampton Inn Carrollton
#1 of 7 in Carrollton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 7 in Carrollton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Ramada Sparta/At Speedway
14.5 mi away
Hillside Inn
Hillside Inn
#3 of 7 in Madison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
18.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison
Comfort Inn Madison
#4 of 7 in Madison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Carrollton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Carrollton

Property: Red Roof Inn Carrollton
Address: 10 Slumber Lane, Carrollton, KY 41008 (Formerly Executive Inn)
Region: United States > Kentucky > Carrollton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Carrollton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Carrollton 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Roof Inn in Carrollton, Kentucky near General Butler State Park! You can enjoy a comfortable stay at our Carrollton, KY accommodations, situated off I-71 in the busy steel district of Kentucky and not far from the Kentucky Speedway and the Belterra Casino. Families will enjoy lodging in Carrollton, KY because our hotel offers quick access to area attractions such as Six Flags Kentucky Kingdom, the Louisville Slugger Museum and the famous Kentucky Speedway. If shopping is your preference, check out the Butler Outlet Mall, just a mile from our Carrollton accommodations, where you can find some great bargains. In addition, our Carrollton, KY hotel is near General Butler State Park, which offers plenty of biking, boating and hiking opportunities. Our hotel in Carrollton, KY also provides an ideal location near area businesses including Gallatin Steel, Dow Corning, Ohio Valley Asphalt, Phillip Morris, North American Stainless and PSC. Business travelers benefit from our fabulous hotel services, which include a convenient 24-hour business center with copy, outdoor pool (closed until further notice), fax and print services, as well as free high-speed, wireless Internet access. During your stay at our hotel in Carrollton, you can enjoy the complimentary hot breakfast bar. Check out our great Carrollton hotel room deals and rates, and start planning your trip today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Red Roof Inn, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Carrollton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carrollton
Carrollton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing