We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Update”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
General Butler State Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Carrollton
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at state park lodges in Ohio they are beautiful with great restaurants and very nice rooms. The restaurant food was not great they closed at8:30 no atmosphere. The people were very pleasant though . The rooms however are dated we had a big screen TV that didn't work so the replaced it with a small old tv . The ice machines didn't work. I just about broke my ankle on some steel post jutting out of the bottom of the bed. Other than that the room surved it's purpose . Thank goodness we didn't spend much time in it .

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shellybeads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2013

The rooms are nice, lots of wood accents. The beds are comfy and the pillows are soft. The walls are pretty thin, but my neighbors weren't too loud, so it wasn't really an issue. The location is beautiful, great for an afternoon walk or a morning run. There's a golf course right across from the lodge which looks nice (although I am not a golfer). The restaurant is nice, especially if they are having the buffet. But the real gem of General Butler is the staff. I have lived in Kentucky my entire life, so I am no stranger to southern hospitality, but I think this staff is the friendliest in the state!

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor balcony room, the views are spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErinLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The staff always greeted us with a smile, and how could i help you ? And a big thanks to Joni Smith on the front desk. My wife got sick on the second day and everyone there went the extra mile to help us. Room was clean, with hair dryer, coffee maker. Nice trails, a small lake, 9 hole golf course (needs work ) and a nice overlook. They have everything from fishing poles, tennis rackets, golf clubs, basketballs, to lend you, to make your stay a great one. Or just relax by the pool. Cabins are well equiped and maintained. ( with air ). The restaurant had a good buffet. and the employees were really friendly and ready to help. On the Bang for the Buck scale i would give it a 9 1/2.

Room Tip: You can walk to the lake from the cabins,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

This park is very well laid out. It is not huge, but has a good deal of hiking trails, a historical home to tour, miniture golf, a lake for canoeing & paddle boats, lodge with restaurant, cabins, and a golf course. The lodge was nice. A good clean room for a good price. I would highly recommend this park. The inside of the lodge is stunning.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Wonderful two day trip, good clean room, fair pricing, beautiful view from balcony, great friendly staff. Fantastic park close to other scenic and historic sights restaurant had a seafood buffet was well furnished, fresh and not overpriced. It was early spring so the weather was still cold for me to enjoy the outdoors, but will defiantly go back..

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed in a lodge room. Our own private balcony where we could watch the deer feed in the early morning. Nice room for a great price. Not a lot of extras in the room but more than adequate. The only bad part is the walls are thin and you can hear the neighbors sometimes more than you would like. We will stay in one of the cabins near the lake next time

Room Tip: Try the cabins for just a little more than the lodge rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loneranger999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We come here with our extended family and rent a bunch of lakeside cabins for our group of 25 or so. The cabins are nice, considering what they are, where they are built, and a great value if you fill the ample beds. Having 2 full baths is a luxury in the morning. Full kitchen. The lodge is nice and has about 80 or so Hotel type rooms, A wonderful restaurant, swimming pool and spectacular view plus a golf course (a miniature one too). I didn't even mention the lake, boats, fishing and paddle boats. Reasonable and hidden in the Mountains of Carrollton KY, we come every year to take in the natural beauty as it is an elixir to cleanse your soul, Don't forget, this is not the Four Seasons but rather a State run and owned recreational business property. Don't expect perfection. But do expect a beautiful location of peace and tranquility.

Room Tip: A cabin on the lake is more fun than a lodge room. The roominess will payoff if you stay a few days...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hondaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrollton
13.1 mi away
Hillside Inn
Hillside Inn
#3 of 7 in Madison
175 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Carrollton
Hampton Inn Carrollton
#1 of 7 in Carrollton
254 reviews
17.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison
Comfort Inn Madison
#4 of 7 in Madison
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 7 in Carrollton
79 reviews
1.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Carrollton
Red Roof Inn Carrollton
#2 of 7 in Carrollton
117 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Carrollton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to General Butler State Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Butler State Resort

Address: 1608 US Highway 227, PO Box 325, Carrollton, KY 41008-8051
Region: United States > Kentucky > Carrollton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Carrollton
Price Range: £56 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — General Butler State Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your General Butler State Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Butler State Hotel Carrollton
Carrollton General Butler State Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing