We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff and cabins”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
General Butler State Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Carrollton
home
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff and cabins”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We just returned home from a trip to General Butler State Park,we stayed 3 nights in a cottage/cabin that was excellent. The staff at the front desk are the nicest anywhere,they go out of their way to make you happy,always smiling,My husbands birthday was the day we arrived and they gave us a very nice platter with fruit and cookies.
Our cabin was very nice,we always try to get 536,it has a screened in porch in which we enjoy,the cabin was very fresh and clean,the AC worked great The cabin was stocked with utensils,beds were nice and comfy,We also stayed the first night in cabin 511 which was very nice also.
The restaurant was fabulous! ,Nice buffet for the price and the breakfast burrito was so delicious! Hope to return soon!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summer6008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    50
    29
    14
    11
See reviews for
39
43
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

We wanted to go somewhere for the weekend but not drive for hours and hours. With a little Internet research we chose Gen. Butler State Resort Lodge. We have a toy poodle so I called first and made sure they were pet friendly-which they were. We drove up and upon turning in we were excited. The road leading to the lodge was beautiful, crossing over the river we got to see the paddle boaters, then on to the golf course where we stopped right in the middle of the road to gawk at the deer who were eating peacefully. It was beautiful, peaceful. We immediately knew we had made a good choice for a relaxing weekend. The lodge was nice and clean. The staff was friendly. We were given information about pet expectations and lots of info on things to do at the resort.
We checked in our room which had 2 double beds. It was nice enough. The room looked like it had not been stayed in for a little while and had a few spiders in it (we are in the wild outdoors) but other than that was clean and met our expectations. The pool was gigantic and right outside our door! It's open 9a to 9p so as not to disturb sleep. They had lots of activities. We picnicked went on the little train ride, hiked, had Hawaiian shaved ice and swam. We had a great time and WILL go back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stayhomemomnomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the camp area. Very dissatisfied. The restrooms and showers were absolutely filthy! There was a huge pile if stool in the floor and it was reported to the assistant. Several hours later it was still not cleaned up. The campsite for the most part are okay. I suggest they hire someone to clean the restrooms!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hall2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carrollton hotels

Rhodelia, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the park campground, for 3 nights. Overall the area was quiet, employees friendly, other campers during race week super nice. The grounds themselves were just ok.. Grass was tall, a lot of unkept areas, that are almost too muddy and rough to even put your chairs and equipment on..then there were the bathrooms and showers... Wow.. Even though I know we saw them cleaned up with a mop and brushes..they have NOT been scrubbed or bleached.. In months. Mildew everywhere. We had friends that played putt putt, and used the pool, and the scenery is pretty. But it definitely needs a facelift.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owensboro, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We had been at the park several years ago and had had a meal at the lodge. I must say the park is lovely rolling hills with a beautiful golf course. Te lodge had motel like rooms and offered 20+cabins in surrounding area. The pool was large with a separate fenced pool for small children.
Today they had a buffet, I understand they offer buffet every day plus you can order from their
Menu. Today, Friday, they had catfish, sausages, beef stew, Vegies full salad bar and chilli and bean soup, 3 kinds of pie and a cake. And soft serve ice cream

All was included The meal was $7.99 really good. Cannot beat the value

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRUISEREADER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at state park lodges in Ohio they are beautiful with great restaurants and very nice rooms. The restaurant food was not great they closed at8:30 no atmosphere. The people were very pleasant though . The rooms however are dated we had a big screen TV that didn't work so the replaced it with a small old tv . The ice machines didn't work. I just about broke my ankle on some steel post jutting out of the bottom of the bed. Other than that the room surved it's purpose . Thank goodness we didn't spend much time in it .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shellybeads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The rooms are nice, lots of wood accents. The beds are comfy and the pillows are soft. The walls are pretty thin, but my neighbors weren't too loud, so it wasn't really an issue. The location is beautiful, great for an afternoon walk or a morning run. There's a golf course right across from the lodge which looks nice (although I am not a golfer). The restaurant is nice, especially if they are having the buffet. But the real gem of General Butler is the staff. I have lived in Kentucky my entire life, so I am no stranger to southern hospitality, but I think this staff is the friendliest in the state!

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor balcony room, the views are spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErinLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrollton
12.6 mi away
Hillside Inn
Hillside Inn
#3 of 7 in Madison
170 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Carrollton
Hampton Inn Carrollton
#1 of 7 in Carrollton
227 reviews
2.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Carrollton
Red Roof Inn Carrollton
#2 of 7 in Carrollton
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Carrollton
13.4 mi away
Ramada Sparta/At Speedway
16.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison
Comfort Inn Madison
#4 of 7 in Madison
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to General Butler State Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Butler State Resort

Property: General Butler State Resort
Address: 1608 US Highway 227, PO Box 325, Carrollton, KY 41008-8051
Region: United States > Kentucky > Carrollton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Carrollton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — General Butler State Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your General Butler State Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Butler State Hotel Carrollton
Carrollton General Butler State Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing